Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/06/26 13:18:27
Subject: Discarding lowest result on dice roll BUT with doubles.
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
It might be a silly question, but it has been bugging me quite a time and i wanted to hear some opinions.
Lets take this rule .
I have seen various ways of using it. For most of people i have played with or saw playing it was like this - "Roll 2 dices and discard lowest one. If rolled double (i.e. 5 followed by another 5) discard one of them and proceed."
But i know some players that try to abide by this rule, meaning if rolled a double then double it is (i.e. 5 followed by another 5 becomes 10 on damage roll, because no lowest dice roll was made so nothing to discard).
I don't want to judge either of them but just want to hear your opininons and suggestions.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/06/26 13:20:13
Subject: Discarding lowest result on dice roll BUT with doubles.
|
 |
Never Forget Isstvan!
|
since nothing tells you to add the dice together, why would you?
You always discard one of the two dice.
|
JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/06/26 13:27:07
Subject: Discarding lowest result on dice roll BUT with doubles.
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Yes, i tried to ask something like this and got next reply - "But nothing tells you to discard one of them if neither one of dice rolls was lowest".
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/06/26 13:42:00
Subject: Discarding lowest result on dice roll BUT with doubles.
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Neo2Rus wrote:Yes, i tried to ask something like this and got next reply - "But nothing tells you to discard one of them if neither one of dice rolls was lowest".
If I have two numbers the same, they are both the lowest, so you discard "the lowest", which is either of the dice.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/06/26 13:48:40
Subject: Re:Discarding lowest result on dice roll BUT with doubles.
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
Its badly worded, as usual. When two dice show the same number there is no highest or lowest number, its the same. The rule should say to discard one dice. There is no way to tell if you discard one dice when both show the same number.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/06/26 13:52:52
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/06/26 14:03:10
Subject: Discarding lowest result on dice roll BUT with doubles.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Neo2Rus wrote:Yes, i tried to ask something like this and got next reply - "But nothing tells you to discard one of them if neither one of dice rolls was lowest".
You can always counter them with "The rule says to discard the lowest. Since both are the lowest, by RAW you have to discard both and therefore do no damage." That might get them to drop the nonsense about keeping both dice and adding them together for the damage.
.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/06/26 14:03:34
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/06/26 14:15:38
Subject: Discarding lowest result on dice roll BUT with doubles.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
If we want to get silly and into semantics, the RAW doesn't work. "Lowest" is the superlative of "low", "lower" is the comparative of "low". "Lowest" doesn't apply between two objects. "Roll 2 dice and discard the LOWER" is correct, for there to be a "lowest" there needs to be 3 or more.
Equally there is no lower number and no higher number when both are the same, so nothing should be discarded when rolling a double.
This is the same silliness as arguing over rolling a single "dice" rather than a single "die".
HWPI - if you roll a double, discard one of the dice.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/06/26 15:24:23
Subject: Discarding lowest result on dice roll BUT with doubles.
|
 |
Nurgle Chosen Marine on a Palanquin
|
Aash wrote:If we want to get silly and into semantics, the RAW doesn't work. "Lowest" is the superlative of "low", "lower" is the comparative of "low". "Lowest" doesn't apply between two objects. "Roll 2 dice and discard the LOWER" is correct, for there to be a "lowest" there needs to be 3 or more.
Equally there is no lower number and no higher number when both are the same, so nothing should be discarded when rolling a double.
This is the same silliness as arguing over rolling a single "dice" rather than a single "die".
HWPI - if you roll a double, discard one of the dice.
Be careful, British English and American English are slightly different, so I can't presume to assert my American grammer on British rules. However, f you have doubles, they are equally the highest, the lowest and the most average. If you have to drop one "dice" (so annoying, it was "die" when I was a kid), then either "idice" qualify as they are equally lowest. I really think GW has worked very hard in this edition to be unclear in their writing, its definitely deliberate.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/06/26 15:26:26
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/06/26 15:52:23
Subject: Discarding lowest result on dice roll BUT with doubles.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Sazzlefrats wrote:Aash wrote:If we want to get silly and into semantics, the RAW doesn't work. "Lowest" is the superlative of "low", "lower" is the comparative of "low". "Lowest" doesn't apply between two objects. "Roll 2 dice and discard the LOWER" is correct, for there to be a "lowest" there needs to be 3 or more.
Equally there is no lower number and no higher number when both are the same, so nothing should be discarded when rolling a double.
This is the same silliness as arguing over rolling a single "dice" rather than a single "die".
HWPI - if you roll a double, discard one of the dice.
Be careful, British English and American English are slightly different, so I can't presume to assert my American grammer on British rules. However, f you have doubles, they are equally the highest, the lowest and the most average. If you have to drop one "dice" (so annoying, it was "die" when I was a kid), then either "idice" qualify as they are equally lowest. I really think GW has worked very hard in this edition to be unclear in their writing, its definitely deliberate.
Actually it says to discard the lowest result, not the lowest (die or dice).
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/06/26 18:22:23
Subject: Discarding lowest result on dice roll BUT with doubles.
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
BaconCatBug wrote:Neo2Rus wrote:Yes, i tried to ask something like this and got next reply - "But nothing tells you to discard one of them if neither one of dice rolls was lowest".
If I have two numbers the same, they are both the lowest, so you discard "the lowest", which is either of the dice.
Whilst this isn’t correct in its logic or by RAW (as neither is lowest by definition) I agree HIWPI is you’d discard either of the dice. No need to reroll and you don’t discard both.
|
Stormonu wrote:For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/06/26 19:24:41
Subject: Discarding lowest result on dice roll BUT with doubles.
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
JohnnyHell wrote: BaconCatBug wrote:Neo2Rus wrote:Yes, i tried to ask something like this and got next reply - "But nothing tells you to discard one of them if neither one of dice rolls was lowest".
If I have two numbers the same, they are both the lowest, so you discard "the lowest", which is either of the dice. Whilst this isn’t correct in its logic or by RAW (as neither is lowest by definition) I agree HIWPI is you’d discard either of the dice. No need to reroll and you don’t discard both.
I have 2 fives, I discard one of the fives. Have I discarded "the lowest"? Yes, I have. "The lowest" doesn't indicate singularity. Much like if I had two apples, and was told to discard an apple, I can discard either of them to satisfy the rule.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/06/26 19:25:00
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/06/26 21:02:17
Subject: Discarding lowest result on dice roll BUT with doubles.
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
It’s not like your apples (telling you to discard “the reddest apple” might be a better analogy if one was needed, which it isn’t), and “the lowest” quite literally is singular by any yardstick. This word twisting of yours isn’t relevant though. I’ve given my stance and we agree on how to play it. Leave it there and move on.
|
Stormonu wrote:For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/06/27 03:58:44
Subject: Discarding lowest result on dice roll BUT with doubles.
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Singular fact of rule: roll 2 discard 1.
The 1 to discard is further defined, but neither meet that definition.
End result: still discard one by RAW.
Reasoning: RAW has a discard, RAW never has an add, while RAW cannot be normally met(no lowest, nor highest), there are no other rules in play other than a discard.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/06/27 04:56:12
Subject: Discarding lowest result on dice roll BUT with doubles.
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
Kommissar Kel wrote:Singular fact of rule: roll 2 discard 1.
The 1 to discard is further defined, but neither meet that definition.
End result: still discard one by RAW.
Reasoning: RAW has a discard, RAW never has an add, while RAW cannot be normally met(no lowest, nor highest), there are no other rules in play other than a discard.
The core rules tell us to add the results together, when we roll multiple dice :
Warhammer 40,000 uses
six-sided dice, sometimes
abbreviated to D6. Some
rules refer to 2D6, 3D6
and so on – in such cases,
roll that many D6s and
add the results together.
When two or more dice show the same number there is no highest or lowest, thus you add them together, and thats the damage.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/06/27 07:38:27
Subject: Discarding lowest result on dice roll BUT with doubles.
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
p5freak wrote: Kommissar Kel wrote:Singular fact of rule: roll 2 discard 1.
The 1 to discard is further defined, but neither meet that definition.
End result: still discard one by RAW.
Reasoning: RAW has a discard, RAW never has an add, while RAW cannot be normally met(no lowest, nor highest), there are no other rules in play other than a discard.
The core rules tell us to add the results together, when we roll multiple dice :
Warhammer 40,000 uses
six-sided dice, sometimes
abbreviated to D6. Some
rules refer to 2D6, 3D6
and so on – in such cases,
roll that many D6s and
add the results together.
When two or more dice show the same number there is no highest or lowest, thus you add them together, and thats the damage.
Except it does not say to roll 2D6 or 3D6...
It says "roll two dice when inflicting damage with it and discard the lowest result."
It does not say to roll 2d6...
So what you posted does not even apply.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/06/27 09:03:16
Subject: Discarding lowest result on dice roll BUT with doubles.
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
DeathReaper wrote:
Except it does not say to roll 2D6 or 3D6...
It says "roll two dice when inflicting damage with it and discard the lowest result."
It does not say to roll 2d6...
So what you posted does not even apply.
OMG, you are right  Next time i will roll two D20 and discard the lowest result
No, wait. The core rules actually say to use D6. So you roll 2D6.
Warhammer 40,000 uses
six-sided dice, sometimes
abbreviated to D6.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2020/06/27 09:05:19
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/06/27 09:23:31
Subject: Discarding lowest result on dice roll BUT with doubles.
|
 |
Horrific Hive Tyrant
|
You are conflating two separate rolls performed simultaneously of a d6 with a roll of 2d6. Easy mistake.
Or should we start adding fast rolled hit rolls together?
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2020/06/27 09:24:13
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/06/27 09:41:38
Subject: Discarding lowest result on dice roll BUT with doubles.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
The ruins of the Palace of Thorns
|
Rolling 2d6 is not the same as rolling two d6s.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/06/27 10:54:34
Subject: Discarding lowest result on dice roll BUT with doubles.
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
Stux wrote:You are conflating two separate rolls performed simultaneously of a d6 with a roll of 2d6. Easy mistake.
OMG, yes, this makes me look like a bloody beginner
Stux wrote:
Or should we start adding fast rolled hit rolls together?
Oh no, have we been playing this all wrong, all the time ?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/06/27 11:28:20
Subject: Discarding lowest result on dice roll BUT with doubles.
|
 |
Horrific Hive Tyrant
|
p5freak wrote: Stux wrote:You are conflating two separate rolls performed simultaneously of a d6 with a roll of 2d6. Easy mistake.
OMG, yes, this makes me look like a bloody beginner
Stux wrote:
Or should we start adding fast rolled hit rolls together?
Oh no, have we been playing this all wrong, all the time ?
Is this just directionless sarcasm or is there a point you are trying to make here?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/06/27 13:05:43
Subject: Discarding lowest result on dice roll BUT with doubles.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
At this point it seems the likelihood of any thread of YMDC descending into utterly unaware parody is very close to 1 and that chance increases with the number of posts and increases even more so once certain posters get involved.
FWIW, as far as the OP goes here it seems the best solution is to discard one of the dice. We can debate semantics all day long but the essence of the rule is telling you to discard the worst result so when two are equally bad it doesn't matter which you discard. The only other possible alternative is the game grinds to a halt because there is no "lowest". I don't agree with that interpretation anyway but even if I did agree there's no lowest I don't see how you can recommend ending up with an unresolvable game state.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/06/27 17:53:29
Subject: Discarding lowest result on dice roll BUT with doubles.
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
p5freak wrote: DeathReaper wrote: Except it does not say to roll 2D6 or 3D6... It says "roll two dice when inflicting damage with it and discard the lowest result." It does not say to roll 2d6... So what you posted does not even apply. OMG, you are right  Next time i will roll two D20 and discard the lowest result No, wait. The core rules actually say to use D6. So you roll 2D6. Warhammer 40,000 uses six-sided dice, sometimes abbreviated to D6.
Who said anything about d20? Tou roll two dice, you do not roll 2D6 Rolling two hit rolls at once does not magically make you add the numbers together. you need to be instructed to roll 2D6 or 3D6 to add them together. Rolling two dice is not the same.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/06/27 17:53:46
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/06/27 18:07:08
Subject: Re:Discarding lowest result on dice roll BUT with doubles.
|
 |
Imperial Guard Landspeeder Pilot
On moon miranda.
|
I think the OP's question has been answered at this point.
|
IRON WITHIN, IRON WITHOUT.
New Heavy Gear Log! Also...Grey Knights!
The correct pronunciation is Imperial Guard and Stormtroopers, "Astra Militarum" and "Tempestus Scions" are something you'll find at Hogwarts. |
|
 |
 |
|