Switch Theme:

Assassin detachment question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in dk
Guard Heavy Weapon Crewman






Hi guys.
I posted this question earlier in an old post without realizing.
I play Astra Militarum and want to include an assassin. The assassin's current rules state that he can be taken alone in a vanguard detachment, even if there is no HQ in the detachment. Does this mean that he ALONE takes up one of the detachments I can use for the army? Or can I include him as long as one of my detachments has an empty/unused Elites slot?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/12/20 08:08:50


Inexperience is not a permanent condition. Stupidity is!


“When in deadly danger, When beset by doubt, Run in little circles, Wave your arms and shout.” 
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





If you want to take a single Assassin either you use the stratagem or put it in an Auxiliary Support Detachment, NOT a Vanguard.

The Assassins rule for Vanguard detachments is you can have 3 Assassins in a Vanguard with no HQ but you get no CP, or 4 Assassins with +1 CP
   
Made in dk
Guard Heavy Weapon Crewman






So I can use a single assassin without using a slot in a detachment? NICE!!!! Tank you.

Inexperience is not a permanent condition. Stupidity is!


“When in deadly danger, When beset by doubt, Run in little circles, Wave your arms and shout.” 
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





Snowcloak wrote:
So I can use a single assassin without using a slot in a detachment? NICE!!!! Tank you.


If you use the stratagem, yes. Operative Requisition Sanctioned it's called.

Otherwise your assassin will need their own detachment.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/12/20 08:10:23


 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

 Stux wrote:
If you want to take a single Assassin either you use the stratagem or put it in an Auxiliary Support Detachment, NOT a Vanguard.

The Assassins rule for Vanguard detachments is you can have 3 Assassins in a Vanguard with no HQ but you get no CP, or 4 Assassins with +1 CP


You need each assassin at least once, to get +1CP.
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





Correct, apologies for the omission.
   
Made in us
Snivelling Workbot






Well sorry for using this for another question, but say I use the Operative Requisitioned Strat, does is break my detachment for abilities like Canticles of the Omnissiah or Combat Doctrines? Or did they give it the Inquisitor treatment and allow them to not break those?

Admech: Lords of Jupiter
Custodes: Shadowkeepers
Astra Militarum: Jupiter pdf
Inquisition: Ordo Chronos
Tryanids: Hive Fleet Kraken
CSM: The Purge
Daemons: Garden of Nurgle

Cogito Ergo Sum

It is better to remain silent and be thought of the fool, than to speak out and remove all doubt. 
   
Made in gb
Moustache-twirling Princeps




United Kingdom

 Longshadow7 wrote:
Well sorry for using this for another question, but say I use the Operative Requisitioned Strat, does is break my detachment for abilities like Canticles of the Omnissiah or Combat Doctrines? Or did they give it the Inquisitor treatment and allow them to not break those?


From the Marine FAQ:

Q: Does adding an Officio Assassinorum model to my
army with the ‘Operative Requisition Sanctioned’ Stratagem
prevent the rest of my army from using Combat Doctrines?
A: Yes. Note that this model remains part of your army if
it is destroyed.
   
Made in us
Snivelling Workbot






Shoot, I thought, that they changed it with the newer Inquisition rules

Admech: Lords of Jupiter
Custodes: Shadowkeepers
Astra Militarum: Jupiter pdf
Inquisition: Ordo Chronos
Tryanids: Hive Fleet Kraken
CSM: The Purge
Daemons: Garden of Nurgle

Cogito Ergo Sum

It is better to remain silent and be thought of the fool, than to speak out and remove all doubt. 
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





 Longshadow7 wrote:
Shoot, I thought, that they changed it with the newer Inquisition rules


Unfortunately not. When the doctrines first came out, before ORS got FAQd, many people read it as not breaking doctrines. Whether or not that was reasonable based on the wording of the ability became irrelevant when it was FAQd saying it explicitly did break doctrines.

Inquisitor came out later with their own rules, but these were only for Inquisitors and had no affect on the state of Assassins at that point.
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Note that the FAQ only applies to combat doctrines, nothing else.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: