Switch Theme:

Leman Russ firing twice and blast  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps






When you select a unit to shoot with, you select targets and resolve attacks with any or all ranged weapons that models in that unit are equipped with (each ranged weapon can only be shot once per phase). The ranged weapons that models in a unit are equipped with are detailed on its datasheet.

Bolded the part of the rule that the Leman Russ' rule overrides.

It's not shooting again, it's shooting one weapon twice. A unit fires with all weapons it is equipped with when it is selected to shoot, and normally it can only shoot each weapon once. Leman Russ' with Grinding Advance can shoot their turret weapon twice, but during the Select Targets step of resolving attacks must target the same unit.

Shoot again means the unit shoots, then shoots again. Shooting twice means the unit shoots twice.

I'm on a podcast about (video) game design:
https://makethatgame.com

And I also make tabletop wargaming videos!
https://www.youtube.com/@tableitgaming 
   
Made in us
Neophyte Undergoing Surgeries





I think everyone is in agreement that Grinding Advance overrides the base rule of "(each ranged weapon can only be shot once per phase)" in some way. I cited the Hot-Blooded stratagem and Total Obliteration ability as examples that lead me to believe the targeting of shoot twice abilities do not happen simultaneously. Do you have an example to support simultaneous targeting or that I'm interpreting the two examples I gave incorrectly?
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Shooting again is two distinct shooting attempts starting again at step one.

This doesn't do that - you shoot the weapon twice, at the choose targets step. At that point the number of models in the target unit is calculated.
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Okay, if you really believe this changes the sequence instead of just repeating it as a whole:
In order to fire the weapon a second time, I should at least complete the first volley of shots... right?
Wouldn't that be to repeat Steps X through Y... not X-squared through to y-squared?

This is what I am highlighting:
If you find a way to 'condense' things down, instead of playing them out sequentially, and it changes the result of the game... don't do that!
Revert back to playing the sequence out, for the Rules As Written are simply not designed to handle simultaneous actions.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2021/12/04 20:34:36


 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

nosferatu1001 wrote:
Shooting again is two distinct shooting attempts starting again at step one.

This doesn't do that - you shoot the weapon twice, at the choose targets step. At that point the number of models in the target unit is calculated.
This is 100% correct.

And consequently why the number of models in the target unit does not change for the calculation.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




JinxXDragon wrote:
Okay, if you really believe this changes the sequence, I have a follow up question:
In order to fire the weapon a second time, I should at least complete the first volley of shots... right?
I should complete Steps X through Y and then return to X to do it through Y again... not just do X-squared through to y-squared.

This is what I am highlighting:
If you find a way to 'condense' things down, instead of playing them out sequentially, and it changes the result of the game... don't do that.
Revert back to playing the sequence out, for all the Rules are written to prevent simultaneous actions.

We're not doing that.

At the point you pick targets, that when the number of models in the target unit is set. It never changes.

EXACTLY the same as removing models from line of sight doesn't alter "later" guns firing from ten same firing unit.
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Then why the specific clause requiring the second volley to target the same unit?
You are the one telling us to change the sequence, instead of doing the whole thing twice, so please write out what that change would look like....

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2021/12/04 20:38:10


 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

JinxXDragon wrote:
Then why the specific clause requiring the second shot to target the same unit?
Because that is just how they wrote the rule.

GW sometimes over clarifies things, I suspect that is what happened here.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




I shouldn't be doing this to myself, so I am just going to drop my conclusion here and return to the void:
I was attempting to walk you back to the obvious fact we have to deal with - Rules from different editions do not mesh up very well.
Thus we are in pure interpretation territory, for you clearly believe a written line should be cut away entirely even though it might matter to the result!

So let us weigh these interpretations:
One interpretation requires us to ignore lines of text as 'vestural,' and it might very well be, simply because we never return to that step of the sequence.
The other interpretation accounts for that additional line of text, by doing the sequence over, and is in line with the newer way Rules are doing things.
Thus I still am heavily in P5freak's favour - which rarely happens, does it?

O.P. Take these following words to heart:
If you have an old Rule that doesn't mesh up well... default to the way up-to-date Rules play it.
You will be playing to the up-coming rule changes, at worse, and if they make your unit into a 'Special Snowflake?'
Rejoice, for you will have grown used to playing without that boon and it will simply make you games easier.

This message was edited 6 times. Last update was at 2021/12/04 21:00:18


 
   
Made in us
Neophyte Undergoing Surgeries





I found this from the 8th edition designer commentary document. It is from 8th, but the ability in question is from 8th.

Q: If a unit has an ability that allows it to ‘shoot twice’ (e.g. Maugan Ra’s Whirlwind of Death ability, or an Aggressor Squad’s Fire Storm ability), do I need to shoot the same target each time or can I choose different targets? Do I need to resolve these two shooting attacks back to back?
A: Unless otherwise stated, you can shoot different targets each time it shoots. The attacks are resolved back to back – resolve the first shooting attack completely before resolving the second.

The older FAQs can be a bit harder to find: https://www.warhammer-community.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/09/warhammer_40000_rulebook_en-3.pdf

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/12/04 21:02:32


 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 nolanjurgens wrote:
I found this from the 8th edition designer commentary document. It is from 8th, but the ability in question is from 8th.

Q: If a unit has an ability that allows it to ‘shoot twice’ (e.g. Maugan Ra’s Whirlwind of Death ability, or an Aggressor Squad’s Fire Storm ability), do I need to shoot the same target each time or can I choose different targets? Do I need to resolve these two shooting attacks back to back?
A: Unless otherwise stated, you can shoot different targets each time it shoots. The attacks are resolved back to back – resolve the first shooting attack completely before resolving the second.

The older FAQs can be a bit harder to find: https://www.warhammer-community.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/09/warhammer_40000_rulebook_en-3.pdf
Except the Russ does not have an ability that allows the unit to ‘shoot twice’ so that FAQ is not really relevant.

The Russ has a rule that allows you to shoot the turret weapon twice. So when you select a target you select a target for the turret weapon, and any other weapons the Russ has. Then you pick a weapon and roll to hit, if you pick the turret, you shoot it twice as per the rules on the Russ Dataslate.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




As above

Without that line, you could fire the turret once at one target, once at another

I'm not ignoring or changing any rules. You're, at the point you select weapons and targets for those weapons, picking the turret. Twice. Before you roll any dice whatsoever.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2021/12/04 21:47:33


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: