Switch Theme:

Some (hopefully) basic shooting, fighting and Warptime rule clarifications  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Adolescent Youth with Potential




United Kingdom

Hi,

Sorry if these seem really basic questions, I'm still pretty new to 8th edition and after having a few practice games against myself, I've found I keep coming up against these three situations which I can't really work out how to resolve correctly.

Rather than make a mess of trying to explain it, i've tried to draw it

Fighting

Unit B got a really low Charge roll, but I realize now I could of use a 3" pile in to skirt around Unit X and get into base contact with both Unit X and Y. Assuming for whatever reason that wasn't possible (terrain or other units in the way), my question about what can Unit B do (if anything) once Unit A destroys Unit X still stands. Would it have been better for Unit B to fight first?


Shooting


Warptime


Any help and reasons why would be awesome, thanks
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 URCshadow wrote:
Unit B got a really low Charge roll, but I realize now I could of use a 3" pile in to skirt around Unit X and get into base contact with both Unit X and Y. Assuming for whatever reason that wasn't possible (terrain or other units in the way), my question about what can Unit B do (if anything) once Unit A destroys Unit X still stands. Would it have been better for Unit B to fight first?
Unit B, because it charged, gets to Pile in, Fight and Consolidate in full. If Unit B can't get within 1" of any enemy units with it's pile in, it doesn't attack but may still consolidate. Keep in mind Pile Ins and Consolidates do not have to be direct movement to the closest enemy model, you simply must end up closer at the end.

Shooting Questions:
1) You check Range and LOS only once for each model, before any attacks are made. After that is "locked in", since model 4 is eligible to shoot, it gets to shoot, regardless of whether casualties take the target unit out of Range or LOS.
2) No, casualties are not restricted by LOS. If Model 4 inflicts 6 wounds and all those wounds fail, the target unit takes damage as normal.
3) It can wipe out the unit. As stated, casualties are not restricted by LOS. If, for example, 10 Intercessors with Bolt Rifles can see the pinkie finger of a single Termagant in a 20 strong unit and the rest is behind LOS blocking terrain, the Intercessors can wipe out the Termagants.

Warptime Questions:
1) No, it may not charge, because it advanced this turn. Moving a second time doesn't magically make the first time not have happened.
2) AFAIK no psychic powers prohibit their use after advancing. There isn't a general restriction on using powers after advancing, so you can use powers after advancing just fine.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2020/04/11 19:43:19


 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





For the first 2 scenarios, I agree with the previous poster.

For the warp time example, the unit advanced in the movement phase. The way advance works is you declare the advance before moving the unit and roll for the advance distance. In this case 6”. This is added to that unit’s movement of 7”. The unit now has a move characteristic of 13” and counts as advancing for the rest of the turn. It does not have a move of 7” and an advance of 6”

This distinction is important, because now if the unit were to move again as if it is the movement phase ( warp time in this case) it’s move characteristic is still 13” and it still counts as advancing even if you only move the unit 7”. The unit may not declare to advance for a second time and change the additional advance modifier to the movement characteristic, or add a further advance distance onto the now 13” movement characteristic. As it has Advanced this turn, it may not charge.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2020/04/11 23:02:04


 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Aash wrote:
For the first 2 scenarios, I agree with the previous poster.

For the warp time example, the unit advanced in the movement phase. The way advance works is you declare the advance before moving the unit and roll for the advance distance. In this case 6”. This is added to that unit’s movement of 7”. The unit now has a move characteristic of 13” and counts as advancing for the rest of the turn. It does not have a move of 7” and an advance of 6”

This distinction is important, because now if the unit were to move again as if it is the movement phase ( warp time in this case) it’s move characteristic is still 13” and it still counts as advancing even if you only move the unit 7”. The unit may not declare to advance for a second time and change the additional advance modifier to the movement characteristic, or add a further advance distance onto the now 13” movement characteristic. As it has Advanced this turn, it may not charge.
This is not true. The bonus to movement for advance only lasts until the end of the phase. Warptime happens in the psychic phase, so you must roll a new value for advance. Regardless of whether you advance with the Warptime movement, the unit counts as having advanced and thus cannot make a charge move or be selected to shoot unless a special rule says otherwise.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/04/12 00:21:47


 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





My mistake, I was thinking of moving a second time in the movement phase, and got mixed up!
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Aash wrote:
My mistake, I was thinking of moving a second time in the movement phase, and got mixed up!
Yeah, for example if you use Metabolic Overdrive on a unit that advanced, the result of the advance remains the same for the 2nd move.
   
Made in gb
Adolescent Youth with Potential




United Kingdom

Cheers guys, that helps alot, especially the whole "locked in" way of explaining targeting and shoot, it now totally makes sense.

Got a few more if anyone has the time:

Repeating Physic powers - so I see the rule where a psyker can't attempt the same power twice in the same turn but I notice in battle reports that if a 2nd psyker attempts Smite in the same phase it goes off on a 6 instead of a 5. If a 3rd psyker attempts they must roll 7 or higher and so on. Why is that? I can't find the rule for it. Does the same rule also apply to other psychic powers or just Smite?

Charging thin air - I had a moment towards the end of a game where a single assault marine with a plasma pistol was sitting on an objective and an obliterator with 2 wounds left was attempting to charge. The marine supercharged the plasma pistol and fired overwatch. Rolled a 2 for hit and then rerolled for Master Artisan and rolled a 1! The marine was slain but then the Obliterator (and the other two units that were going to charge in afterwards) had nothing left to charge so no one scored the objective at the end of the turn. Was that the right way to resolve it? (it was one of those hilarious and totally unexpected moments so hopefully I got it right)

Greater Possessed Aura - A Greater Possessed increases strength of units around it with certain keywords which it also has. The wording suggests it doesn't stack if you have multiple Greater Possessed but does it apply to itself? (i.e is a Greater Possessed always S6 because it always in range of its own aura, just like a Space marine captain always benefits from its own hit reroll aura)
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 URCshadow wrote:
Repeating Physic powers - so I see the rule where a psyker can't attempt the same power twice in the same turn but I notice in battle reports that if a 2nd psyker attempts Smite in the same phase it goes off on a 6 instead of a 5. If a 3rd psyker attempts they must roll 7 or higher and so on. Why is that? I can't find the rule for it. Does the same rule also apply to other psychic powers or just Smite?
Chapter Approved 2019. It's a matched play rule. It only applies to Smite because in matched play you can only attempt to manifest other powers once per psychic phase. That means if Psyker A attempts to cast Guide, for example, and fails, Psyker B cannot even attempt to cast Guide that phase.

 URCshadow wrote:
Charging thin air - I had a moment towards the end of a game where a single assault marine with a plasma pistol was sitting on an objective and an obliterator with 2 wounds left was attempting to charge. The marine supercharged the plasma pistol and fired overwatch. Rolled a 2 for hit and then rerolled for Master Artisan and rolled a 1! The marine was slain but then the Obliterator (and the other two units that were going to charge in afterwards) had nothing left to charge so no one scored the objective at the end of the turn. Was that the right way to resolve it? (it was one of those hilarious and totally unexpected moments so hopefully I got it right)
Correct. Overwatch is resolved before any charge moves are rolled for or made. If the target unit kills itself via overwatch, the Obliterators still get to make a charge roll, but because they cannot "finish [their move] within 1" of an enemy model from one of the target units", "the charge fails and no models in the charging unit move this phase."

 URCshadow wrote:
Greater Possessed Aura - A Greater Possessed increases strength of units around it with certain keywords which it also has. The wording suggests it doesn't stack if you have multiple Greater Possessed but does it apply to itself? (i.e is a Greater Possessed always S6 because it always in range of its own aura, just like a Space marine captain always benefits from its own hit reroll aura)
BRB, Page 179, Aura Abilities. Unless otherwise stated, a model is always within range of it's own aura and, if it has the correct keywords, benefits from the aura. Keep in mind that, along with (I think) almost every aura being worded as such ("any" vs "each"), the same aura cannot stack with another instance of the same aura due to FAQ. Some auras/rules will also specify that they can't stack with different auras/rules, such as Venomthropes and Carnifex Spore Cysts.

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2020/04/12 19:56:31


 
   
Made in gb
Adolescent Youth with Potential




United Kingdom

amazing you know your stuff. Only got one more left then im out of questions (at least until my next game!)

Chaos Space marine in fight phase (I play the Scourged chapter trait). If I reroll a failed hit and that results in a 6 to trigger Death to the false emperor, if that extra attack results in a 1, can I still reroll that within 6" of a daemon prince?

Theres a rule somewhere about never being allowed to re-roll a re-rolled dice, but as far as I can make out that isnt breaking the rule.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 URCshadow wrote:
amazing you know your stuff. Only got one more left then im out of questions (at least until my next game!)

Chaos Space marine in fight phase (I play the Scourged chapter trait). If I reroll a failed hit and that results in a 6 to trigger Death to the false emperor, if that extra attack results in a 1, can I still reroll that within 6" of a daemon prince?

Theres a rule somewhere about never being allowed to re-roll a re-rolled dice, but as far as I can make out that isnt breaking the rule.
You can re-roll it. As you correctly stated, you cannot ever re-roll a re-rolled dice. However, extra attacks from rules such as Death to the False Emperor don't re-roll the dice, they generate an extra attack, which itself may be re-rolled once. This also applies (very importantly) to stuff like Dakka! Dakka! Dakka! and Bad Moonz/Tankbustas. You can shoot, re-roll, shoot your bonus attacks, and then re-roll those bonus attacks just fine.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2020/04/12 20:22:43


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: