Switch Theme:

Mounted advance/shoot fire port question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Steadfast Grey Hunter





Sisters have the order ability that allows them to advance and shoot as if they didnt advance. The repressor faq says that units on the inside follow the same rules as the repressor regarding shooting (only pistols in melee, etc)
If the repressor is from a detachment that can advance and shoot, but the dominion squad (or sisters, or whatever else with any non-assault weapon)inside is from another order, can the dominion squad still shoot after the repressor advances?
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






greytalon666 wrote:
Sisters have the order ability that allows them to advance and shoot as if they didnt advance. The repressor faq says that units on the inside follow the same rules as the repressor regarding shooting (only pistols in melee, etc)
If the repressor is from a detachment that can advance and shoot, but the dominion squad (or sisters, or whatever else with any non-assault weapon)inside is from another order, can the dominion squad still shoot after the repressor advances?
You can't have an ARGENT SHROUD Repressor carrying a non-ARGENT SHROUD unit. That would be Heresy.

Now, if it were somehow carrying non-ARGENT SHROUD units that ignore transport faction requirements, like an Inquisitor, I would say that the Inquisitor cannot shoot. This is because the Open Topped rule only transfers "restrictions and modifiers". Being able to shoot after advancing is neither a restriction nor a modifier, so it isn't transferred to the Inquisitor inside.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2019/12/02 01:21:57


 
   
Made in us
Steadfast Grey Hunter





Right. Forgot that it's broken down to subfactions fir transporting. Thanks for the reply!
   
Made in us
Preacher of the Emperor





St. Louis, Missouri USA

 BaconCatBug wrote:
greytalon666 wrote:
Sisters have the order ability that allows them to advance and shoot as if they didnt advance. The repressor faq says that units on the inside follow the same rules as the repressor regarding shooting (only pistols in melee, etc)
If the repressor is from a detachment that can advance and shoot, but the dominion squad (or sisters, or whatever else with any non-assault weapon)inside is from another order, can the dominion squad still shoot after the repressor advances?
You can't have an ARGENT SHROUD Repressor carrying a non-ARGENT SHROUD unit. That would be Heresy.

Now, if it were somehow carrying non-ARGENT SHROUD units that ignore transport faction requirements, like an Inquisitor, I would say that the Inquisitor cannot shoot. This is because the Open Topped rule only transfers "restrictions and modifiers". Being able to shoot after advancing is neither a restriction nor a modifier, so it isn't transferred to the Inquisitor inside.
If the repressor moves, or moves and advances, the only effect on the passengers inside is that they count as having moved. They in no way advanced. You've always been able to advance the repressors and have the embarked units fire (-1 if a heavy weapon since move was conferred). "Units that shoot in this manner count as having moved if they or the Sororitas Repressor moved in the preceeding Movement phase." That's it. Digging thru the FAQs now to double check.

 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 deviantduck wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
greytalon666 wrote:
Sisters have the order ability that allows them to advance and shoot as if they didnt advance. The repressor faq says that units on the inside follow the same rules as the repressor regarding shooting (only pistols in melee, etc)
If the repressor is from a detachment that can advance and shoot, but the dominion squad (or sisters, or whatever else with any non-assault weapon)inside is from another order, can the dominion squad still shoot after the repressor advances?
You can't have an ARGENT SHROUD Repressor carrying a non-ARGENT SHROUD unit. That would be Heresy.

Now, if it were somehow carrying non-ARGENT SHROUD units that ignore transport faction requirements, like an Inquisitor, I would say that the Inquisitor cannot shoot. This is because the Open Topped rule only transfers "restrictions and modifiers". Being able to shoot after advancing is neither a restriction nor a modifier, so it isn't transferred to the Inquisitor inside.
If the repressor moves, or moves and advances, the only effect on the passengers inside is that they count as having moved. They in no way advanced. You've always been able to advance the repressors and have the embarked units fire (-1 if a heavy weapon since move was conferred). "Units that shoot in this manner count as having moved if they or the Sororitas Repressor moved in the preceeding Movement phase." That's it. Digging thru the FAQs now to double check.
The Open Topped rule got changed on Repressors to match all the other Open Topped rules. Now all "restrictions and modifiers" are passed to the embarked unit. If the Repressor Advances, the unit inside counts as advancing and cannot fire, regardless of whether the Repressor gets to ignore that restriction itself.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: