Switch Theme:

Warrant of Trade Explanation Elucidian Starstriders  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Sister Vastly Superior





Pittsburgh Pa

Warrant of Trade
A model with this ability can embark on any IMPERIUM TRANSPORT, even though the transport in question might normally only permit models with other Faction keywords to do so. All other restrictions apply normally.


I want to run Elucidian Startstriders and give them a Terrax Pattern Termite Assault Drill as a dedicated transport. I have to use a patrol detachment to add them to my list. How does dedicated transport for this Unit work?




+ Dedicated Transport +

Terrax-Pattern Termite Assault Drill
. Twin volkite chargers: 2x Twin volkite Charger

++ Patrol Detachment (Imperium - Elucidian Starstriders)++

+ No Force Org Slot +

Sanistasia Minst

+ HQ +

Elucia Vhane

+ Troops +

Nitsch's Squad [3 PL, 36pts]: Aximillion, 3x Voidsman, Voidsman, Voidsmaster Nitsch

+ Elites +

Knosso Prond

Larsen van der Grauss - who is a character and Adeptus mechanicus and in an elite slot in the detachment



4000pts






 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






The name "Dedicated Transport" is a misnomer and a holdover from old editions. Transports are not tied to the units they can carry in any way.

The Warrant of Trade rule allows them to ignore the Faction requirement for being transported, but not other restrictions.

e.g. They can ride in a Rhino that only allows <CHAPTER> INFANTRY inside it because they ignore the <CHAPTER> part of the restriction, but cannot ride inside a Repulsor that only allows <CHAPTER> PRIMARIS INFANTRY because while you ignore the <CHAPTER> restriction, you don't ignore the PRIMARIS restriction, and they lack the PRIMARIS keyword.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2019/11/08 18:16:56


 
   
Made in us
Sister Vastly Superior





Pittsburgh Pa

 BaconCatBug wrote:
The name "Dedicated Transport" is a misnomer and a holdover from old editions. Transports are not tied to the units they can carry in any way.

The Warrant of Trade rule allows them to ignore the Faction requirement for being transported, but not other restrictions.

e.g. They can ride in a Rhino that only allows <CHAPTER> INFANTRY inside it because they ignore the <CHAPTER> part of the restriction, but cannot ride inside a Repulsor that only allows <CHAPTER> PRIMARIS INFANTRY because while you ignore the <CHAPTER> restriction, you don't ignore the PRIMARIS restriction, and they lack the PRIMARIS keyword.


Yeah, I kind of figured that was what it was talking about I just wanted to know how I get them a transport.

4000pts






 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

It's basically the same rule as the 'Authority of the Inquisition' rule found in Index Imperium 2.

From the Index: Imperium 2 FAQ:

Q: Can a model with the Authority of the Inquisition ability embark onto transports like Land Speeder Storms or Repulsors?

A: No, because they do not have the correct keywords (SCOUT or PRIMARIS respectively, in the examples given).

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/11/08 18:38:39


'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 Spidey0804 wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
The name "Dedicated Transport" is a misnomer and a holdover from old editions. Transports are not tied to the units they can carry in any way.

The Warrant of Trade rule allows them to ignore the Faction requirement for being transported, but not other restrictions.

e.g. They can ride in a Rhino that only allows <CHAPTER> INFANTRY inside it because they ignore the <CHAPTER> part of the restriction, but cannot ride inside a Repulsor that only allows <CHAPTER> PRIMARIS INFANTRY because while you ignore the <CHAPTER> restriction, you don't ignore the PRIMARIS restriction, and they lack the PRIMARIS keyword.


Yeah, I kind of figured that was what it was talking about I just wanted to know how I get them a transport.
They embark upon it via the Embark rules like everyone else.
   
Made in us
Sister Vastly Superior





Pittsburgh Pa

 BaconCatBug wrote:
 Spidey0804 wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
The name "Dedicated Transport" is a misnomer and a holdover from old editions. Transports are not tied to the units they can carry in any way.

The Warrant of Trade rule allows them to ignore the Faction requirement for being transported, but not other restrictions.

e.g. They can ride in a Rhino that only allows <CHAPTER> INFANTRY inside it because they ignore the <CHAPTER> part of the restriction, but cannot ride inside a Repulsor that only allows <CHAPTER> PRIMARIS INFANTRY because while you ignore the <CHAPTER> restriction, you don't ignore the PRIMARIS restriction, and they lack the PRIMARIS keyword.


Yeah, I kind of figured that was what it was talking about I just wanted to know how I get them a transport.
They embark upon it via the Embark rules like everyone else.


I'm trying to figure out the list building part of this... I think you are not understanding the initial question.

4000pts






 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

If playing Matched Play you’d need another detachment that could legally take a Termite. Sadly their “embark upon anything” rule doesn’t allow them to also include said transports in their detachment.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 Spidey0804 wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
 Spidey0804 wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
The name "Dedicated Transport" is a misnomer and a holdover from old editions. Transports are not tied to the units they can carry in any way.

The Warrant of Trade rule allows them to ignore the Faction requirement for being transported, but not other restrictions.

e.g. They can ride in a Rhino that only allows <CHAPTER> INFANTRY inside it because they ignore the <CHAPTER> part of the restriction, but cannot ride inside a Repulsor that only allows <CHAPTER> PRIMARIS INFANTRY because while you ignore the <CHAPTER> restriction, you don't ignore the PRIMARIS restriction, and they lack the PRIMARIS keyword.


Yeah, I kind of figured that was what it was talking about I just wanted to know how I get them a transport.
They embark upon it via the Embark rules like everyone else.


I'm trying to figure out the list building part of this... I think you are not understanding the initial question.
You take the Drill in any detachment you can legally take it. doesn't matter what detachment it is in.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: