Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/04/04 19:46:37
Subject: Do transports count as units for deploying army in reserves
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
basically as the title explains, while you can only have half the units in your army in reserve for deepstrike, do transports count as units for this rule?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/04/04 19:53:35
Subject: Do transports count as units for deploying army in reserves
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Why wouldn't any unit, that does not specifically exclude itself on its datasheet, count for the 1/2 calculation?
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/04/04 20:45:47
Subject: Re:Do transports count as units for deploying army in reserves
|
 |
Stalwart Ultramarine Tactical Marine
Alaska
|
I think he asks because in previous editions unit transports counted as part of the unit they were carrying. Example 1: I place a rhino with a tactical squad inside it on the board. It counted as 1 unit. Example 2: Pathfinders used to require you take a devilfish as dedicated transport with them. You place them as 1 unit on the board. As far as 8th edition though, I don't know , haven't played in years and dont have the book.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/04/04 21:07:24
Subject: Re:Do transports count as units for deploying army in reserves
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
From the Main Rulebook FAQ:
Q: The Tactical Reserves matched play rule states that at least half the total number of units in my army must be set up on the battlefield during Deployment. If I have units embarked in a transport, do they count against the number of units I have to set up during Deployment? If, for example, I have a Valkyrie with three units embarked inside it that will arrive on the battlefield during the game, how many other units do I need to set up during Deployment to satisfy the Tactical Reserves rule?
A: Yes, embarked units count as units in your army, so must be counted when referring to this rule. If you have three units embarked inside a transport that will arrive during the game, you need to set up at least four other units on the battlefield during Deployment – equivalently, if you set up three units in a transport on the battlefield, you could set up four other units to arrive during the game.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/04/06 14:05:02
Subject: Re:Do transports count as units for deploying army in reserves
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
skysky wrote:I think he asks because in previous editions unit transports counted as part of the unit they were carrying. Example 1: I place a rhino with a tactical squad inside it on the board. It counted as 1 unit. Example 2: Pathfinders used to require you take a devilfish as dedicated transport with them. You place them as 1 unit on the board. As far as 8th edition though, I don't know , haven't played in years and dont have the book.
There's a difference between counting as one unit and counting as one drop during deployment.You can deploy the transport and its contents as one drop (I thought this was the same as the previous edition) but are still different units. Also, transports in previous editions might have only been able to carry the unit they were dedicated to, but they weren't considered the same unit. To take you example 2, The Tau Pathfinders could all be killed and count as wiping out the unit without having to also wipe out the Devilfish.
|
|
 |
 |
|