Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/10/26 23:53:44
Subject: Reivers Charging with Grapnel Launcher
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
if in the reinforcement step of the game I drop reivers on top of a building 9" diagonally away from my enemy minimum so as to abide by the rules of setting reinforcments but then declare a charge against a unit that is on the ground 9" away diagonally but only say 5 inches away horizontally .... with the grapnel launcher, letting me not count the vertical distance I move, allow me to make a 5" successful charge? It works like fly but it is different because you have to pay 2 points per model for them. the ability says "when the bearers unit makes a normal move, advances of falls back do not count vertical distance " I does not say when it charges but a charge is not an advance so isn't it a normal move? I does not say it is not a normal move but it doest say it is. Cause frankly I dont see any reason to take the grapnel launcher if thins doesn't work .... thoughts ? I know this was legal in early 8th and there was an FAQ that I think said it was legal but those FAQ are gone now and they did not address this issue.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/10/27 00:13:49
Subject: Reivers Charging with Grapnel Launcher
|
 |
Horrific Hive Tyrant
|
It worked in early 8e, then they FAQd it and it stopped working.
A charge is not a normal move, an advance, or a fall back. Therefore you cannot use the ability while charging.
Yes, Reivers are unfortunately still in a fairly poor place.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/10/27 00:18:26
Subject: Reivers Charging with Grapnel Launcher
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Grapnel Launchers only work for Normal Move, Advance, or Fall Back. A Charge is none of those things, thus Grapnel Launchers do not apply to charge moves.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/10/27 00:29:07
Subject: Reivers Charging with Grapnel Launcher
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
thanks guys .... I'm like why would I take these guys over blood claws LOL I guess with the determination you provided .... only reason would be to save 1CP to put them in deep strike and .... there are two stratagems for them now
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/10/27 00:42:41
Subject: Re:Reivers Charging with Grapnel Launcher
|
 |
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest
|
Completely outside of Reivers and the grapnel guns - you can still, currently, take advantage of a vertical difference and that 9" bubble, because charges only require you to get within Engagement Range to be successful. Remember that Engagement Range is 5" vertically, so if you can close that gap horizontally you'll find you don't need a 9" charge roll to make it...
I expect this to get FAQed at some point, mind.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/10/27 00:43:18
"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/10/27 00:43:02
Subject: Reivers Charging with Grapnel Launcher
|
 |
Horrific Hive Tyrant
|
Vizzin72 wrote:thanks guys .... I'm like why would I take these guys over blood claws LOL I guess with the determination you provided .... only reason would be to save 1CP to put them in deep strike and .... there are two stratagems for them now
People have been asking that question for 3 years now... Automatically Appended Next Post: Super Ready wrote:Completely outside of Reivers and the grapnel guns - you can still, currently, take advantage of a vertical difference and that 9" bubble, because charges only require you to get within Engagement Range to be successful. Remember that Engagement Range is 5" vertically, so if you can close that gap horizontally you'll find you don't need a 9" charge roll to make it...
I expect this to get FAQed at some point, mind.
Yes, though bare in mind that withe elevation involved you dont necessarily move in a straight line when charging. You may lose movement ascending or depending still.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/10/27 00:44:29
|
|
 |
 |
|