Switch Theme:

Obyron's Ghostwalk Mantel question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Irked Necron Immortal





Jackson, TN

Question from a fellow Necron player that I wanted to get a more confident answer for.

If Obyron uses his Ghostwalk Mantle moving to Zandrekh's location (for this question, all Set Up distances are fully legal) and then another HQ equipped with a Veil of Darkness selects Obyron and moves to another Unit, can Obyron use his Ghostwalk Mantle again to move that Unit to where Zandrehk is that same turn?
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 Draco765 wrote:
Question from a fellow Necron player that I wanted to get a more confident answer for.

If Obyron uses his Ghostwalk Mantle moving to Zandrekh's location (for this question, all Set Up distances are fully legal) and then another HQ equipped with a Veil of Darkness selects Obyron and moves to another Unit, can Obyron use his Ghostwalk Mantle again to move that Unit to where Zandrehk is that same turn?
No. The "end of [the] Movement phase" only happens once and you can only use the Ghostwalk Mantle once per movement phase. You CAN chain the Ghostwalk Mantle into the Veil of Darkness (and vice versa, via Sequencing), but you can't go Ghostwalk into Veil into Ghostwalk.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/12/06 14:03:30


 
   
Made in us
Irked Necron Immortal





Jackson, TN

 BaconCatBug wrote:
 Draco765 wrote:
Question from a fellow Necron player that I wanted to get a more confident answer for.

If Obyron uses his Ghostwalk Mantle moving to Zandrekh's location (for this question, all Set Up distances are fully legal) and then another HQ equipped with a Veil of Darkness selects Obyron and moves to another Unit, can Obyron use his Ghostwalk Mantle again to move that Unit to where Zandrehk is that same turn?
No. The "end of [the] Movement phase" only happens once and you can only use the Ghostwalk Mantle once per movement phase. You CAN chain the Ghostwalk Mantle into the Veil of Darkness (and vice versa, via Sequencing), but you can't go Ghostwalk into Veil into Ghostwalk.


Just to be fully clear, which rule says you can only Ghostwalk Mantle once per turn?
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Usually, units removed then placed back on the board elsewhere count as reinforcements for purposes of arriving at the end of the movement phase. If that still holds for the Ghostwalk Mantle then Obyron would arrive at the end of the movement phase. He wouldn't be able to use the Ghostwalk Mantle again because he would be trying to use it after the end of the phase, which is not allowed. So, it would be a timing issue that would let him use the Ghostwalk Mantle once in the movement phase.

   
Made in us
Irked Necron Immortal





Jackson, TN

 doctortom wrote:
Usually, units removed then placed back on the board elsewhere count as reinforcements for purposes of arriving at the end of the movement phase. If that still holds for the Ghostwalk Mantle then Obyron would arrive at the end of the movement phase. He wouldn't be able to use the Ghostwalk Mantle again because he would be trying to use it after the end of the phase, which is not allowed. So, it would be a timing issue that would let him use the Ghostwalk Mantle once in the movement phase.



Light-bulb moment here...

I do think it is once per turn, but not for the reason you gave.

The Ghostwalk Mantle does count as coming from Reserve, and things coming in from Reserve are treated as if they have moved and are not allowed to move further. Doing a second Ghostwalk Mantle would be another Move.

I think that is the answer that I will give.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/12/06 15:11:57


 
   
Made in us
Deathwing Terminator with Assault Cannon






 Draco765 wrote:
 doctortom wrote:
Usually, units removed then placed back on the board elsewhere count as reinforcements for purposes of arriving at the end of the movement phase. If that still holds for the Ghostwalk Mantle then Obyron would arrive at the end of the movement phase. He wouldn't be able to use the Ghostwalk Mantle again because he would be trying to use it after the end of the phase, which is not allowed. So, it would be a timing issue that would let him use the Ghostwalk Mantle once in the movement phase.



Light-bulb moment here...

I do think it is once per turn, but not for the reason you gave.

The Ghostwalk Mantle does count as coming from Reserve, and things coming in from Reserve are treated as if they have moved and are not allowed to move further. Doing a second Ghostwalk Mantle would be another Move.

I think that is the answer that I will give.
Abilities cannot be used multiple times in a single go as a general rule of common sense.

Let's think of it this way - is MWBD only allowed to be used once per turn because it says "pick 1 unit" at the "beginning of the turn"? Nay, you can only use it once because by invoking "well it doesn't tell me I can't" approach to the rules in order to pick 1 unit to apply MWBD and then proceed to make multiple instances of picking 1 unit (since "the rule doesn't tell you that you can use abilities only once per turn") would undoubtedly break/make redundant the whole point of MWBD only targeting 1 unit.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2019/12/06 15:27:35


 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Like I said, the "end of the movement phase" is only one moment in time.

If you use the Ghostmantle at the "end of the movement phase", then try to use it again, you didn't use the Ghostmantle the first timr "at the end of the movement phase" and thus broke the rules.
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





 BaconCatBug wrote:
Like I said, the "end of the movement phase" is only one moment in time.

If you use the Ghostmantle at the "end of the movement phase", then try to use it again, you didn't use the Ghostmantle the first timr "at the end of the movement phase" and thus broke the rules.


Can you not use it twice in that moment though and then sequence it?
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 Stux wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
Like I said, the "end of the movement phase" is only one moment in time.

If you use the Ghostmantle at the "end of the movement phase", then try to use it again, you didn't use the Ghostmantle the first timr "at the end of the movement phase" and thus broke the rules.


Can you not use it twice in that moment though and then sequence it?
No, because you're not given permission to use it multiple times at the end of the movement phase.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: