Switch Theme:

Some Rules Clarifications Please - GK Orientated  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Shunting Grey Knight Interceptor





Hello brothers,

Please can you help clarify these rules for a new to 40k player:

1) Can a transport advance? If so, can it pop smoke? If so and is behind cover, with the Tide of Convergence will it benefit from -2 to hit?

I reckon it can advance and smoke and will only benefit from -1 due to the new rules, but if a unit shoots it that has a +1 to hit mod, then the -1 (from smoke) can come into effect, resulting in a still -1 to hit.

2) Can a character behind a friendly unit (where both character and unit are in charge range of a target) also charge the same target as the unit in front of it? If not, can the character charge first, going through the friendly unit in front?

I reckon if the unit charges (and makes it), due to coherency, there will be no space for the character to get into B2B (which kinda sucks), but if the character can charge through the friendly, then it can pile in to either side, making room for the other unit.

3) How many litanies can a GK Chaplain know and cast?

I reckon it knows the default and can pick one other to know (from RotD), but can only cast one.

4) Regarding litany "Invocation of Focus", it can affect a unit within 6", but is it only a 'model' in that unit that can benefit from the -1AP (kinda sucks too), or every model with a psi weapon (I see that includes Nemesis weapons too, so your answer would apply here too).

I reckon only 1 model..

5) Not a rules question, but where can I find out what weapons I can put on a Dreadnought? Sorry am new to this and quite baffled by the codex, it's errata, RotD, its errata, rulebook, its errata and chapter approved (assuming it has an errata) which I don't have..and the GT rules pack (errata'ed?)!

Thanks.
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

KSpen wrote:
1) Can a transport advance? If so, can it pop smoke? If so and is behind cover, with the Tide of Convergence will it benefit from -2 to hit?
I reckon it can advance and smoke and will only benefit from -1 due to the new rules, but if a unit shoots it that has a +1 to hit mod, then the -1 (from smoke) can come into effect, resulting in a still -1 to hit.

Completely correct. Transports are still units, units can advance and there's nothing else to say transports are specifically prevented from advancing. You've worked out the rest correctly, too.

2) Can a character behind a friendly unit (where both character and unit are in charge range of a target) also charge the same target as the unit in front of it? If not, can the character charge first, going through the friendly unit in front?
I reckon if the unit charges (and makes it), due to coherency, there will be no space for the character to get into B2B (which kinda sucks), but if the character can charge through the friendly, then it can pile in to either side, making room for the other unit.

Mostly correct - two things to bear in mind when you charge. One is that you don't have to make it into base contact, only a single model needs to make it into Engagement Range. You also no longer have to take the shortest route available for any of the charging models. That means if you roll high enough, you can purposely pincer round the side or even to the back of the unit, leaving room for that character to charge in too. And again, that character only needs to make it into Engagement Range, not base contact.
At no point during this do you have permission to move through other models - even in the exception cases like Harlequin flip belts, you aren't allowed to finish that move on top of another model, so it's not exactly practical in most multi-charge situations.

3) How many litanies can a GK Chaplain know and cast?
I reckon it knows the default and can pick one other to know (from RotD), but can only cast one.

I haven't got RotD, but the updated Chaplain datasheet should tell you. It sounds like you're correct from how other Chaplains now work.

4) Regarding litany "Invocation of Focus", it can affect a unit within 6", but is it only a 'model' in that unit that can benefit from the -1AP (kinda sucks too), or every model with a psi weapon (I see that includes Nemesis weapons too, so your answer would apply here too).
I reckon only 1 model..

The way I read it, this should apply to every Nemesis/psi weapon used in an attack from that unit. I can see the confusion, though.
Bear in mind that the litany lasts for the battle round. So how this works is, whenever you make an attack from the unit you chose, you check the litany to see if that attack meets the criteria. If it does, the litany applies.

5) Not a rules question, but where can I find out what weapons I can put on a Dreadnought? Sorry am new to this and quite baffled by the codex, it's errata, RotD, its errata, rulebook, its errata and chapter approved (assuming it has an errata) which I don't have..and the GT rules pack (errata'ed?)!

This is always going to be on a datasheet. You generally want the latest datasheet released, but in practice, the weapon options available don't tend to change much as they'll match what's available in the model box anyway (with the exception of much older models that are no longer sold).
In this case, RotD and its errata were the latest release - if there was no Dreadnought datasheet in there, then the one in the Codex (and its errata) is still most recent.
Chapter Approved should I believe only ever change the points costs for those weapons, not the actual options themselves.

Thanks.

You're welcome.

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in ca
Pestilent Plague Marine with Blight Grenade





The Frozen North

1) Only psykers benefit from Psychic Tides. The rest is accurate.

3) A Grey Knights Chaplain knows Litany of Hate, and two other litanies.

Triggerbaby wrote:In summary, here's your lunch and ask Miss Creaver if she has aloe lotion because I have taken you to school and you have been burned.

Abadabadoobaddon wrote:I too can prove pretty much any assertion I please if I don't count all the evidence that contradicts it.
 
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

 MinMax wrote:
1) Only psykers benefit from Psychic Tides. The rest is accurate.

Did I miss this in an FAQ, or Psychic Awakening, or something? What I'm seeing shows that you only need to have the Grey Knights keyword to benefit (and Servitors are specifically called out as excluded).
Also, I realised that the question actually refers to Tide of Shadows, rather than Tide of Convergence which was mentioned.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/10/14 20:27:17


"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






All Grey Knights are psykers other than Servitors anyway.
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

...except for, y'know, transports - which is kinda the point of the question...
Much as they might be driven by a psyker in fluff, that's not reflected in the rules.

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in gb
Shunting Grey Knight Interceptor





My apologies, for 1) I did mean Tide of Shadows.

It seems like as long as the army is battle forged 'units' will benefit from the tides. The rules for 'Masters of the warp' specifically excludes servitors, but does not mention vehicles or non-psykers. Am I safe to assume a Rhino in cover that is part of a battle forged army, thus complies with 'Masters of the warp' rule, will benefit from -1 to hit (and +! to save) if in cover when in the Tide of Shadows?

Thanks
   
Made in ca
Pestilent Plague Marine with Blight Grenade





The Frozen North

 Super Ready wrote:
 MinMax wrote:
1) Only psykers benefit from Psychic Tides. The rest is accurate.

Did I miss this in an FAQ, or Psychic Awakening, or something? What I'm seeing shows that you only need to have the Grey Knights keyword to benefit (and Servitors are specifically called out as excluded).
Also, I realised that the question actually refers to Tide of Shadows, rather than Tide of Convergence which was mentioned.
Page 66 – Masters of the Warp
Change the first sentence to read:
Psyker units with this ability gain a bonus depending on which of the Tides of the Warp is dominant (see below).’

From the Ritual of the Damned FAQ. It was a big deal at the time, specifically because of the implications for Transports. They raised our hopes and dashed them quite expertly.
 BaconCatBug wrote:
All Grey Knights are psykers other than Servitors anyway.

...

Triggerbaby wrote:In summary, here's your lunch and ask Miss Creaver if she has aloe lotion because I have taken you to school and you have been burned.

Abadabadoobaddon wrote:I too can prove pretty much any assertion I please if I don't count all the evidence that contradicts it.
 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Yes, yes, I forgot the non-Vehicle part, my mistake!
   
Made in gb
Shunting Grey Knight Interceptor





Thanks to clarify and pointing out the FAQ.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: