Switch Theme:

How many mortal wounds morkanaught?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in no
Liche Priest Hierophant





Bergen

If the same weapon profile rolls two or more 1s, does that mean two or more mortal wounds?
[Thumb - Screenshot_20220205_092312_com.android.chrome.jpg]


   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




A max of 1 per weapon, so you don't roll all together, roll one weapon at a time.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
"If any" is the equivalent of "one or more"

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2022/02/05 10:03:05


 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Agreed, its only 1MW for each weapon, even if you roll multiple 1s for it.
   
Made in us
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard





nosferatu1001 wrote:
A max of 1 per weapon, so you don't roll all together, roll one weapon at a time.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
"If any" is the equivalent of "one or more"


Or roll in two different colored dice.

My WHFB armies were Bretonians and Tomb Kings. 
   
Made in us
Morally-Flexible Malleus Hearing Whispers




nosferatu1001 wrote:
A max of 1 per weapon, so you don't roll all together, roll one weapon at a time.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
"If any" is the equivalent of "one or more"


I believe you are right, but I've been in this spot before, and honestly want to know what I can point to that says this? I've had this situation before, and it looks like it's not the same as most plasma weapons:

Each time an unmodified hit roll of 1 is made for an attack with this weapon profile, the bearer suffers 1 mortal wound after shooting with this weapon.

But the person I was playing with insisted I was wrong, and said it's only 1MW. I let him have it, (He rolled 3x1 on the KMZ) but I did want to know where that rule is explicitly stated, or interpreted that way.
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

If any is different from each time. Each time means you get 1 MW for every 1 you roll, because attacks are made one at a time.
   
Made in us
Morally-Flexible Malleus Hearing Whispers




Right, that's my question. Where is "if any" determined as = 1? If the Morkonaut rolls 3 ones, where is it explained that it's only a single MW? I don't get the English here.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Because that's what "if any" means?

You have 1?
Then you have "any" number if 1s
You have 3?
Then yiu still have "any" number of ones
And so on
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins





Tacoma, WA, USA

FezzikDaBullgryn wrote:
Right, that's my question. Where is "if any" determined as = 1? If the Morkonaut rolls 3 ones, where is it explained that it's only a single MW? I don't get the English here.
Any means one or more of a thing.

If any (one or more) unmodified hit rolls of 1 are made for attacks with this weapon, the bearer suffers 1 mortal wound after shooting with this weapon.

So if one or more of the 3d3 attacks with the Kustom Mega-Zapper is a unmodified 1, the Morkanaught suffer 1 mortal wound after shooting with the Kustom Mega-Zapper.
   
Made in no
Liche Priest Hierophant





Bergen

Overloaded fuel cells and reckless demolition both have max 1 mortal wound as well, right?
[Thumb - Screenshot_20220206_213845_com.gamesworkshop.warhammer40k.jpg]

[Thumb - Screenshot_20220206_213857_com.gamesworkshop.warhammer40k.jpg]

   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




No, two different rules

For every one, RD kills a model
At least one one gives. A mw
   
Made in no
Liche Priest Hierophant





Bergen

Ok. And the word that is important is 'each' right?

   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




No, it's "each time that model makes AN attack,..."
That tells you that, as per normal attacks are one at a time, and this ability triggers on the attack.
   
Made in us
Morally-Flexible Malleus Hearing Whispers




 alextroy wrote:
FezzikDaBullgryn wrote:
Right, that's my question. Where is "if any" determined as = 1? If the Morkonaut rolls 3 ones, where is it explained that it's only a single MW? I don't get the English here.
Any means one or more of a thing.

If any (one or more) unmodified hit rolls of 1 are made for attacks with this weapon, the bearer suffers 1 mortal wound after shooting with this weapon.

So if one or more of the 3d3 attacks with the Kustom Mega-Zapper is a unmodified 1, the Morkanaught suffer 1 mortal wound after shooting with the Kustom Mega-Zapper.


Thank you. I guess my confusion was regarding 'if any=ALL'. I thought 'if any=each separately'

Thanks for the clear up.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: