Switch Theme:

Can death jesters shoot in combat aboard a starweaver?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Been Around the Block




At the moment, unless I'm missing sth, it appears that DJ's embarked on starweavers could shoot at the unit(s) the starweaver is within engagement range of... in fact... do you guys think that they could even allocate their ranged attack to another unit hoping the starweaver wipes out the unit(s) within engagement range of it (or viceversa)?

This is because, unlike raiders and venoms, starweavers weren't FAQed. I'm talking RAW... because I genuinely don't think this is the intention.

In fact, I'm thinking that regular clowns could throw grenades too... or a shadowseer fire its hallucinogen grenade launcher in the same situation
[Thumb - Starweaver.png]
Starweaver open topped rule

[Thumb - Big guns never tire.png]
Big guns never tire

[Thumb - Raiders n Venoms.png]
Raiders n Venoms FAQ

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/07/18 16:42:43


 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






A permission is not a "restriction or modifier".
   
Made in gb
Been Around the Block




That makes sense to me
   
Made in se
Longtime Dakkanaut





So the models inside are not in engagement range. The models inside are allowed to attack in the shooting phase.

Harlequins have not gotten the above errata saying they can not shoot whilst the vehicle is engagement range. The vehicle itself has a restriction saying they can only fire at the unit they are engaged with, so then all guns, including assault weapons have just that restriction.

the harlequin open top does have a non-longer valid example in their rules text referencing a restriction that could be placed on them in 8th edition.

At least RAW... i think intent is still only pistols...

As an aside, as "infinite" rolls is actually impossible even if the FAQ "allows" it, then it will always be a non-zero chance to pass them all. Eventually the two players will die. If they pass the game on to their decendents, they too will eventually die. And, at the end of it all, the universe will experience heat death and it, too, will die. In the instance of "infinite" hits, we're talking more of functional infinity, rather than literal.

RAW you can't pass the game onto descendants, permissive ruleset. Unless we get an FAQ from GW.
 
   
Made in us
Never Forget Isstvan!






I would atm still allow them to fire pistols because of the open topped rule, however, the passengers themselves wouldn't be able to target the unit engaged to the vehicle because no units are allowed to shoot into other engaged units.


They could however pop off their shots at a unit not engaged and still in range.

It is likely this needs a further FAQ or errata though.

JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG 
   
Made in se
Longtime Dakkanaut





 Eihnlazer wrote:
I would atm still allow them to fire pistols because of the open topped rule, however, the passengers themselves wouldn't be able to target the unit engaged to the vehicle because no units are allowed to shoot into other engaged units.


They could however pop off their shots at a unit not engaged and still in range.

It is likely this needs a further FAQ or errata though.


Vehicles can,,, and it is a restriction... so i would argue the opposite, you can ONLY fire at the unit your vehicle is engaged with. at least RAW... HWIP is that only pistols work because of the errata on other open topped vehicles.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/07/19 08:32:38


As an aside, as "infinite" rolls is actually impossible even if the FAQ "allows" it, then it will always be a non-zero chance to pass them all. Eventually the two players will die. If they pass the game on to their decendents, they too will eventually die. And, at the end of it all, the universe will experience heat death and it, too, will die. In the instance of "infinite" hits, we're talking more of functional infinity, rather than literal.

RAW you can't pass the game onto descendants, permissive ruleset. Unless we get an FAQ from GW.
 
   
Made in gb
Been Around the Block




I think BCB clarified it quite well. Units embarked upon open topped transports are subject to the same restrictions as the transport when it comes to shooting. If the transport is within engagement range of any enemy units, it can only shoot at said enemy units. That's a permission, not a restriction, so the embarked models can't shoot at any other unit, be it within engagement range of the transport or not. I reckon this is quite convoluted, which is the reason the raiders and venoms were FAQed. Issue here is that GW appear to have forgotten at the examples I posted in my initial message for harlequins, which leads to confusion.
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






 BaconCatBug wrote:
A permission is not a "restriction or modifier".


To further clarify this correct answer:

The Transport is still under the general restriction against firing while in Engagement Range, Big Guns Never Tire is just a special rule that permits the vehicle to fire(which nothing in the starweaver rules transfer to the embarked unit).


This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: