Switch Theme:

Does the Fires of battle stratagem affect a model or a unit?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Arch Magos w/ 4 Meg of RAM






I saw a game at my store where a salamanders players used The fires of battle stratagem to make his squad of land speeders all do mortal wounds on 4+, basically winning the game on turn one with his alpha strike.



After reading the stratagem, it seems that it would only affect a single model would it not? Am i correct in thinking that he misplayed that stratagem?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/11/11 18:27:05


 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 VladimirHerzog wrote:
I saw a game at my store where a salamanders players used The fires of battle stratagem to make his squad of land speeders all do mortal wounds on 4+, basically winning the game on turn one with his alpha strike.



After reading the stratagem, it seems that it would only affect a single model would it not? Am i correct in thinking that he misplayed that stratagem?
It only affects a single model.
   
Made in nl
Neophyte Undergoing Surgeries





A follow-up question. Does the strategem work for 1 weapon or for multiple flame of melta weapons?
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





I would say that if a model has multiple flame and/or melta weapons it would apply to all of them. When it says shoots with that weapon it seems to indicate that it's talking about that type of weapon. It didn't specify that you choose one flame or melta weapon the model has, just that the model gets the benefit when it uses those types of weapons.
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

 Pjats wrote:
A follow-up question. Does the strategem work for 1 weapon or for multiple flame of melta weapons?


It would apply to all relevant weapons the model has.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 doctortom wrote:
I would say that if a model has multiple flame and/or melta weapons it would apply to all of them. When it says shoots with that weapon it seems to indicate that it's talking about that type of weapon. It didn't specify that you choose one flame or melta weapon the model has, just that the model gets the benefit when it uses those types of weapons.
Agreed. It affects a model, and thus all weapons that model has.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




 BaconCatBug wrote:
 doctortom wrote:
I would say that if a model has multiple flame and/or melta weapons it would apply to all of them. When it says shoots with that weapon it seems to indicate that it's talking about that type of weapon. It didn't specify that you choose one flame or melta weapon the model has, just that the model gets the benefit when it uses those types of weapons.
Agreed. It affects a model, and thus all weapons that model has.


I'm not so sure. The phrasing - "that weapon" - seems to imply a single weapon rather than all of a model's weapons, as does the use of the singular in the preceding sentence. If it were all weapons I think it would need to say something like "all weapons of that type".
   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran





My interpretation is that it only affects the weapon that was chosen to shoot before you used the stratagem.

8930 points 6800 points 75 points 600 points
2810 points 5740 points 2650 points 3275 points
55 points 640 points 1840 points 435 points
2990 points 700 points 2235 points 1935 points
3460 points 1595 points 2480 points 2895 points
 
   
Made in de
Experienced Maneater






This is worded really strange.
That wepaon implies only one of the aforementioned weapons.
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

 Bilge Rat wrote:
My interpretation is that it only affects the weapon that was chosen to shoot before you used the stratagem.


Agreed. It only affects one flamer or melta weapon from one model. Note that the only restriction when to play the stratagem is during the shooting phase, or enemy charge phase, when a model shoots with a flamer or melta weapon. Which means its at any point of the resolve attacks step in the shooting sequence. You can use it after wound rolls, as wounds rolls are part of the resolve attacks part of the shooting sequence.

SHOOTING SEQUENCE
1. Choose unit to shoot with
2. Choose targets
3. Choose ranged weapon
4. Resolve attacks
• Make hit roll
• Make wound roll
• Enemy allocates
wound
• Enemy makes
saving throw
• Inflict damage

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2019/11/12 10:12:09


 
   
Made in de
Experienced Maneater






 p5freak wrote:
 Bilge Rat wrote:
My interpretation is that it only affects the weapon that was chosen to shoot before you used the stratagem.


Agreed. It only affects one flamer or melta weapon from one model. Note that the only restriction when to play the stratagem is during the shooting phase, or enemy charge phase, when a model shoots with a flamer or melta weapon. Which means its at any point of the resolve attacks step in the shooting sequence. You can use it after wound rolls, as wounds rolls are part of the resolve attacks part of the shooting sequence.

SHOOTING SEQUENCE
1. Choose unit to shoot with
2. Choose targets
3. Choose ranged weapon
4. Resolve attacks
• Make hit roll
• Make wound roll
• Enemy allocates
wound
• Enemy makes
saving throw
• Inflict damage

No, you can't use it whenever you like. A shooting model/unit makes/resolves attacks in step 4 of the Shooting sequence. So you have to use it in 1.-3.
   
Made in nl
Longtime Dakkanaut





my interpretation is 1 model, 1 weapon.

Its not 'whenever that models shoots a Melta or Flamer weapon'. Its 'that weapon'.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/11/12 10:31:01


 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

 Hanskrampf wrote:

No, you can't use it whenever you like. A shooting model/unit makes/resolves attacks in step 4 of the Shooting sequence. So you have to use it in 1.-3.


I disagree. The stratagem literally says you use it in the shooting phase, or enemy charge phase. The shooting phase, or enemy charge phase, includes the entire shooting sequence, not just step 1-3.
   
Made in de
Experienced Maneater






 p5freak wrote:
 Hanskrampf wrote:

No, you can't use it whenever you like. A shooting model/unit makes/resolves attacks in step 4 of the Shooting sequence. So you have to use it in 1.-3.


I disagree. The stratagem literally says you use it in the shooting phase, or enemy charge phase. The shooting phase, or enemy charge phase, includes the entire shooting sequence, not just step 1-3.

What about the addition of "when a SALAMANDERS model shoots with [...]"?
You choose a unit to shoot with, that unit chooses a target to shoot at, chooses weapons to shoot with, but 4. is resolving the attacks of the chosen weapon(s). The rules no longer talk about shooting or shots in point 4.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/11/12 10:39:39


 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

 Hanskrampf wrote:

What about the addition of "when a SALAMANDERS model shoots with [...]"?
You choose a unit to shoot with, that unit chooses a target to shoot at, chooses weapons to shoot with, but 4. is resolving the attacks of the chosen weapon(s). The rules no longer talk about shooting or shots in point 4.


When a unit shoots the entire shooting sequence is used. It doesnt say use the stratagem when a unit is choosen to shoot with, like other stratagems do.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: