Switch Theme:

Ultramarines Warlord Trait - "Adept of the Codex" and refunding CPs  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

Hi all - what's your take on this Warlord trait and how it works? From the new Marine Codex. The text is:

While this Warlord is on the battlefield, each time you spend a Command point to use a Stratagem you can roll one D6: on a 5+, that Command point is refunded.

This is easy enough for strats that cost 1CP, but I'm unsure as to how this works when using a 2 or 3 CP strat. The way I see it, it could work one of a few ways:

- you're only allowed to use this trait when using a Stratagem that costs *a* Command point, so it doesn't trigger on 2 and 3 CP costs;
- you can use the strat, but you're only allowed to roll *one* single D6, and so only refund one CP;
- each Command point spent for the strat counts as a separate instance that triggers the strat, so you roll as many dice as the strat cost, and each individual one counts as a single CP refunded.

That last option seems most logical to me, because the other two would make more sense if the trait were worded differently. However, if that's the case it seems pretty OP, especially when you consider the power of the more expensive strats like Orbital Bombardment.

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

Last one. Mind any caveats your game mode has about maximum CPs refunded per Battle Round though.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 Super Ready wrote:
Hi all - what's your take on this Warlord trait and how it works? From the new Marine Codex. The text is:

While this Warlord is on the battlefield, each time you spend a Command point to use a Stratagem you can roll one D6: on a 5+, that Command point is refunded.

This is easy enough for strats that cost 1CP, but I'm unsure as to how this works when using a 2 or 3 CP strat. The way I see it, it could work one of a few ways:

- you're only allowed to use this trait when using a Stratagem that costs *a* Command point, so it doesn't trigger on 2 and 3 CP costs;
- you can use the strat, but you're only allowed to roll *one* single D6, and so only refund one CP;
- each Command point spent for the strat counts as a separate instance that triggers the strat, so you roll as many dice as the strat cost, and each individual one counts as a single CP refunded.

That last option seems most logical to me, because the other two would make more sense if the trait were worded differently. However, if that's the case it seems pretty OP, especially when you consider the power of the more expensive strats like Orbital Bombardment.
You roll 1 dice per CP used. You are, however, limited as to how many CP you can regenerate this way (as it's not a stratagem), so even if you use a 3CP stratagem then roll three 6's, you only get 1 CP back.
   
Made in us
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard





 BaconCatBug wrote:
You are, however, limited as to how many CP you can regenerate this way (as it's not a stratagem), so even if you use a 3CP stratagem then roll three 6's, you only get 1 CP back.


Bascially you get 3 chances to refund the 1 CP.

My WHFB armies were Bretonians and Tomb Kings. 
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

Oh, of course... forgot about the 1CP refund limit. Thanks all!

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: