Switch Theme:

GK Loremaster warlord trait - what does a deny attempt mean?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Context tells you that , as it is a response to a power being cast. Each time a power is cast, yiu are permitted to deny.

You're arguing in bad faith. Same as the two "friends"
   
Made in us
Daemonic Dreadnought





Eye of Terror

nosferatu1001 wrote:
Context tells you that , as it is a response to a power being cast. Each time a power is cast, yiu are permitted to deny.

You're arguing in bad faith. Same as the two "friends"


Assigning bad intent on my part for quoting GW's rules is really not fair. You might not like what the rules say, but GW chose the language and it's not my fault for reading through it closely.

I've explained the rule as stated in context and spelled out the specific details multiple times in this thread. The language is clear and unambiguous. Most of this thread has been dominated by whether or not 'negate' and 'resist' constitute a deny attempt. While that's much less clear than the issue I've cited, it's generated far fewer accusations.

A valid response might be to say 'there are limits to RAW,' 'clearly this is not what they intended,' 'GW needs to fix this,' etc. There are FAQs that might resolve the issue with the wording, there are 200+ additional pages of rulebook that may provide some clarity, there is plenty of language in other rules to suggest the designers intended DTW to be used more than once per game. Feel free to cite those.

But calling me names doesn't prove your point or help anyone understand the Loremaster WLT. The point of YMDC is to work through issues with ambiguous rules, not to attack people for reading them.

   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Not calling you names. Stating an apparent fact.

You've ignored context each time. We know this, because you take one sentence out and state it applies to the game, when it relates to the para it is in, which is how to deny a power once it is manifest. Each time

Yiure also massively off topic, which is another indicator of bad faith. The topic isn't "why, when you read a sentence out of context, does it appear I can only do x once per game?!?!" but the more sensible one of what counts as deny. Stick to the topic, or leave.
   
Made in us
Daemonic Dreadnought





Eye of Terror

nosferatu1001 wrote:
Not calling you names. Stating an apparent fact.

You've ignored context each time. We know this, because you take one sentence out and state it applies to the game, when it relates to the para it is in, which is how to deny a power once it is manifest. Each time

Yiure also massively off topic, which is another indicator of bad faith. The topic isn't "why, when you read a sentence out of context, does it appear I can only do x once per game?!?!" but the more sensible one of what counts as deny. Stick to the topic, or leave.


On the contrary:

- I've quoted the DTW rule in full and explained the sentence in context.

- I've responded to concerns over grammar and conditional language.

- And I've asked for citations that challenge this RAW interpretation. I've even spelled out what valid responses might look like.

The relation to the Loremaster WLT is obvious. RAW, it can only be used once per game.

   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 techsoldaten wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
 techsoldaten wrote:

Your citation says the opposing player CAN attempt to deny that power by passing a Deny the Witch test. It does not grant your opponent the ability to use Deny the Witch more than once per game.
False. It grants permission to deny each time, that is what can means.

That is incorrect. RAW, DTW can be performed once per game.
Again, you are incorrect, I have shown rules quotes that show why your argument is demonstrably false.

Stop with the misinformation, it is not helping anyone.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Never Forget Isstvan!






I mean, litterally any model with more than 1 deny per turn proves you can deny more than once per game...........

JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 Eihnlazer wrote:
I mean, litterally any model with more than 1 deny per turn proves you can deny more than once per game...........
Exactly correct. Along with the overwhelming evidence I have posted, this matter should be put to bed.

Any arguments against are disingenuous and ignoring context.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 techsoldaten wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
Not calling you names. Stating an apparent fact.

You've ignored context each time. We know this, because you take one sentence out and state it applies to the game, when it relates to the para it is in, which is how to deny a power once it is manifest. Each time

Yiure also massively off topic, which is another indicator of bad faith. The topic isn't "why, when you read a sentence out of context, does it appear I can only do x once per game?!?!" but the more sensible one of what counts as deny. Stick to the topic, or leave.


On the contrary:

- I've quoted the DTW rule in full and explained the sentence in context.

- I've responded to concerns over grammar and conditional language.

- And I've asked for citations that challenge this RAW interpretation. I've even spelled out what valid responses might look like.

The relation to the Loremaster WLT is obvious. RAW, it can only be used once per game.

Incorrect, as proven repeatedly. Only you think otherwise. Luckily, that's not our problem

And, you know, it's still off topic. Maybe get back to the topic , or start your own thread, but trolling so,done else's ? Nah.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 techsoldaten wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
Context tells you that , as it is a response to a power being cast. Each time a power is cast, yiu are permitted to deny.

You're arguing in bad faith. Same as the two "friends"


Assigning bad intent on my part for quoting GW's rules is really not fair.


Assigning bad intent on your part for me giving you an answer to your challenge and you just blowing it off, claiming GW is contradictory all the time and ignoring that you had been given the proof in the first place is certainly fair.
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh




Let's go with the argument that you can deny each power once per game (since the BRB clearly states that each power can be denied once). Where in the rulebook does it state that you can cast each power more than once per game? With the exception of smite which can be used multiple times in a round by certain factions I don't think you'll find that rule.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/08/16 23:45:48


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




It doesn't, but then that's not what the bad faith argument is for. It has the same context as deny, as it deals with casting a power and a power only.
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh




That was my point. If you can only cast each power once then you've just make a mockery of the psychic phase and psykers in general.

It's obvious, to me at least, that each power can be attempted to be cast once per round and with each casting the opponent has the opportunity to try to deny it. The "can" in the denial rule is to show that they don't have to try to deny if you don't want to (wheter due to not having any denies left that round or for a tactical reason).
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Oh yes, we all know that. They're just behaving like a troll - coming in with an off topic comment, vociferously defending a point that entirely ignores what's written and the basis of it, etc
   
Made in gb
[MOD]
Villanous Scum







This thread seems to have run its course.

On parle toujours mal quand on n'a rien à dire. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: