Switch Theme:

Feel no Pain + Bodyguards  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Longtime Dakkanaut





Hey folks!

My friend (whom is almost always the reason I ask questions on this board ) has a new question that we disagree on, so I'd like to see what you guys think. Unfortunately, this is all Codex Space Marines, so I don't have rule quotes. The question that has come up is the interaction of Feel No Pain and Bodyguards. My friend wants to do the following:

Situation;
A character with Feel No Pain is near a model that is a bodyguard (the bodyguard model has a rule where if the nearby character would take damage, he rolls a die, and on a 2+ the bodyguard takes a mortal wound instead), and the bodyguard also has Feel No Pain.

Assume he takes a hit from a Lascannon and fails his Inv save, and that when the damage for the lascannon is rolled the number is a 6. What's the order of operations for figuring out how much damage is dealt?


My understanding is that these are two different abilities that ignore wounds, so that the following would apply;

Page 181 – Ignoring Wounds
Add the following as a boxout on this page:
‘Ignoring Wounds
Some units have abilities that allow them to ignore the damage suffered each time it loses a wound (e.g. Disgustingly Resilient, The Flesh is Weak and Tenacious Survivor). If a model has more than one such ability, you can only use one of those abilities each time the model loses a wound.’


This would result in the following;
1. Captain fails save
2. Captain's controller chooses whether to use Feel No Pain or Bodyguard ability.
3. Roll Feel No Pain for either the Captain (6 damage to roll) or for the Bodyguard (if it succeeds, rolls FnP against 1 mortal wound).

His interpretation is the following;
1. Captain fails save
2. Captain's controller rolls Feel No Pain to try and mitigate the damage (6 Feel No Pain Rolls).
3. If any are failed, the Bodyguard makes a single roll to take the hit.
4. If the Bodyguard successfully rolls, all remaining damage is reduced to 1 Mortal Wound on the Bodyguard.
5. Bodyguard rolls FnP for the Mortal Wound.

Any idea which is right? Is it somewhere in the middle?

 Galef wrote:
If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors.
 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

The character would roll his FNP, and for every roll he fails, the bodyguard would suffer 1MW on a roll of 2+. So, if the damage is 6, and 2 FNP rolls are successful, the bodyguard would roll 4 dice, and suffer 1MW for each 2+ he rolls. Then the bodyguards would roll their FNP against each MW they suffer.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2019/11/12 15:11:25


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Bodyguards will still get their FNP against any bullets they caught. The "FNPs dont stack" rule is only for an individual unit. We're dealing with two in this scenario.
   
Made in us
Deathwing Terminator with Assault Cannon






Bodyguard rolls d6 for each damage taken.
If the said bodyguard also has FNP, then you roll for FNP for each mortal wound taken.

Note any failed Look out Sir would result in the original target taking the damage as normal.
   
Made in ca
Longtime Dakkanaut





But if it says "takes the hit", wouldn't that mean it works more like a Shield Drone? Much appreciated for the answers so far!


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Also, like I said, I don't have the rule since my friend is the one saying this and I don't have that book for a direct rules quote. If someone has the codex and can provide that direct rules quote, it would really help.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/11/12 17:35:11


 Galef wrote:
If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors.
 
   
Made in gb
Moustache-twirling Princeps




United Kingdom

Command Squad Bodyguard: When a friendly <CHAPTER> CHARACTER model within 3" of this unit would lose any wounds as a result of an attack made against that model, this unit can attempt to intercept that attack. Roll one D6; on a 2+ that model does not lose those wounds and this unit suffers 1 mortal wound for each of those wounds. Only one attempt can be made to intercept each attack.
   
Made in ca
Longtime Dakkanaut





Okay, so from that I see it as "if you WOULD lose a wound" as opposed to "if you lose a wound". However, that then seems like the bodyguard has to intercept the hit before you make any Feel No Pain Saves.

So in this example, shouldn't the answer be?

Fail the save, roll for bodyguard, if passed Bodyguard makes 1 Feel No Pain roll, and if failed the Character makes 4 Feel No Pain rolls?


Example of (very similar) Disgustingly Resilient:

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/11/12 18:06:33


 Galef wrote:
If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




There are two equally correct interpretations, with opposite results. It'll come down to the sequencing rule because they happen simultaneously.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/11/12 18:09:19


 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 Yarium wrote:
But if it says "takes the hit", wouldn't that mean it works more like a Shield Drone? Much appreciated for the answers so far!
"Takes the hit" is fluff blurb, it doesn't change what the rule does (i.e. work on damage, not hits).
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 BaconCatBug wrote:
 Yarium wrote:
But if it says "takes the hit", wouldn't that mean it works more like a Shield Drone? Much appreciated for the answers so far!
"Takes the hit" is fluff blurb, it doesn't change what the rule does (i.e. work on damage, not hits).


It's actually a mix. "this unit can attempt to intercept that attack. Roll one D6; on a 2+ that model does not lose those wounds and this unit suffers 1 mortal wound for each of those wounds." There's one roll to intercept the attack, not a roll for each point of damage. After a successful Bodyguard roll transfers the damage that would have been inflicted though, you're not dealing with hits any more. Each point of damage that is transferred over is converted to a mortal wound though, and the FNP rolls would be for each mortal wound.
   
Made in us
Deathwing Terminator with Assault Cannon






So then would this be a case where mortal wounds don't spill over to the rest of the unit as the bodyguard rule (as far as sourced from company veterans go) pertains dealing MW at a model level?
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 skchsan wrote:
So then would this be a case where mortal wounds don't spill over to the rest of the unit as the bodyguard rule (as far as sourced from company veterans go) pertains dealing MW at a model level?
They can't spill over because each point of damage is rolled one by one, one at a time.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 BaconCatBug wrote:
 skchsan wrote:
So then would this be a case where mortal wounds don't spill over to the rest of the unit as the bodyguard rule (as far as sourced from company veterans go) pertains dealing MW at a model level?
They can't spill over because each point of damage is rolled one by one, one at a time.


The rule says you roll one d6 for the attack to transfer the wounds (plural). That does seem to indicate that all the wounds inflected go to the bodyguard with a successful roll.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 doctortom wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
 skchsan wrote:
So then would this be a case where mortal wounds don't spill over to the rest of the unit as the bodyguard rule (as far as sourced from company veterans go) pertains dealing MW at a model level?
They can't spill over because each point of damage is rolled one by one, one at a time.


The rule says you roll one d6 for the attack to transfer the wounds (plural). That does seem to indicate that all the wounds inflected go to the bodyguard with a successful roll.
Oh, right, multi-damage wounds.

Yeah, you'd roll a D6 for each damage, and the mortal wounds DO spill over as per the rules for mortal wounds.
   
Made in us
Deathwing Terminator with Assault Cannon






 BaconCatBug wrote:
 doctortom wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
 skchsan wrote:
So then would this be a case where mortal wounds don't spill over to the rest of the unit as the bodyguard rule (as far as sourced from company veterans go) pertains dealing MW at a model level?
They can't spill over because each point of damage is rolled one by one, one at a time.


The rule says you roll one d6 for the attack to transfer the wounds (plural). That does seem to indicate that all the wounds inflected go to the bodyguard with a successful roll.
Oh, right, multi-damage wounds.

Yeah, you'd roll a D6 for each damage, and the mortal wounds DO spill over as per the rules for mortal wounds.
On a second look, the RAW indeed tells you the unit suffers the MW on success, not model.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: