Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/12/02 20:05:00
Subject: Performing actions and abilities
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Can a chapter master use its chapter master ability or can a tech marine use its Blessing of the Omnissiah with out causing an action they are performing to fail?
|
As an aside, as "infinite" rolls is actually impossible even if the FAQ "allows" it, then it will always be a non-zero chance to pass them all. Eventually the two players will die. If they pass the game on to their decendents, they too will eventually die. And, at the end of it all, the universe will experience heat death and it, too, will die. In the instance of "infinite" hits, we're talking more of functional infinity, rather than literal.
RAW you can't pass the game onto descendants, permissive ruleset. Unless we get an FAQ from GW. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/12/02 20:24:54
Subject: Performing actions and abilities
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Type40 wrote:Can a chapter master use its chapter master ability or can a tech marine use its Blessing of the Omnissiah with out causing an action they are performing to fail?
Actions only fail if a unit does a very specific set of actions. BRB, Page 258 wrote:If a unit is destroyed, makes a Normal Move, Advances, Falls Back, attempts to manifest a psychic power, declares a charge, performs a Heroic Intervention or makes any attacks with ranged weapons after it has started to perform an action but before that action is completed, that action is failed. A CHARACTER unit cannot use any aura abilities while it is performing an action (if the action is failed, their aura abilities immediately take effect again).
Using a non-aura ability doesn't cause the action to fail, and neither the Chapter Master or Blessing of the ToasterGod ability are auras both by definition and the fact that auras are now explicitly labelled as such.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/12/02 20:25:55
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/12/02 20:48:02
Subject: Performing actions and abilities
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Thank you  , just wanted to be sure
|
As an aside, as "infinite" rolls is actually impossible even if the FAQ "allows" it, then it will always be a non-zero chance to pass them all. Eventually the two players will die. If they pass the game on to their decendents, they too will eventually die. And, at the end of it all, the universe will experience heat death and it, too, will die. In the instance of "infinite" hits, we're talking more of functional infinity, rather than literal.
RAW you can't pass the game onto descendants, permissive ruleset. Unless we get an FAQ from GW. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/12/08 04:04:51
Subject: Re:Performing actions and abilities
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
So tacking on to the same topic... does "Deny the witch" count as "manifesting a psycic power"? Or can you deny the witch while performing an action?
I'm thinking it doesn't count as manifesting a power therefore can be done during an action?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/12/08 04:05:28
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/12/10 11:45:44
Subject: Performing actions and abilities
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
It is not part of manifesting a power
|
|
 |
 |
|