DeZver wrote:Hello!
I can't truly understand rules wording in the 9th edition about stratagems and detachments. Are stratagems part of detachment abilities? And can I use it for auxiliary detachment? I remember that in the 8th edition these detachments did not give access to stratagems, but in the 9th edition it is not clear.
For example: if I use patrol detachment
DG and auxiliary support detachment with Typhus, can I use strategems on Typhus? They all have
DG keyword e.t.c.
Thank you a lot for your answers!
How you unlock stratagems is detailed in the respective codex for your army. The majority of codexes will prohibit Auxiliary Support Detachments from unlocking stratagems.
However, you can USE stratagems on any unit that is legal to use the stratagem on, regardless of what detachment they are in. In your example, the Patrol is unlocking the stratagems, so you can use any legal stratagem you've unlocked via that Patrol on Typhus just fine.
Also, keep in mind that the majority of stratagems also don't care about the subfaction. A T'au example: If you have a Patrol of Vio'la Tau and an ASD of a
Sa'cea unit, you still unlock the
Sa'cea stratagems via the Vio'la patrol.
Also, also keep in mind that some stratagems like Agents of Vect have been errata'd to only work if you have a model with the correct subfaction on the battlefield. In this case, having a FLAYED SKULL Patrol and a ASD of KABAL OF THE BLACK HEART Warriors will still unlock Agents of Vect, but you can't use the stratagem unless you have the KABAL OF THE BLACK HEART unit on the battlefield.