Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/02/25 13:23:26
Subject: Do You Summon into a Detachment?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Hey there folks,
Just theorizing some stuff for Genestealer Cult at the moment, but have a question that applies to lots of codexes. When you summon a unit to the battlefield, adding the unit to your army through spending reinforcement points, is it added into any specific detachment? My thought is no, since the rules just say that it's added to your army, and does not direct you to add it to a specific detachment. As such, I believe that if I added such a unit to my army, it would not benefit from any Cult Creed or similar type rule, as it would not belong to a detachment of that type. I'd love for this to not be the case, so if I'm wrong, please let me know how I'm wrong.
|
Galef wrote:If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/02/25 13:28:02
Subject: Do You Summon into a Detachment?
|
 |
Horrific Hive Tyrant
|
Generally no, summoned units are not part of any detachment.
A unit that is destroyed and returned will usually still be part of the same detachment.
Just be careful of how the ability is worded.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/02/25 13:55:30
Subject: Do You Summon into a Detachment?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Units that are summoned (such as daemons) do not count as part of any detachment. They do not benefit from detachment bonuses, not do they prevent units in existing detachments from getting them. They may, however, break any abilities that require your whole army to be from the same faction (depends on the wording).
Do Genestealers have a way to do this though? Ambushing units and units that 'respawn' by removing themselves and setting it up elsewhere at full strength do not work in the same way.
|
8930 points 6800 points 75 points 600 points
2810 points 5740 points 2650 points 3275 points
55 points 640 points 1840 points 435 points
2990 points 700 points 2235 points 1935 points
3460 points 1595 points 2480 points 2895 points
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/02/25 15:19:13
Subject: Do You Summon into a Detachment?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Bilge Rat wrote:Units that are summoned (such as daemons) do not count as part of any detachment. They do not benefit from detachment bonuses, not do they prevent units in existing detachments from getting them. They may, however, break any abilities that require your whole army to be from the same faction (depends on the wording).
Do Genestealers have a way to do this though? Ambushing units and units that 'respawn' by removing themselves and setting it up elsewhere at full strength do not work in the same way.
There's a stratagem that has you give up casting a psychic power to do a Summon roll. 3d6 power rating for any GSC Infantry unit, which is hilarious because of how low our power ratings are, and almost all our stuff is Infantry.
|
Galef wrote:If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/02/25 16:03:26
Subject: Do You Summon into a Detachment?
|
 |
Horrific Hive Tyrant
|
Yarium wrote: Bilge Rat wrote:Units that are summoned (such as daemons) do not count as part of any detachment. They do not benefit from detachment bonuses, not do they prevent units in existing detachments from getting them. They may, however, break any abilities that require your whole army to be from the same faction (depends on the wording).
Do Genestealers have a way to do this though? Ambushing units and units that 'respawn' by removing themselves and setting it up elsewhere at full strength do not work in the same way.
There's a stratagem that has you give up casting a psychic power to do a Summon roll. 3d6 power rating for any GSC Infantry unit, which is hilarious because of how low our power ratings are, and almost all our stuff is Infantry.
That sounds ridiculous for Open and Narrative play, but a bit pointless for Matched where you'll need to set aside reserve points for it.
Basically the same as Chaos summoning!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/02/25 16:16:54
Subject: Do You Summon into a Detachment?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Stux wrote: Yarium wrote: Bilge Rat wrote:Units that are summoned (such as daemons) do not count as part of any detachment. They do not benefit from detachment bonuses, not do they prevent units in existing detachments from getting them. They may, however, break any abilities that require your whole army to be from the same faction (depends on the wording).
Do Genestealers have a way to do this though? Ambushing units and units that 'respawn' by removing themselves and setting it up elsewhere at full strength do not work in the same way.
There's a stratagem that has you give up casting a psychic power to do a Summon roll. 3d6 power rating for any GSC Infantry unit, which is hilarious because of how low our power ratings are, and almost all our stuff is Infantry.
That sounds ridiculous for Open and Narrative play, but a bit pointless for Matched where you'll need to set aside reserve points for it.
Basically the same as Chaos summoning!
Well, there's some major differences;
#1 - The Summoned units deploy via Cult Ambush, and doing so skirts the reserve rules. This allows you to deep strike Turn 1/4/5/6, which is very potent just on its own, but also helps achieve certain objectives (such as a Maelstrom objective far away from deployment, or an ITC secondary like Recon).
#2 - Genestealer Cult is much more of a "toolbox" army; the right tool for the right job is really, REALLY good for GSC. Having a Clamavus when you need a Clamavus, or a Sanctus when you need a Sanctus, and both costing around the same points - that's pretty good.
|
Galef wrote:If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors. |
|
 |
 |
|