Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/04/25 08:33:07
Subject: Question about the BT stratagem Abhor the witch
|
 |
Squishy Squighound
sweden
|
Can you use it in the start of the enemy psychic phase and it lasts the entire phase, ie any power trying to manifest within the reach of any BT unit can be nullified on a 4+ or is it a single unit use?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/04/25 08:52:28
Subject: Re:Question about the BT stratagem Abhor the witch
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
Have you read the stratagem ?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/04/25 09:18:37
Subject: Question about the BT stratagem Abhor the witch
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
The full text of the stratagem would be useful to help answer the question. If it's the one I'm thinking of the rule itself tells you exactly when it's used. Check the rules for the Psychic phase and the process for manifesting a psychic power and it should become clearer.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/04/25 09:40:47
Subject: Question about the BT stratagem Abhor the witch
|
 |
Squishy Squighound
sweden
|
I have read the stratagem yes, and still i'm not sure so hence the question, thank you SO much for the less then helpful replies
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/04/25 09:45:18
Subject: Re:Question about the BT stratagem Abhor the witch
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
I dont think you have read the stratagem, because its very clear when its used.
Does it say that its used at the start of the opponents psychic phase to deny ALL enemy psychic powers on 4+ ? No, it doesnt.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2020/04/25 09:47:24
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/04/25 09:47:01
Subject: Question about the BT stratagem Abhor the witch
|
 |
Horrific Hive Tyrant
|
Garlando wrote:I have read the stratagem yes, and still i'm not sure so hence the question, thank you SO much for the less then helpful replies
Please post the exact text of the ability, and people will be happy to help.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/04/25 10:14:53
Subject: Re:Question about the BT stratagem Abhor the witch
|
 |
Squishy Squighound
sweden
|
p5freak wrote:I dont think you have read the stratagem, because its very clear when its used.
Does it say that its used at the start of the opponents psychic phase to deny ALL enemy psychic powers on 4+ ? No, it doesnt.
No, but it does say units, plural, which I would interpret as it stays active for the duration of the phase once used, 1cp does seem kind of cheap tho, which is why I was unsure
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/04/25 10:50:10
Subject: Re:Question about the BT stratagem Abhor the witch
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Garlando wrote: p5freak wrote:I dont think you have read the stratagem, because its very clear when its used.
Does it say that its used at the start of the opponents psychic phase to deny ALL enemy psychic powers on 4+ ? No, it doesnt.
No, but it does say units, plural, which I would interpret as it stays active for the duration of the phase once used, 1cp does seem kind of cheap tho, which is why I was unsure
It says any units.
Which means if there is any unit within the distance you can use the strat.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/04/25 11:02:37
Subject: Question about the BT stratagem Abhor the witch
|
 |
Squishy Squighound
sweden
|
Stux wrote:Garlando wrote:I have read the stratagem yes, and still i'm not sure so hence the question, thank you SO much for the less then helpful replies
Please post the exact text of the ability, and people will be happy to help.
"Use this stratagem in your opponent's Psychic phase, when an enemy psyker model manifests a psychic power within 24" of any Black Templars units from your army, after any Deny the Witch attempts have been made. Roll one D6; on a 4+ that psychic power is resisted"
The way I see it, you activate it in the start of the phase and it applies to all units that are in range of a psyker manifesting a power, I could be wrong however
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/04/25 11:03:51
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/04/25 11:08:15
Subject: Question about the BT stratagem Abhor the witch
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Garlando wrote:"Use this stratagem in your opponent's Psychic phase, when an enemy psyker model manifests a psychic power within 24" of any Black Templars units from your army, after any Deny the Witch attempts have been made. Roll one D6; on a 4+ that psychic power is resisted"
The way I see it, you activate it in the start of the phase and it applies to all units that are in range of a psyker manifesting a power, I could be wrong however
How did you come to that conclusion?
When do you use the Strat?
Which psychic power is resisted?
