Switch Theme:

Stealthy and Weapons denying cover  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Eternally-Stimulated Slaanesh Dreadnought





UK

This is probably a very old question considering how long Stealthy has been around but...

If you have a unit out in the open with Stealthy then it has the benefit of acting as if it has a cover save from shooting more than 12" away from it.

So it gets shot by a lascannon or blast weapon it can take a cover save.

But if it gets shot by a weapon that says it denies cover (or using a trait that denies cover) does that mean that the unit cannot then use its cover save?

I'm probably going to a very short easy answer to this...

   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

Rare Rules on page 360 of the big Core book covers this. Two things to point out from there:

- if a rule tells you that a model or unit gains the benefit of cover, without specifying what that benefit is, then it's considered to be within Light Cover - so in most cases, and I think Stealthy is included here, it no longer actually gives you a cover save. Instead, it adds 1 to armour Save rolls (not invulnerable) from ranged attacks. So straight out of the gate, if you don't already have an armour Save? It does nothing for you.

- rules that state they ignore cover vary a bit depending on exactly what that rule says, but whatever that rule says, it affects rules like Stealthy that grant cover as well. One of the examples given, for instance, is:
"If a rule says that the target 'does not receive the benefit of cover to its saving throw', then, when resolving an attack with that rule, the models in the target unit ignore all benefits received from terrain traits that improve its saving throw (e.g. Light Cover, Heavy Cover)."
The other main point is that if a rule says the target doesn't get the benefit of cover, without specifying that any further - then it affects all benefits of cover.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/10/21 10:56:17


"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in gb
Eternally-Stimulated Slaanesh Dreadnought





UK

Thanks. i just needed that confirmed
   
Made in us
Nurgle Chosen Marine on a Palanquin





Livermore, Ca

 Super Ready wrote:

The other main point is that if a rule says the target doesn't get the benefit of cover, without specifying that any further - then it affects all benefits of cover.


Does that include obscuring? So if you had an ability like "Tau Multi-Spectrum Senor Suite" you can see right through a wall to shoot someone?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/10/21 15:36:05


 
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

Good question - the part of Obscuring that blocks line of sight, isn't a benefit because models don't need to be within 3" of it (and meet the other terrain criteria, such as being Infantry) in order for that part of Obscuring rules to apply.
The same can be said of Exposed Position, as an example - whose only rule is to further define when models on or in the terrain in question can receive the benefits of cover. It'd be a bit silly for that rule to be a benefit itself.

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in us
Nurgle Chosen Marine on a Palanquin





Livermore, Ca

 Super Ready wrote:
Good question - the part of Obscuring that blocks line of sight, isn't a benefit because models don't need to be within 3" of it (and meet the other terrain criteria, such as being Infantry) in order for that part of Obscuring rules to apply.
The same can be said of Exposed Position, as an example - whose only rule is to further define when models on or in the terrain in question can receive the benefits of cover. It'd be a bit silly for that rule to be a benefit itself.


Obscuring is safe then, I assume then Dense Cover (-1) is also safe from being denied?


   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

That's how I interpret it, yes. Since it's measured by line of sight being drawn through the terrain, again without the unit needing to even be within 3" of it.

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: