Switch Theme:

Death Guard Tactical Objective - Death Begets Life  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User





Im quite new to the 8th edition rules, and have recently played a handful of Matched Play games.
Im a little confused about this tactical objective:

Death Begets Life:
Whilst this Tactical Objective is active, keep a tally of the number of enemy models you kill in each of your turns. Score 1 victory point if you killed at least 7 enemy models this turn, and 1 additional victory point for every 7 models killed in excess of this (up to a maximum of 7 victory points).

Now this makes sense to me, but seems very overpowered.

1d4Chan has a slightly different description:
Score 1 VP if you killed 7 models this turn, scoring an extra VP for every 7 models you kill after that. A maximum of 7 VP can be scored from this Tactical Objective in this way (from a total of 49 models killed in a turn).

This seems like a much fairer representation of this objective, but could also be considered over powered vs a hoarde army.

Clarification:
- The objective card states 'in each of your turns'...does this mean the I keep adding up kills throughout the game gaining 1VP at 7 another at 14 etc until I reach 49 kills?
- Alternativly 1d4Chan states 'from a total of 49 models killed in a turn' does it mean once I achieve between 7-49 kills I get X amount VP and the objective is complete and discarded that turn?

How should this be played officially?
Is the 1d4 version house rules or eratta?
Does anyone else think this is overpowered?
   
Made in ca
Pestilent Plague Marine with Blight Grenade





The Frozen North

You gain the points for the Tactical Objective when you choose to score it. At that point, you check how many kills you have achieved in that turn, and gain a corresponding number of Victory Points.

Note that you keep a tally for EACH turn. At the beginning of each turn you can disregard the previous tally/tallies.

Your misconception is in thinking that the tally is a single value which spans all of your turns, but it is in fact several tallies which begin and end with the beginning and ending of each turn.

Triggerbaby wrote:In summary, here's your lunch and ask Miss Creaver if she has aloe lotion because I have taken you to school and you have been burned.

Abadabadoobaddon wrote:I too can prove pretty much any assertion I please if I don't count all the evidence that contradicts it.
 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

You need to kill 7 models in your turn. If you kill 6, no point. On your next turn you need to kill 7 models again, to score a point.
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User





Ahh I see, thanks for clarifying...so you saying that the tally resets each turn....making it sligthly more difficult to score as much VP.

The wording on the 1d4chan description makes me think that the objective only lasts a single turn, but has the option to go up to 7 VP's.
But Im guessing the objective is not discarded untill the seventh VP scored,So it lasts multiple turns, correct?

The main reason I'm questioning this is due to how overpowered I feel this is. Because if it lasts multiple turns theres a very high chance of scoring the 7 VP by turn 5.
I played against tau and tyranids with this objective and it feels easy to take out at least 21 a turn. Which nets me 3 VP 1st turn and 6 on the second turn.
I havent played against space marines etc yet, but im sure I could get 7 kills a turn and net at least 5VP's by turn 5.

The majority of objectives are 1VP for easy goal and 3VP for achieinvg a harder goal.
In comparison, this one seems like 3VP for easy goal and 7VP for achieving a harder goal.

I know its all chance, but drawing this card feels like a insta-win against horde/low point per model armies.
Does this not seem broken to anyone?





This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/02/05 15:57:06


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




You're incorrect. You cannot score a card until you declare so, and as soon as you score it it is discarded

If you kill 49 models IN ONE TURN you would score 7 vp and discard the card. 42 is 6vp, 35 5 and so on.
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

nosferatu1001 wrote:
You're incorrect. You cannot score a card until you declare so, and as soon as you score it it is discarded


You are incorrect. Cards are scored automatically at the end of each players turn, when their requirements are met. You dont have to declare it.

nosferatu1001 wrote:

If you kill 49 models IN ONE TURN you would score 7 vp and discard the card. 42 is 6vp, 35 5 and so on.


The wording of the card implies that its not discarded, it says keep a tally of the number of enemy models you kill in each of your turns. A mission with cards can last up to 7 turns, thats why you can score up to 7 VP, when killing 7 or more models, in each of your turns.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/02/05 17:55:35


 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User





This is my main confusion, when the card/objectives conditiion is met, and when it is discarded. From my inital understanding, the average objective is discarded once the condition is met and the VP has been claimed at the end of the round. This also makes an objective slot available for the start of the next turn (if the scenario requires drawing new cards or removing). The objective in question does not conform to this standard.

WINNING CONDITION TRIGGERS DISCARD:
- When it reaches its maximum 7 VP's, is that not the condition?
- It doesnt explictly state that you continue scoring VP for each turn...just that while active you tally each turn.
Could this mean tally untill a certain amount of kills (7,14,21 etc) activates the condition?

SCORING VP TRIGGERS DISCARD:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
as soon as you score it it is discarded

- Could it simply be discarded once any amount of VP is scored?

NO DISCARD:
p5freak wrote:
The wording of the card implies that its not discarded

This seems odd that a card would never be discarded in a game.
My general understanding is that when the objectives condition is met that it is automatically discarded.

p5freak wrote:
A mission with cards can last up to 7 turns, thats why you can score up to 7 VP

Im curious why the maximum turn count of a matched play mission has any relevance to the deathguard objective in question?
Are you suggesting that only 1 VP can be scored per turn, meaning the condition isnt met untill the end of the game and that why it is never discarded?

Im not saying anyones wrong...just brainstorming how a multi-turn multi-point objective could be completed.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2020/02/05 20:23:08


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




P5freak - CA2019 states very very clearly that

"After a tactical objective has been achieved, that card is discarded"

So no. It cannot be kept.
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

nosferatu1001 wrote:
P5freak - CA2019 states very very clearly that

"After a tactical objective has been achieved, that card is discarded"

So no. It cannot be kept.


Then explain why the card says you need to keep a tally of the number of enemy models you kill in EACH of your turns. Turns is plural.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/02/06 00:50:00


 
   
Made in us
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle





In My Lab

Because you can kill 6 models, and therefore not score it, BUT that tally doesn’t count towards next turn.

Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User





nosferatu1001 wrote: CA2019 states very very clearly that
"After a tactical objective has been achieved, that card is discarded"

Ok thanks nosfeatu for clarifing when an objective is discarded in a official format. This helps limit the confusion of what triggers the discard process.
Am I right in thinking that the objective in question would be considered achieved and discarded on the same turn that the player first achieves 7 kills(or 14,21 etc), or can they continue to achieve kills and score VP on subsequent turns, untill 7 VP's are reached?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2020/02/06 08:15:29


 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Good question. There are cards which are active for more than one turn. Necrons for example have a card where you have to count the number of RP rolls, and when you reach 10, you score 1VP. This card could be active for 7 turns.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




No, because you are not 8nstructed to "save" kills from prior turns. So each turn, your counter is 0 to start. Then if you hit 7 you have no choice but to achieve the card that turn, and the card is discarded.
This isn't tricky.
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User





nosferatu1001 wrote: Then if you hit 7 you have no choice but to achieve the card that turn, and the card is discarded

Thats how I thought it worked as mensioned in my inital question...just needed claification.
Thanks for enduring these questions, this is what I was looking for!
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: