Switch Theme:

Artillery Crew Question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Pyromaniac Hellhound Pilot





The Wastes of Krieg

So units with the artillery trait say that if the crew that mans it is more than 6” away from it, it is removed from play. My question is that if the crew are embarked on an artillery tractor towing that particular gun, does it still see the crew as being within 6” of it?
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






DeathKorp_Rider wrote:
So units with the artillery trait say that if the crew that mans it is more than 6” away from it, it is removed from play. My question is that if the crew are embarked on an artillery tractor towing that particular gun, does it still see the crew as being within 6” of it?
Firstly, you need to give the exact units you are talking about because there is no such thing as "artillery trait" in 8th edition and no standardisation of rules.

Secondly, if the crew is embarked upon a transport, and the artillery is removed from play if they are not within 6" of it, then it is removed because you cannot measure to the unit, thus it cannot be within 6" of the artillery.

But again, you need to provide the EXACT unit you are talking about for us to give you an answer, it's literally impossible to help otherwise.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/06/12 20:27:53


 
   
Made in us
Pyromaniac Hellhound Pilot





The Wastes of Krieg

I appreciate your answer but I have to say you are kind of coming across as a jerk
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Read the Artillery Tractor rule on the Centaur, it explains exactly how it functions.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/06/12 20:42:35


This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






DeathKorp_Rider wrote:
I appreciate your answer but I have to say you are kind of coming across as a jerk
Text can be like that sometimes. Sorry. I am genuinely saying that we can't help you without exact units because of GW's shoddy writing. I can can take an educated guess on which units you are talking about but without knowing what units exactly, I can't give a correct answer and I don't want to give an incorrect answer that will confuse the situation.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2020/06/12 20:54:47


 
   
Made in us
Pyromaniac Hellhound Pilot





The Wastes of Krieg

 BaconCatBug wrote:
DeathKorp_Rider wrote:
I appreciate your answer but I have to say you are kind of coming across as a jerk
Text can be like that sometimes. Sorry. I am genuinely saying that we can't help you without exact units because of GW's shoddy writing.


That’s alright. Honestly though it’s my own fault. I should’ve read the rule closer as it does say in the artillery tractor ability rule about the crew
   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran





A: As stated above, the 'artillery tractor' rule on the Centaur Light Carrier clearly states how it works. It does not involve anything embarking on anything else.
B: Even if RAW said that attempting to move an ARTILLERY unit caused it to destroy itself due to a weird technically, this is clearly unintentional. Any sane person would ignore this possibility.
C: The Centaur Light Carrier is an obscure and pointless unit that no one would ever use, so none of this is relevant.

8930 points 6800 points 75 points 600 points
2810 points 5740 points 2650 points 3275 points
55 points 640 points 1840 points 435 points
2990 points 700 points 2235 points 1935 points
3460 points 1595 points 2480 points 2895 points
 
   
Made in us
Pyromaniac Hellhound Pilot





The Wastes of Krieg

 Bilge Rat wrote:
A: As stated above, the 'artillery tractor' rule on the Centaur Light Carrier clearly states how it works. It does not involve anything embarking on anything else.
B: Even if RAW said that attempting to move an ARTILLERY unit caused it to destroy itself due to a weird technically, this is clearly unintentional. Any sane person would ignore this possibility.
C: The Centaur Light Carrier is an obscure and pointless unit that no one would ever use, so none of this is relevant.


You use it if you’re deploying stationary artillery units like with a Death Korps army
   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran





DeathKorp_Rider wrote:
 Bilge Rat wrote:
A: As stated above, the 'artillery tractor' rule on the Centaur Light Carrier clearly states how it works. It does not involve anything embarking on anything else.
B: Even if RAW said that attempting to move an ARTILLERY unit caused it to destroy itself due to a weird technically, this is clearly unintentional. Any sane person would ignore this possibility.
C: The Centaur Light Carrier is an obscure and pointless unit that no one would ever use, so none of this is relevant.


You use it if you’re deploying stationary artillery units like with a Death Korps army

Its rules seem awful to me but if you think you found a use for it then fair enough I guess

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/06/12 21:03:51


8930 points 6800 points 75 points 600 points
2810 points 5740 points 2650 points 3275 points
55 points 640 points 1840 points 435 points
2990 points 700 points 2235 points 1935 points
3460 points 1595 points 2480 points 2895 points
 
   
Made in us
Pyromaniac Hellhound Pilot





The Wastes of Krieg

It’s a fluff piece
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

DeathKorp_Rider wrote:
I appreciate your answer but I have to say you are kind of coming across as a jerk


No, you do. I already asked you to quote the relevant rules if you want help, in another thread.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: