Switch Theme:

Can a GK psyker attempt to manifest the same Sanctic discipline more than once per phase?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




GK Codex says:

Each time a GK Psyker is selected to manifest psychic powers, it can attempt to manifest any of the psychic powers that it knows from the Sanctic Discipline even if that power has already attempted to be manifested by another unit in that phase.


(Difficulty then goes up by +1 per attempt, like Smite).

It seems to me this is probably intended to be like Smite, where the same caster can't smite more than once, but you can smite once for each Psyker you have if you want. But it doesn't actually say this, whereas for Smite, the rules specifically state that the same Psyker can't Smite more than once - but this is a special rider for Smite only, not for all powers. It does says "even if another unit," but that doesn't seem to actually limit anything, because there's no actual restriction in the core rules on the same psyker casting any power other than smite more than once - there didn't need to be one, it was enough, aside from Smite, to simply say you can't cast a power more than once per phase, period.

Am I right in reading this RAW as allowing the same psyker to cast the same Sanctic power more than once? Librarians are the only thing in the book that can do it base, but any unit can use the strat for a second cast, so it opens up stuff like Purifiers double-casting Purifying Flame, or paladins giving themselves +2 to save for a 0+ base save, -1+ in cover.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Key word is "another unit"

Re-read the rule.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




As above. You're allowed to manifest even if another unit has done so. Not if you have done so
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





I agree with the other replies. The core rules say:
With the exception of Smite, you cannot attempt to manifest the
same psychic power more than once in the same battle round, even
with different Psyker units.


The specific rule gives an exemption when manifesting a power that another unit has used, but gives no exemption for the same unit.
   
Made in gb
Walking Dead Wraithlord






So multiple GK termies can cast hammer hands on themselves but the same unit of temries cannot cast hammer hand on itself twice.

https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/772746.page#10378083 - My progress/failblog painting blog thingy

Eldar- 4436 pts


AngryAngel80 wrote:
I don't know, when I see awesome rules, I'm like " Baby, your rules looking so fine. Maybe I gotta add you to my first strike battalion eh ? "


 Eonfuzz wrote:


I would much rather everyone have a half ass than no ass.


"A warrior does not seek fame and honour. They come to him as he humbly follows his path"  
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Effectively, yes.
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Hammerhand twice on a unit is useless, unless the unit suffers -1 to wound. You cant get more than +1/-1 to wound.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/08/12 13:11:22


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




So, it isn't always uselsss. And, as an example, it wasn't useless at all
   
Made in ca
Pestilent Plague Marine with Blight Grenade





The Frozen North

 p5freak wrote:
Hammerhand twice on a unit is useless, unless the unit suffers -1 to wound. You cant get more than +1/-1 to wound.

Hammerhand is reroll wound rolls. Please don't spread misinformation.

Triggerbaby wrote:In summary, here's your lunch and ask Miss Creaver if she has aloe lotion because I have taken you to school and you have been burned.

Abadabadoobaddon wrote:I too can prove pretty much any assertion I please if I don't count all the evidence that contradicts it.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Aash wrote:
I agree with the other replies. The core rules say:
With the exception of Smite, you cannot attempt to manifest the
same psychic power more than once in the same battle round, even
with different Psyker units.


The specific rule gives an exemption when manifesting a power that another unit has used, but gives no exemption for the same unit.


But that's the issue. That's not what it says.

The general rule does not prohibit the same unit from casting a power more than once, it just prohibits casting a power more than once, period. This is why Smite requires a specific addition that you can't cast Smite more than once per phase with the same psyker.

The GK rule removes that limitation on casting the same power more than once per phase, and says the limitation is removed "even if another unit has already attempted it." It doesn't say the limitation is removed only if it's another unit that has already cast it. "Even if" is not a limiting phrase on what comes before.

I.e.: "You can have the puppy even if you can't pay for it" doesn't mean you can have the puppy only if you can't pay for it.


This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/08/12 17:00:38


 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

It says the limitation is removed "even if another unit has already attempted it." It doesn't say the limitation is removed even if the same unit has already attempted it.


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





yukishiro1 wrote:
Aash wrote:
I agree with the other replies. The core rules say:
With the exception of Smite, you cannot attempt to manifest the
same psychic power more than once in the same battle round, even
with different Psyker units.


The specific rule gives an exemption when manifesting a power that another unit has used, but gives no exemption for the same unit.


But that's the issue. That's not what it says.

The general rule does not prohibit the same unit from casting a power more than once, it just prohibits casting a power more than once, period. The GK rule removes that limitation, and says the limitation is removed "even if another unit has already attempted it." It doesn't say the limitation is removed only if it's another unit that has already cast it.





It doesn't say "even if your unit has already cast it once", which is the permission you would need for the unit to cast it a second time.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 DeathReaper wrote:
It says the limitation is removed "even if another unit has already attempted it." It doesn't say the limitation is removed even if the same unit has already attempted it.



What limitation? There is no limitation in the core rules on the same unit casting a power more than once per phase. That's the issue here.

The only limitation is on casting the same power more than once. The GK rule removes that, and does so "even if another unit has already cast it." It doesn't say it removes it "only if" another unit has cast it. "Even if" and "only if" are not the same meaning.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





yukishiro1 wrote:
Aash wrote:
I agree with the other replies. The core rules say:
With the exception of Smite, you cannot attempt to manifest the
same psychic power more than once in the same battle round, even
with different Psyker units.


The specific rule gives an exemption when manifesting a power that another unit has used, but gives no exemption for the same unit.


But that's the issue. That's not what it says.

The general rule does not prohibit the same unit from casting a power more than once, it just prohibits casting a power more than once, period. This is why Smite requires a specific addition that you can't cast Smite more than once per phase with the same psyker.

The GK rule removes that limitation on casting the same power more than once per phase, and says the limitation is removed "even if another unit has already attempted it." It doesn't say the limitation is removed only if it's another unit that has already cast it. "Even if" is not a limiting phrase on what comes before.

I.e.: "You can have the puppy even if you can't pay for it" doesn't mean you can have the puppy only if you can't pay for it.




Emphasis mine:

Each time a GK Psyker is selected to manifest psychic powers, it can attempt to manifest any of the psychic powers that it knows from the Sanctic Discipline even if that power has already attempted to be manifested by another unit in that phase.


If the section of the rule I’ve marked in bold was removed, the rule wouldn’t allow you to cast a specific Sanctic Discipline power if that unit or any other unit had done so already that phase. It would follow the core rules in that regard. The section in bold specifically allows you to cast a power when it has already been used by another unit. No more and no less. There is nothing in the rule that allows you to manifest the power twice with the same unit in a single phase.

Edit: if the rule said “only if” the rules would break down as you would be unable to cast a Sanctic Discipline power for the first time in a phase because no other unit has already done so.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/08/12 17:11:31


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Aash wrote:

If the section of the rule I’ve marked in bold was removed, the rule wouldn’t allow you to cast a specific Sanctic Discipline power if that unit or any other unit had done so already that phase. It would follow the core rules in that regard. The section in bold specifically allows you to cast a power when it has already been used by another unit. No more and no less. There is nothing in the rule that allows you to manifest the power twice with the same unit in a single phase.


Ok, this explanation works for me, I think I'm convinced now. Thanks!
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

yukishiro1 wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
It says the limitation is removed "even if another unit has already attempted it." It doesn't say the limitation is removed even if the same unit has already attempted it.



What limitation? There is no limitation in the core rules on the same unit casting a power more than once per phase. That's the issue here.

The only limitation is on casting the same power more than once. The GK rule removes that, and does so "even if another unit has already cast it." It doesn't say it removes it "only if" another unit has cast it. "Even if" and "only if" are not the same meaning.
The limitation is the rule that states "You cannot attempt to manifest the same psychic power more than once in the same battle round"

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut



Westchester, NY

So to be exact, a unit can cast smite on a 5+ another on 6+ and so on.

The same can be said for Hammerhand??

Grey Knights--7000 W14 L13 D1
Beasts of Chaos--4000
"We own the Night" 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yes. Each unit csn only attempt to manifest the same power once, but like smite more than one unit can attempt, at that escalating cost.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut



Westchester, NY

TY BTW are there any other powers that can be used like this.

TY in advance

Grey Knights--7000 W14 L13 D1
Beasts of Chaos--4000
"We own the Night" 
   
Made in us
Daemonic Dreadnought





Eye of Terror

RB wrote:
TY BTW are there any other powers that can be used like this.

TY in advance


Just the ones in the Sanctic discipline. Hammerhand, Astral Aim, Purge Soul, Armoured Resilience, Etheral Castigation, and Purifying Flame.

   
Made in us
Damsel of the Lady




 techsoldaten wrote:
RB wrote:
TY BTW are there any other powers that can be used like this.

TY in advance


Just the ones in the Sanctic discipline. Hammerhand, Astral Aim, Purge Soul, Armoured Resilience, Etheral Castigation, and Purifying Flame.


One of the tides will let you do it for the Brotherhood specific spells too.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut



Westchester, NY

The lack of rites of banishment means all GK smites are X damage?

Is there also super smite?


Grey Knights--7000 W14 L13 D1
Beasts of Chaos--4000
"We own the Night" 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Smite for gk is now normal smite.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: