Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/04/20 17:02:01
Subject: new, i have questions about orks and grots holding stikbombs
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
so there are some Grot models you can make, that holds a stikbomb in both hands. does that mean that unit doesnt get a ranged attacked?
looking through the codex, i dont see any stikbombs in the weapons list so im assuming this is only visual?
at the same time you can model an ork holding a stikbomb and thus only leaving him one hand free to a slugga or a choppa. but if im not mistaken all ork boys can throw a stikbomb even without the model holding that stikbomb so am i shooting myself in the foot for making an ork boy holding a stikbomb? furthermore, can i not use my grot blasta for my gretchin if i use the model that uses both hands for a stikbomb?
|
Hope, is the first step on the road to disappointment.
- About Dawn of War 3 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/04/20 17:46:45
Subject: new, i have questions about orks and grots holding stikbombs
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Don’t worry - no one will sweat a Grot with Stikk Bomb. Go wild with your models and get the best looking result you can. Always remember, the Rule of Cool trumps Rule as Written :-)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/04/20 17:53:51
Subject: new, i have questions about orks and grots holding stikbombs
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
It doesn't matter what the model has. Gretchen cannot use Stikkbombs.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/04/20 18:08:23
Subject: new, i have questions about orks and grots holding stikbombs
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
So it still uses its grot blaster even though i havent physically given them a grot blaster?
|
Hope, is the first step on the road to disappointment.
- About Dawn of War 3 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/04/20 18:17:23
Subject: new, i have questions about orks and grots holding stikbombs
|
 |
Stubborn Dark Angels Veteran Sergeant
Vancouver, BC
|
Beardedragon wrote:
So it still uses its grot blaster even though i havent physically given them a grot blaster?
Yes. There isn't a rule that all models must feature exactly the war gear they are using in a particular battle, so as long as it's clear even most hardcore WYSIWYG tournaments shouldn't have an issue with stickbomb grots.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/04/20 18:37:42
Subject: new, i have questions about orks and grots holding stikbombs
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
WYSIWYG is not a rule. The only requirement is you use the correct Citadel™ Miniatures for the Datasheet. What weapons are modelled on the model are irrelevant.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/04/20 18:38:19
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/04/20 18:58:51
Subject: new, i have questions about orks and grots holding stikbombs
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
thank you guys.
i have a side question to this though:
An ork wielding a shoota, does he still hit with a Choppa when hes in melee combat despite both hands holding the Shoota?
Does an Ork boy wielding a slugga and a stikbomb still use a choppa in melee? what if he had an anti tank bomb and a slugga? does he still use a choppa for melee?
|
Hope, is the first step on the road to disappointment.
- About Dawn of War 3 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/04/20 19:04:49
Subject: new, i have questions about orks and grots holding stikbombs
|
 |
Yellin' Yoof
Southern Indiana
|
If he Has a shoota, he no longer has a choppa, you have to swap both the slugga and choppa for it. as for the second yes its the same as the grot , what hes actually holding doesn't matter, its what the Datasheet says hes equipped with.
|
DieHard 40K player. Primary Army: Goff/Deffskull Orks 18,000+ pts (And Growing Still, slowly)
Secondary army: Mentor Legion Space Marines, 4000 or so (heading for about 7-8000)
Tertiary army: Tau , eh bout 1750 or so, (someday 2-3000) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/04/20 19:06:47
Subject: new, i have questions about orks and grots holding stikbombs
|
 |
Stubborn Dark Angels Veteran Sergeant
Vancouver, BC
|
Beardedragon wrote:thank you guys.
i have a side question to this though:
An ork wielding a shoota, does he still hit with a Choppa when hes in melee combat despite both hands holding the Shoota?
Does an Ork boy wielding a slugga and a stikbomb still use a choppa in melee? what if he had an anti tank bomb and a slugga? does he still use a choppa for melee?
A model can use any and all of the equipment on its datasheet. The exceptions are for wargear that has been replaced to take something else (such as a big choppa for a choppa or a rokkit taken in place of a shoota), or in a situation on the table where the rules don't allow that equipment to be used (such as a shoota in melee combat).
EDIT: Think of it this way, the model is just a token that represents a set of rules for that unit. So as long as the model is appropriate for the unit it's representing it can use all of that unit's rules even if it isn't modeled to represent any one particular set of equipment.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/04/20 19:11:47
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/04/20 20:41:24
Subject: new, i have questions about orks and grots holding stikbombs
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Beardedragon wrote:thank you guys.
i have a side question to this though:
An ork wielding a shoota, does he still hit with a Choppa when hes in melee combat despite both hands holding the Shoota?
Does an Ork boy wielding a slugga and a stikbomb still use a choppa in melee? what if he had an anti tank bomb and a slugga? does he still use a choppa for melee?
The model has no effect on the rules. You can paint your Ultramarines Intercessor with Bolt Rifle Neon Pink carrying a volcano cannon for all the rules care, you still use the Ultramarines Rules and he has Bolt Rifle.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/04/20 21:09:20
Subject: new, i have questions about orks and grots holding stikbombs
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
BaconCatBug wrote:Beardedragon wrote:thank you guys.
i have a side question to this though:
An ork wielding a shoota, does he still hit with a Choppa when hes in melee combat despite both hands holding the Shoota?
Does an Ork boy wielding a slugga and a stikbomb still use a choppa in melee? what if he had an anti tank bomb and a slugga? does he still use a choppa for melee?
The model has no effect on the rules. You can paint your Ultramarines Intercessor with Bolt Rifle Neon Pink carrying a volcano cannon for all the rules care, you still use the Ultramarines Rules and he has Bolt Rifle.
Right. but if i give my guys a shoota, it replaces the slugga and choppa yes?
so they dont use choppas for melee.
but over all i think i get the gist of what you guys are telling me.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/04/20 21:10:41
Hope, is the first step on the road to disappointment.
- About Dawn of War 3 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/04/20 21:16:21
Subject: new, i have questions about orks and grots holding stikbombs
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Models without a weapon for melee get to use a generic close combat weapon, which is strength as user, no ap and damage 1.
This is covered in the core rule book.
As ork boyz with shootas have swapped out their choppa (and slugga) and don't have their own special melee weapon, they use this vanilla close combat weapon from the core rules (not quite as good as the choppa, sadly).
Edit: It also frustrates me that the grot mob is clearly modelled as having a stickbomb in the unit, but not being able to use it.
I guess that grot's blaster just has a case mod to make it look like a stickbomb!
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/04/20 21:17:12
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/04/20 22:57:23
Subject: new, i have questions about orks and grots holding stikbombs
|
 |
Horrific Hive Tyrant
|
nareik wrote:Models without a weapon for melee get to use a generic close combat weapon, which is strength as user, no ap and damage 1.
This is covered in the core rule book.
If I remember correctly, its actually not in the rulebook but instead in the FAQ for the rulebook.
Which neatly introduces the second most important rule: check the FAQs!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/04/20 23:07:53
Subject: new, i have questions about orks and grots holding stikbombs
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Stux wrote:nareik wrote:Models without a weapon for melee get to use a generic close combat weapon, which is strength as user, no ap and damage 1. This is covered in the core rule book. If I remember correctly, its actually not in the rulebook but instead in the FAQ for the rulebook. Which neatly introduces the second most important rule: check the FAQs!
It was an errata. Originally only models without another Melee weapon got the base CCW. In this case, the result is the same because Shoota Boyz would have gotten it even with the unerrata'd rule.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/04/20 23:08:06
|
|
 |
 |
|