Switch Theme:

Additional hits/attacks Question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




So with the new Custodes rules in WotS, I'm planning on trying out a Dread Host Allarus SC and Vexilus Praetor with the +1 attack Vexilla combo.

The plan is to give my Allarus SC the Peerless Warrior WLT which states "Each time you make a hit roll of 6+ for your Warlord in the Fight phase, they can immediately make an extra attack against the same unit using the same weapon. These extra attacks cannot themselves generate any further attacks."

In combination with giving my Vexilus Praetor the new Dread Host WLT All-Seeing Annihilator which reads "When resolving an attack made with a melee weapon by a model in a friendly Dread Host unit within 6" of this Warlord, an unmodified hit roll of 6 scores an additional hit."

Now assuming they're both within range of each other, my Allarus SC now has 6 base attacks. Assuming he rolls a single hit roll of 6 for one of his attacks, he should be getting one additional hit from ASA and one additional attack to be rolled from PW. If I roll another 6 from the additional attack generated by PW, will that trigger another additional hit from ASA again, giving a total of 9 attacks? Would that extra generated hit not count as a generated extra attack as mentioned in PW?

   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





The another additional hit from ASA triggers. The extra hit is a result of ASA, It's not an additional attack, it's an extra hit generated for meeting the ASA trigger. You're still making only the one extra attack beyond your base attacks, you just scored two hits instead of one.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

I thought only one Warlord trait could be given to a character. Did that change?


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 DeathReaper wrote:
I thought only one Warlord trait could be given to a character. Did that change?

He is using an Allarus Shield Captain and a Vexilus Praetor. Two CHARACTERS, each with a Warlord Trait.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 BaconCatBug wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
I thought only one Warlord trait could be given to a character. Did that change?

He is using an Allarus Shield Captain and a Vexilus Praetor. Two CHARACTERS, each with a Warlord Trait.
Ahh, it seemed like he was talking about a single character. Nevermind then. Nothing to see here.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




 doctortom wrote:
The another additional hit from ASA triggers. The extra hit is a result of ASA, It's not an additional attack, it's an extra hit generated for meeting the ASA trigger. You're still making only the one extra attack beyond your base attacks, you just scored two hits instead of one.


Thanks, glad it sounds like I was right about my assumption on how all that works.

Another question, related to charging with the overwatch overhaul now:

If I have unit A 9" away from enemy unit B and unit C being 10" away, I declare a charge on both of them and roll a 9 on my charge roll, can unit A pile into combat with and fight both units B and C assuming the 3" pile in can be made and unit A can get into within 1" of unit C as a result?
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





You'll need to have at least 1 model on unit B,in the charge phase assuming that it's not exactly 10" to unit C. You'd be able to pile into either unit and attack if you're close enough, though. This is assuming that things don't change with charging and piling in with the new edition.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Awesome, thanks!
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: