Switch Theme:

Reinforcements & Sslyth clarification  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Been Around the Block




Is a unit that is already on the battlefield and is teleported at some other battlefield location, be it by means of a psychic power or an strat, subjected to the reinforcements rule?

How is the Sslyth "cold-blooded bodyguard" rule to be played?

Rule reads "Roll a D6 each time a friendly <KABAL> archon loses a wound whilst they are within 3" of this model; on a 2+ this model intercepts that hit - the Archon does not lose a wound but this model suffers a mortal wound -.

Would the archon get to roll for his PfP ability that allows him to ignore wounds on a 6+ before attempting to pass over each wound? I reckon this ability is very similar to the "cogitated martyroom" IH strat that was recently FAQ-ed but it reads "loses a wound" rather than "would lose a wound", which kind of intimates that the archon would get his PfP rolls.
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins





Tacoma, WA, USA

1. Yes. See the general rulebook FAQ for the long details on this.

2. Yes, the Archon gets to PfP the wound first before rolling to transfer the wound. GW rewrote Cogitated Martyroom to prevent this from happening rather than writing a general FAQ answer that would prevent such things for everyone.
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





Units that move from one place on the battlefield to another are not subject to the Tactical Reserves rules, so you can do it turn 1.

Yes, you can roll PfP before the bodyguard roll.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/04/09 13:51:24


 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






eparedes0785 wrote:
Is a unit that is already on the battlefield and is teleported at some other battlefield location, be it by means of a psychic power or an strat, subjected to the reinforcements rule?

How is the Sslyth "cold-blooded bodyguard" rule to be played?

Rule reads "Roll a D6 each time a friendly <KABAL> archon loses a wound whilst they are within 3" of this model; on a 2+ this model intercepts that hit - the Archon does not lose a wound but this model suffers a mortal wound -.

Would the archon get to roll for his PfP ability that allows him to ignore wounds on a 6+ before attempting to pass over each wound? I reckon this ability is very similar to the "cogitated martyroom" IH strat that was recently FAQ-ed but it reads "loses a wound" rather than "would lose a wound", which kind of intimates that the archon would get his PfP rolls.
1) Any unit that is "set-up" mid turn is subject to the Reinforcement restrictions.

2) As alextroy states, you get to attempt PfP first and then use the Bodyguard rule.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: