Switch Theme:

reanimation protocols vs fight/shoot twice  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 p5freak wrote:
Spoiler:
 DeathReaper wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
Except they dont happen at the same time.
You are 100% incorrect. They absolutely happen at the same time.

Reanimation Protocols rule wrote:Each time an enemy unit shoots or fights, after it makes its attacks, if any models in this unit were destroyed as a result of those attacks but this unit was not destroyed, this unit's reanimation protocols are enacted...
RP happens after the enemy unit makes its attacks.

Fight Phase rules wrote: FIGHT
When you select a unit to fight, it first piles in, then the models in the unit must make close combat attacks, and then the unit consolidates.

After the enemy unit makes its attacks, the unit consolidates.

So RP and the Consolidate rules both happen after a unit makes its attacks.


No, they dont. I have given RAW examples when two or more rules are happening at the same time. Its when they have the same wording, like 'at the end of the battle round'.
No matter how many times you say this, it will still be false.
nosferatu1001 wrote:
DR is saying essentially consolidate, the next step, is also after the unit attacks

To be clear they should have, if they want it to interrupt, said, "after a unit attacks but before the consolidate step,..."
This is 100% correct.

consolidate, just like RP, is also after the unit attacks.

Therefore RP and consolidate happen at the same time, per the RAW.


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

 DeathReaper wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
Spoiler:
 DeathReaper wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
Except they dont happen at the same time.
You are 100% incorrect. They absolutely happen at the same time.

Reanimation Protocols rule wrote:Each time an enemy unit shoots or fights, after it makes its attacks, if any models in this unit were destroyed as a result of those attacks but this unit was not destroyed, this unit's reanimation protocols are enacted...
RP happens after the enemy unit makes its attacks.

Fight Phase rules wrote: FIGHT
When you select a unit to fight, it first piles in, then the models in the unit must make close combat attacks, and then the unit consolidates.

After the enemy unit makes its attacks, the unit consolidates.

So RP and the Consolidate rules both happen after a unit makes its attacks.


No, they dont. I have given RAW examples when two or more rules are happening at the same time. Its when they have the same wording, like 'at the end of the battle round'.
No matter how many times you say this, it will still be false.
nosferatu1001 wrote:
DR is saying essentially consolidate, the next step, is also after the unit attacks

To be clear they should have, if they want it to interrupt, said, "after a unit attacks but before the consolidate step,..."
This is 100% correct.

consolidate, just like RP, is also after the unit attacks.

Therefore RP and consolidate happen at the same time, per the RAW.


This is 100% incorrect. Rules are only resolved at the same time when they have the same wording, as shown by the examples in sequencing. Where is your citation to back up your claim ?
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 p5freak wrote:
This is 100% incorrect. Rules are only resolved at the same time when they have the same wording, as shown by the examples in sequencing. Where is your citation to back up your claim ?
It is not incorrect, no matter how many times you say it is, that does not change the facts.

Basic English comprehension backs up my claim that a rule that is used after the unit attacks goes at the same time as consolidate which happens after the unit makes its attacks.

This is basic English comprehension.

The fight phase has these steps:
Charging units fight first
Fight
Pile in
Make close combat attacks
Consolidate

RP comes after "Make close combat attacks"

You know what else comes after "Make close combat attacks" right?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/04/26 22:47:14


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Pious Palatine





Tacoma, WA, USA

 DeathReaper wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
This is 100% incorrect. Rules are only resolved at the same time when they have the same wording, as shown by the examples in sequencing. Where is your citation to back up your claim ?
It is not incorrect, no matter how many times you say it is, that does not change the facts.

Basic English comprehension backs up my claim that a rule that is used after the unit attacks goes at the same time as consolidate which happens after the unit makes its attacks.

This is basic English comprehension.

The fight phase has these steps:
Charging units fight first
Fight
Pile in
Make close combat attacks
Consolidate

RP comes after "Make close combat attacks"

You know what else comes after "Make close combat attacks" right?

Charging unit fight first isn't a step of the fight phase or of fighting. It's just part of the selection criteria of which units fight. The fight phase is both players alternating selecting eligible units and fight with them until there are no eligible units to select by either player.

When a unit fights, it piles in, then it makes close combat attacks, and then it consolidates. If a unit has finished consolidating, then it is no longer fighting. RP tells you to make your rolls after the enemy unit has made it attacks while fighting. That means you make the attacks when they fight. This has to be before they consolidate since after that they are no longer fighting.
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

 DeathReaper wrote:
 p5freak wrote:

Basic English comprehension backs up my claim that a rule that is used after the unit attacks goes at the same time as consolidate which happens after the unit makes its attacks.

This is basic English comprehension.

The fight phase has these steps:
Charging units fight first
Fight
Pile in
Make close combat attacks
Consolidate

RP comes after "Make close combat attacks"

You know what else comes after "Make close combat attacks" right?


Yes, i know. The morale phase is also after "make close combat attacks". By your logic, RP could also be resolved in the morale phase

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/04/26 22:57:18


 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 alextroy wrote:

Charging unit fight first isn't a step of the fight phase or of fighting. It's just part of the selection criteria of which units fight.
Which is largely irrelevant to the discussion at hand.

 p5freak wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
 p5freak wrote:

Basic English comprehension backs up my claim that a rule that is used after the unit attacks goes at the same time as consolidate which happens after the unit makes its attacks.

This is basic English comprehension.

The fight phase has these steps:
Charging units fight first
Fight
Pile in
Make close combat attacks
Consolidate

RP comes after "Make close combat attacks"

You know what else comes after "Make close combat attacks" right?


Yes, i know. The morale phase is also after "make close combat attacks". By your logic, RP could also be resolved in the morale phase
The morale phase is after Consolidate which is after Make close combat attacks, if you can not see the difference in timing between those two, then you should not be partaking in this discussion.

And no RP could absolutely not be resolved in the morale phase because that is after Consolidate , not after "Make close combat attacks"

(Look at the context of the rules. After one thing means immediately after that thing, not at some point after that thing, you should know that). Kind of embarrassed for you that you do not seem to know that.


This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2021/04/27 01:49:39


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

 DeathReaper wrote:
The morale phase is after Consolidate which is after Make close combat attacks, if you can not see the difference in timing between those two, then you should not be partaking in this discussion.


I can see the difference, you cant. You havent provided any citiations to back up your argument, you cant, because there arent any. Rules are only resolved at the same time when they have the same wording, as written in the sequence rule.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 p5freak wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
The morale phase is after Consolidate which is after Make close combat attacks, if you can not see the difference in timing between those two, then you should not be partaking in this discussion.

I can see the difference, you cant. You havent provided any citiations to back up your argument, you cant, because there arent any.
Here is the thing though, you are seeing an arbitrarily defined difference that no one else sees, because you made it up.

Rules are only resolved at the same time when they have the same wording, as written in the sequence rule.
Incorrect.

The actual rules are:
Sequencing rule in the BRB wrote:While playing warhammer 40,000, you’ll occasionally find that two or more rules are to be resolved at the same time...
They do not have to have the same wording.

Nothing about the Sequencing rule does it say they have to have the same wording, and I do not understand why you have asserted that as truth. (I see it gives two examples (that is what e.g. means), but this is not an exhaustive list. The only requirement is for two rules to happen at the same time, as I have proven with the quote).

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

 DeathReaper wrote:

The actual rules are:
Sequencing rule in the BRB wrote:While playing warhammer 40,000, you’ll occasionally find that two or more rules are to be resolved at the same time...
They do not have to have the same wording.

Nothing about the Sequencing rule does it say they have to have the same wording, and I do not understand why you have asserted that as truth. (I see it gives two examples (that is what e.g. means), but this is not an exhaustive list. The only requirement is for two rules to happen at the same time, as I have proven with the quote).


The examples in the sequencing rule explain when two or more rules happen at the same time.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 p5freak wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:

The actual rules are:
Sequencing rule in the BRB wrote:While playing warhammer 40,000, you’ll occasionally find that two or more rules are to be resolved at the same time...
They do not have to have the same wording.

Nothing about the Sequencing rule does it say they have to have the same wording, and I do not understand why you have asserted that as truth. (I see it gives two examples (that is what e.g. means), but this is not an exhaustive list. The only requirement is for two rules to happen at the same time, as I have proven with the quote).


The examples in the sequencing rule explain when two or more rules happen at the same time.
That is true, but those are just examples, they are not an exhaustive list.

The only requirement is for two rules to happen at the same time.

Sequencing is not just for things that happen ‘at the start of the battle round’ or ‘at the end of the Fight phase’.


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Allow this to be a good lesson to those looking to write Rules:
When injecting a break into an existing sequence, the word Immediately is your friend!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/04/27 08:18:20


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 p5freak wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:

The actual rules are:
Sequencing rule in the BRB wrote:While playing warhammer 40,000, you’ll occasionally find that two or more rules are to be resolved at the same time...
They do not have to have the same wording.

Nothing about the Sequencing rule does it say they have to have the same wording, and I do not understand why you have asserted that as truth. (I see it gives two examples (that is what e.g. means), but this is not an exhaustive list. The only requirement is for two rules to happen at the same time, as I have proven with the quote).


The examples in the sequencing rule explain when two or more rules happen at the same time.

No, it shows when those two example rules happen at the same time

Examples do not define the whole of the rule, by definition
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

nosferatu1001 wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:

The actual rules are:
Sequencing rule in the BRB wrote:While playing warhammer 40,000, you’ll occasionally find that two or more rules are to be resolved at the same time...
They do not have to have the same wording.

Nothing about the Sequencing rule does it say they have to have the same wording, and I do not understand why you have asserted that as truth. (I see it gives two examples (that is what e.g. means), but this is not an exhaustive list. The only requirement is for two rules to happen at the same time, as I have proven with the quote).


The examples in the sequencing rule explain when two or more rules happen at the same time.

No, it shows when those two example rules happen at the same time

Examples do not define the whole of the rule, by definition


True, but unless GW clarifies when rules are happening at the same time we only have those two examples to go with.
   
Made in nl
[MOD]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Cozy cockpit of an Archer ARC-5S

And we're done here.



Fatum Iustum Stultorum



Fiat justitia ruat caelum

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: