Switch Theme:

Can I fire different combi-weapon profiles at different targets?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






London

Had this in my last game. My Sagittarum guard were about to fire at my opponents' Riptide, but I decided to use both profiles of their Adrastus Calivers. I ended up firing the bolt profiles at the drones and the adrastus profiles at the Riptide itself.

I have a feeling this was a foul play on my part, but I'm wondering what you guys think of it. In this case if you fire both profiles at the same target, one of them is rather wasted. My thoughts are that you're able to fire both profiles, but are they counted as separate shooting attacks?
   
Made in ar
Fresh-Faced New User





combi-weapons are a single weapon with 2 profiles, depending on the specific case, they usually have the phrase "When attacking with this weapon, choose one or both of the profiles below. If you choose both, subtract 1 from all hit rolls for this weapon. ", in the specific case of the unit in question, I would need to see the rules
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

You cannot shoot two different units with a weapon, unless a special rule says otherwise.

If a weapon has more than one attack, it
must make all of its attacks against the
same target unit.
   
Made in gb
Moustache-twirling Princeps




United Kingdom

 jolyas wrote:
in the specific case of the unit in question, I would need to see the rules


Link

Adrastus bolt caliver wrote:When you choose this weapon to shoot with, select one or both of the profiles below. If you select both, subtract 1 from hit rolls for attacks made with this weapon
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

If you choose both profiles your weapon has more than one attack, and all attacks must target the same unit.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 Valkyrie wrote:
Had this in my last game. My Sagittarum guard were about to fire at my opponents' Riptide, but I decided to use both profiles of their Adrastus Calivers. I ended up firing the bolt profiles at the drones and the adrastus profiles at the Riptide itself.

I have a feeling this was a foul play on my part, but I'm wondering what you guys think of it. In this case if you fire both profiles at the same target, one of them is rather wasted. My thoughts are that you're able to fire both profiles, but are they counted as separate shooting attacks?


Theyre separate shooting attacks, but they're still a single weapon, and you cannot split fire for attacks from a single weapons.
   
Made in us
Omnipotent Necron Overlord






Pretty sure they are considered different weapons simply do to the fact they have a separate profile. Even though they are the same weapon.

If we fail to anticipate the unforeseen or expect the unexpected in a universe of infinite possibilities, we may find ourselves at the mercy of anyone or anything that cannot be programmed, categorized or easily referenced.
- Fox Mulder 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 Xenomancers wrote:
Pretty sure they are considered different weapons simply do to the fact they have a separate profile. Even though they are the same weapon.


You would be incorrect. There are a multitude of abilities that function on a "single weapon". Most of them have FAQs stating they impact both profiles of combi-weapons because those profiles are considered a single weapon for rules purposes.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






You cannot. When you choose a unit to fire, you select which weapons you will fire at which units.

You declare you are shooting your Combi-Flamer at Unit A. When it comes time to actually resolve the shots from the Combi-Flamer, the Combi-Flamer's rule kicks in and tells you how to resolve those shots. You're far past the point of picking targets when you actually fire the Combi-Flamer.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





You cannot. I'm too lazy to look it up, but each weapon must be resolved vs. a single target (though a model with multiple weapons can aim each at a different target). A combi-weapon is actually a single weapon, with two profiles. If you look at the weapon entry in the back of any codex, the entire weapon (both profiles) is a single entry.
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






London

Great, thanks for the clarification guys
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: