Switch Theme:

Can Valerian kill a C'tan in one fight phase?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in at
Longtime Dakkanaut




Valerian is a named character in the new Adeptus Custodes Codex and his spear Gnosis has the following special rule: "each time an attack made with this weapon is allocated to an enemy model, that enemy model can not use any rules to ignore the wounds it loses."

I gather that the enemy model can not use any FnP.
So far so simple, but does the necrodermis rule for only 3dmg per phase still apply also for example?
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

Necodermis still applies. It's not an "ignores wounds" rule, it's a cap on how many they can lose.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in at
Longtime Dakkanaut




 JohnnyHell wrote:
Necodermis still applies. It's not an "ignores wounds" rule, it's a cap on how many they can lose.


But the Nightbringer notoriously ignores these kind of caps does he not? And his life drain rules is worded in the same way.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2022/01/15 14:30:28


 
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins





Tacoma, WA, USA

From the Core Rules FAQ:
Ignoring Wounds vs. Rules that Prevent Models from Ignoring Wounds
Some models have a rule that says that they cannot lose more than a specified number of wounds in the same phase/turn/ battle round, and that any wounds that would be lost after that point are not lost. When such a model is attacked by a weapon or model with a rule that says that enemy models cannot use rules to ignore the wounds it loses, that rule takes precedence over the previous rule, and if that attack inflicts any damage on that model, it loses a number of wounds equal to the Damage characteristic of that attack, even if it has already lost the specified number of wounds already this phase/turn/battle round.

  • Rules that say models ‘cannot use rules to ignore the wounds they lose’ take precedence over rules that say that a model ‘cannot lose more than a specified number of wounds, and any wounds lost after that point are not lost.
  • So you cannot cap the damage done to you by Gnosis.

    This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2022/01/15 16:49:04


     
       
    Made in gb
    Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





    Cardiff

    Oh did not know this! Very cool. Thanks alextroy.

     Stormonu wrote:
    For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
     
       
    Made in gb
    Regular Dakkanaut





    United Kingdom

     alextroy wrote:
    From the Core Rules FAQ:
    Ignoring Wounds vs. Rules that Prevent Models from Ignoring Wounds
    Some models have a rule that says that they cannot lose more than a specified number of wounds in the same phase/turn/ battle round, and that any wounds that would be lost after that point are not lost. When such a model is attacked by a weapon or model with a rule that says that enemy models cannot use rules to ignore the wounds it loses, that rule takes precedence over the previous rule, and if that attack inflicts any damage on that model, it loses a number of wounds equal to the Damage characteristic of that attack, even if it has already lost the specified number of wounds already this phase/turn/battle round.

  • Rules that say models ‘cannot use rules to ignore the wounds they lose’ take precedence over rules that say that a model ‘cannot lose more than a specified number of wounds, and any wounds lost after that point are not lost.
  • So you cannot cap the damage done to you by Gnosis.


    That's really interesting! So how would that work in the context of models that half damage done to them? Abaddon or the new Avatar being prime examples?

    Adeptus Mechanicus
    Tyranids  
       
    Made in gb
    Decrepit Dakkanaut




    It doesn't interact with this rule at all, as halving the damage char of a weapon is not ignoring wounds, it's changing the damage char of the weapon
       
     
    Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
    Go to: