Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/03/17 22:54:47
Subject: Chapter approved 2019 discarding ?
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
On page 71 the book says at the end of the morale phase you can discard any of your tactical objectives. How are people playing this ... it just doesn’t seem right like even if it’s not your turn you can just freely discard an objective ? It’s gotta be a mistake.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/03/18 08:04:56
Subject: Chapter approved 2019 discarding ?
|
 |
Witch Hunter in the Shadows
Aachen
|
Vizzin72 wrote:On page 71 the book says at the end of the morale phase you can discard any of your tactical objectives. How are people playing this ... it just doesn’t seem right like even if it’s not your turn you can just freely discard an objective ? It’s gotta be a mistake.
You are only allowed to discard any active tactical objectives, so you're not allowed to discard cards directly from your hand this way. To discard cards from your hand you'd have to pay CP (2 CP for 1-2 discarded cards, drawing as many cards as you discarded afterwards).
From my experience this is completely fine to play it like that, but I'd assume you missed the part where it says the objective must've been active.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/03/18 08:05:41
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/03/18 15:33:00
Subject: Chapter approved 2019 discarding ?
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Right I understand that but ... this means at the moral phase if you simply don’t like a card that is in play you can get rid of it ? And it doesn’t specify if it is the attacker or defender so that means even if it’s not your turn you can simply go through the moral phase and then discard an active tactical objective ? How is that fair it gives the opponent an extra free draw from their hand in the turn immediately following.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/03/18 15:43:18
Subject: Chapter approved 2019 discarding ?
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
It's fair because both players get to do it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/03/18 15:48:00
Subject: Chapter approved 2019 discarding ?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
You should get the extra free draw in a similar fashion as the opponent does, discarding in the opponent's turn, so it should be fair.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/03/19 09:29:00
Subject: Chapter approved 2019 discarding ?
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
Vizzin72 wrote:Right I understand that but ... this means at the moral phase if you simply don’t like a card that is in play you can get rid of it ? And it doesn’t specify if it is the attacker or defender so that means even if it’s not your turn you can simply go through the moral phase and then discard an active tactical objective ? How is that fair it gives the opponent an extra free draw from their hand in the turn immediately following.
AFAIK you can only discard in your turn, at the end of the turn/Morale Phase (forget which). So you can’t ditch one in your opponent’s turn. It gives you more to choose from in your next turn, but leaves you with fewer in play through the enemy’s turn, so there’s a trade-off. Also it’s fair as both sides can discard at the end of their turn.
|
Stormonu wrote:For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/03/19 09:49:58
Subject: Chapter approved 2019 discarding ?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
JohnnyHell wrote:Vizzin72 wrote:Right I understand that but ... this means at the moral phase if you simply don’t like a card that is in play you can get rid of it ? And it doesn’t specify if it is the attacker or defender so that means even if it’s not your turn you can simply go through the moral phase and then discard an active tactical objective ? How is that fair it gives the opponent an extra free draw from their hand in the turn immediately following.
AFAIK you can only discard in your turn, at the end of the turn/Morale Phase (forget which). So you can’t ditch one in your opponent’s turn. It gives you more to choose from in your next turn, but leaves you with fewer in play through the enemy’s turn, so there’s a trade-off. Also it’s fair as both sides can discard at the end of their turn.
You remember incorrectly. It states THE morale phase, not YOUR. You can discard active tactical objectives during your opponents morale phase as well as your own
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/03/19 12:47:00
Subject: Chapter approved 2019 discarding ?
|
 |
Locked in the Tower of Amareo
|
The point is to not have player burdened with unarchievable objectives.
Also remember you don't immediately draw new card. So if you discard on enemy turn 2 earliest new card(s) you draw after discarding is on your turn 4.
|
2024 painted/bought: 109/109 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/03/19 13:46:25
Subject: Re:Chapter approved 2019 discarding ?
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
That's not right. At the start of your turn, you place Tactical Objectives into play until you have 3, then draw your hand back up to 5 Tactical Objectives.
This means discarding active objectives during your opponent's Morale Phase prepares you to rest your Active Objectives and replenish your hand. Not a bad idea if you have any TO in play you won't be able to score during your next turn be have some in hand that you can.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/03/19 19:49:59
Subject: Chapter approved 2019 discarding ?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
tneva82 wrote:The point is to not have player burdened with unarchievable objectives.
Also remember you don't immediately draw new card. So if you discard on enemy turn 2 earliest new card(s) you draw after discarding is on your turn 4.
Incorrect
Discard end of their morale phase battle round 2,
Beginning of your turn you place cards until you have 3 active, then immediately draw back up to a hand of 5.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/03/21 22:26:57
Subject: Re:Chapter approved 2019 discarding ?
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
all right thanks everyone for your replies ... I guess I am interpreting like evryone else ... either player can discard at the end of THE morale phase
|
|
 |
 |
|