Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/11/15 17:30:15
Subject: Coteaz' Spy Network
|
 |
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle
|
How exactly does this thing work? I'm reading it and it seems a little strangely worded.
|
Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/11/15 17:44:21
Subject: Coteaz' Spy Network
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
JNAProductions wrote:How exactly does this thing work? I'm reading it and it seems a little strangely worded.
It's essentially a free Auspex Scan that only hits on 6's
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/11/15 17:51:38
Subject: Coteaz' Spy Network
|
 |
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle
|
The updated one, that interferes with Stratagems.
|
Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/11/15 17:59:17
Subject: Coteaz' Spy Network
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Oh, right. It's a similar effect as the as the Callidus Assassin. When the opponent uses a CP they have to pay an extra CP to use it otherwise it is negated ala Agents of Vect. E.g. If I use a 2CP stratagem, and you use the Spy Network, I have to pay an extra CP for that stratagem to work. If I can't or won't spend the CP, the stratagem gets negated and my CP are not spent. Unlike the Callidus Assassins ability though it doesn't fail 50% of the time but you don't cause the Opponent to lose the CP already spent.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2019/11/15 18:00:27
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/11/15 17:59:46
Subject: Coteaz' Spy Network
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Perhaps you could quote the rule for us so we could hazard an opinion?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/11/15 18:03:35
Subject: Coteaz' Spy Network
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
doctortom wrote:Perhaps you could quote the rule for us so we could hazard an opinion?
Spy Network: When an enemy unit is set up on the battlefield as reinforcements, you can select one friendly ORDO MALLEUS unit within 6" of this model. The selected unit can shoot at that enemy unit as if it where your Shooting phase. In addition, once per battle, when your opponent uses a Stratagem, this model can use its spy network. If it does, your opponent must spend 1 additional Command Point to resolve that Stratagem, or else it has no effect and any Command Points spent on that Stratagem are considered not to have been spent. This ability cannot affect Stratagems used 'before the battle'.
So the shooty part now isn't only on 6's which is nice.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2019/11/15 18:04:01
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/11/15 19:09:39
Subject: Coteaz' Spy Network
|
 |
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle
|
So does the stratagem still count as used?
|
Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/11/15 19:15:03
Subject: Coteaz' Spy Network
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Yes.
It's the Callidus CP shenanigan ability, without the need for a roll.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/11/15 19:15:50
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/11/15 19:15:49
Subject: Coteaz' Spy Network
|
 |
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle
|
Is there proof of that? Or just inference?
|
Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/11/15 19:18:16
Subject: Coteaz' Spy Network
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
If by "inference" you mean the literal rulebook definition of playing a stratagem, then yes it's pure inference.
This really isnt complicated. It's no different than Stranglehold or Reign of Confusion in its end result.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/11/15 22:37:05
Subject: Coteaz' Spy Network
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Its in the rule?
or else it has no effect
So its not negated. The stratagem happens, but it does nothing.
If it didn't count the stratagem as having been used it would be a useless ability because you would just use the exact same stratagem again, right away because it hasn't been used yet and can therefor still be used this phase.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/11/15 22:48:52
Subject: Coteaz' Spy Network
|
 |
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle
|
Okay-thank you.
|
Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! |
|
 |
 |
|