Answer those questions and you will know that it is one use only.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/04/25 11:18:35
Subject: Question about the BT stratagem Abhor the witch
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
Garlando wrote:
The way I see it, you activate it in the start of the phase and it applies to all units that are in range of a psyker manifesting a power, I could be wrong however
Thats not how its played, its not even close. One enemy psyker manifests a psychic power, you play the stratagem if any BT units are within 24" of that psyker, and that manifested psychic power is resisted on 4+. Its against one manifested psychic power, thats all.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/04/25 11:32:48
Subject: Question about the BT stratagem Abhor the witch
|
 |
Squishy Squighound
sweden
|
p5freak wrote:Garlando wrote:
The way I see it, you activate it in the start of the phase and it applies to all units that are in range of a psyker manifesting a power, I could be wrong however
Thats not how its played, its not even close. One enemy psyker manifests a psychic power, you play the stratagem if any BT units are within 24" of that psyker, and that manifested psychic power is resisted on 4+. Its against one manifested psychic power, thats all.
Well that was all I wanted to know, cheers.
would have been a lot shorter thread if that had been said initially but hey, we took the scenic route and got there in the end
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/04/25 17:08:45
Subject: Question about the BT stratagem Abhor the witch
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Garlando wrote: p5freak wrote:Garlando wrote:
The way I see it, you activate it in the start of the phase and it applies to all units that are in range of a psyker manifesting a power, I could be wrong however
Thats not how its played, its not even close. One enemy psyker manifests a psychic power, you play the stratagem if any BT units are within 24" of that psyker, and that manifested psychic power is resisted on 4+. Its against one manifested psychic power, thats all.
Well that was all I wanted to know, cheers.
would have been a lot shorter thread if that had been said initially but hey, we took the scenic route and got there in the end 
The reason for the replies you got was because this is actually a pretty straight forward, non-controversial stratagem that I've literally never seen anyone question the timing on. Therefore I think people (including myself) were trying to help you out by getting you to read and fully parse the text because that will help your understanding of the rules in the future. Just saying "this is how it works" is less helpful than trying to guide someone through the logic behind it working a certain way. Also, the rules of the forum do require rules text to be put into any question.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/04/25 17:09:59
Subject: Question about the BT stratagem Abhor the witch
|
 |
Hallowed Canoness
|
Garlando wrote:"Use this stratagem in your opponent's Psychic phase, when an enemy psyker model manifests a psychic power within 24" of any Black Templars units from your army, after any Deny the Witch attempts have been made. Roll one D6; on a 4+ that psychic power is resisted" The way I see it, you activate it in the start of the phase and it applies to all units that are in range of a psyker manifesting a power, I could be wrong however
Look at punctuation. First sentence : "Use this stratagem in your opponent's Psychic phase, when an enemy psyker model manifests a psychic power within 24" of any Black Templars units from your army, after any Deny the Witch attempts have been made. " So, when can you use the stratagem? Explicitly NOT at the start of the phase. You can only use the stratagem AFTER a psychic power have been cast, and AFTER the Deny the Witch attempts for that specific power were made. Now that we know when we can use the stratagem, what does the stratagem do? "Roll one D6; on a 4+ that psychic power is resisted" Emphasis mine. So, only one power get resisted. Your interpretation would work with a slightly different punctuation, though. If it was written: "Use this stratagem in your opponent's Psychic phase. When an enemy psyker model manifests a psychic power within 24" of any Black Templars units from your army, after any Deny the Witch attempts have been made, roll one D6; on a 4+ that psychic power is resisted" I just exchanged a point and a colon and now it's your interpretation that is the right one. Devil's in the detail I guess?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/04/25 17:12:01
"Our fantasy settings are grim and dark, but that is not a reflection of who we are or how we feel the real world should be. [...] We will continue to diversify the cast of characters we portray [...] so everyone can find representation and heroes they can relate to. [...] If [you don't feel the same way], you will not be missed"
https://twitter.com/WarComTeam/status/1268665798467432449/photo/1 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/04/25 18:43:43
Subject: Re:Question about the BT stratagem Abhor the witch
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
As the others have stated, it's no good to just give you the answer if you can't explain it if it comes up in a game.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
|