Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/10/06 12:51:25
Subject: Clavacus vs da jump?
|
 |
Liche Priest Hierophant
|
Clavacus prevents deepstrike. Does it also deny da jump that orks use?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/10/06 13:23:35
Subject: Clavacus vs da jump?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I'm going off memory here, but here's what you can check against. My understanding is that the GSC Clamavus prevents models from being "set up" within 12 inches of him, and that Da Jump and other similar abilities say to remove the unit from the board and set them back up on the battlefield. That "set up" is the key word. The Clamavus prevents that.
|
Galef wrote:If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/10/06 13:43:22
Subject: Re:Clavacus vs da jump?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Clamavus says "Enemy units that are set up on the battlefield as reinforcements cannot be set up within 12" of this model...".
Da Jump says "...[pick a unit]. Remove that unit from the battlefield, and then set it up anywhere on the battlefield more than 9" away from enemy units".
Unless anyone wants to argue that the orks are being set up, but are not being set up as reinforcements, then I think it is clear that the Clamavus stops Da Jump from working within his area of influence.
|
8930 points 6800 points 75 points 600 points
2810 points 5740 points 2650 points 3275 points
55 points 640 points 1840 points 435 points
2990 points 700 points 2235 points 1935 points
3460 points 1595 points 2480 points 2895 points
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/10/06 13:57:32
Subject: Re:Clavacus vs da jump?
|
 |
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest
|
Bilge Rat wrote:Clamavus says "Enemy units that are set up on the battlefield as reinforcements cannot be set up within 12" of this model...".
Da Jump says "...[pick a unit]. Remove that unit from the battlefield, and then set it up anywhere on the battlefield more than 9" away from enemy units".
Unless anyone wants to argue that the orks are being set up, but are not being set up as reinforcements, then I think it is clear that the Clamavus stops Da Jump from working within his area of influence.
I would actually argue that - otherwise, why mention reinforcements at all? If I'm not mistaken, this would also allow the Necrons' Veil of Darkness to set up inside 12" too.
|
"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/10/06 13:59:26
Subject: Clavacus vs da jump?
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
In 8th, it stopped Da Jump. In 9th, Reinforcements is explicitly defined as only those "units [that] have a rule that allows them to start the battle in a location other than on the battlefield; units that use such rules are called Reinforcements", and only occur during the Reinforcements step of the Movement Phase, so in 9th the Clavacus rule does not stop Da Jump as that occurs in the Psychic Phase.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/10/06 13:59:42
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/10/06 14:05:56
Subject: Clavacus vs da jump?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
BaconCatBug wrote:In 8th, it stopped Da Jump.
In 9th, Reinforcements is explicitly defined as only those "units [that] have a rule that allows them to start the battle in a location other than on the battlefield; units that use such rules are called Reinforcements", and only occur during the Reinforcements step of the Movement Phase, so in 9th the Clavacus rule does not stop Da Jump as that occurs in the Psychic Phase.
gotta disagree here.
In the Rare Rules Section (p363) under Repositioned and Replacements it says 'Rules that are triggered by or apply to units that are 'set up on the battlefiled as reinforcements' are also triggered by and apply to that unit when it is set up.
As such if you can't set up from reinforcements within 12" you can't reploy to within 12" either.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/10/06 14:25:18
Subject: Clavacus vs da jump?
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Cornishman wrote: BaconCatBug wrote:In 8th, it stopped Da Jump.
In 9th, Reinforcements is explicitly defined as only those "units [that] have a rule that allows them to start the battle in a location other than on the battlefield; units that use such rules are called Reinforcements", and only occur during the Reinforcements step of the Movement Phase, so in 9th the Clavacus rule does not stop Da Jump as that occurs in the Psychic Phase.
gotta disagree here.
In the Rare Rules Section (p363) under Repositioned and Replacements it says 'Rules that are triggered by or apply to units that are 'set up on the battlefiled as reinforcements' are also triggered by and apply to that unit when it is set up.
As such if you can't set up from reinforcements within 12" you can't reploy to within 12" either.
Fair point, I had missed that. So yeah, the Clavacus does stop this in 9th. My bad!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/10/06 14:51:56
Subject: Clavacus vs da jump?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Does this also apply when disembarking from a transport?
“When a unit disembarks, set it up on the battlefield...” BRB of 211.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/10/06 14:56:45
Subject: Clavacus vs da jump?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Aash wrote:Does this also apply when disembarking from a transport? “When a unit disembarks, set it up on the battlefield...” BRB of 211. I'd say no as it only applies to reinforcements and to units being repositioned. However, if you bring a transport on as a reinforcement, then try to disembark within 12" in a later turn, the disembarking models "technically" count as reinforcements as it is the first turn in which they are set up on the battlefield. This would technically mean that if Clavacus beats a transport to death that came on from reserves, the unit inside cannot deploy so is destroyed. This is also a rare occasion where we can all be pretty certain that it's not how it was supposed to work  
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/10/06 14:57:05
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/10/06 16:20:48
Subject: Clavacus vs da jump?
|
 |
Liche Priest Hierophant
|
some bloke wrote:Aash wrote:Does this also apply when disembarking from a transport?
“When a unit disembarks, set it up on the battlefield...” BRB of 211.
I'd say no as it only applies to reinforcements and to units being repositioned.
However, if you bring a transport on as a reinforcement, then try to disembark within 12" in a later turn, the disembarking models "technically" count as reinforcements as it is the first turn in which they are set up on the battlefield.
This would technically mean that if Clavacus beats a transport to death that came on from reserves, the unit inside cannot deploy so is destroyed.
This is also a rare occasion where we can all be pretty certain that it's not how it was supposed to work   
Weeeeell, there is a stratagem that increases his aura to 15. And a warlordtrait that increases auraes by 3. So that is 18" range. Use lying in wait to sett up within 3". Now you can shoot them transports dead! A radius if 36" circle of death!
But clavmagus denying aura might work well vs da jump. 15" should cover most things
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/10/07 15:58:58
Subject: Clavacus vs da jump?
|
 |
Liche Priest Hierophant
|
Removed - Rule #1 please
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/10/07 16:05:56
|
|
 |
 |
|