Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2022/02/06 04:28:39
Subject: Crossfire, shooting from transports with units without crossfire.
|
 |
Brainy Zoanthrope
|
Hey all the question has now arisen woth crossfire and the rock truck.
In this situation the rock truck which has crossfire is in a position on a unit that has a crossfire token and is counting as exposed. So if the truck were to shoot at it it would get +1 to hit and wound.
The following faq is now in effect. With it in mind. How does it impact a unit without crossfire embarked on the rock truck and shooting out of the top. In this case a reductus saboteur.
If a Transport model is under the effects of an ability which
would apply a modifier to a dice roll made when making a
ranged attack (such as a modifier to its hit rolls, wound rolls,
etc.) the same modifier applies each time an embarked model
makes a ranged attack.
Does the saboteur gain the numerical benefits of crossfire?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2022/02/06 07:27:55
Subject: Crossfire, shooting from transports with units without crossfire.
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
The FAQ states that the same modifier applies each time an embarked model makes a ranged attack, so any embarked unit will get that modifier.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2022/02/06 07:28:02
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2022/02/06 09:36:19
Subject: Crossfire, shooting from transports with units without crossfire.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I'll just copy my post about how this would break the game.
But the Transport model is not under the effect when the passengers shoot.
If a transport with crossfire has 2 guns, and shoots 1 at a target with a marker and 1 at a target without. Does the attack on the target without get +1?
no it doesn't because the buff only exists in a specific circumstance.
If a transport with crossfire shoots at a target with a marker and then the passengers shoot at a target without a marker do they get +1?
I hope its obvious that they shouldn't, but the transport briefly had a +1, so surely by your logic the passengers now have a permanent +1?
If a Tau gunrig fortification shoots its railgun at something with a markerlight, and therefor gets +1. Does the unit inside get a +1 regardless of what they shoot at? Because the gunrig got a +1.
Crossfire is a very specific modifier. You need the keyword, and your target needs a marker.
No this rule won't let you just ignore those requirements.
If the unit inside doesn't need crossfire to get a +1 hit then the target wouldn't need a marker either, and gak gets really bad really fast.
If the transport shoots at Unit A which is exposed, can the passengers then shoot at Unit B which isn't exposed and still get the +1 wound?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2022/02/06 10:01:22
Subject: Re:Crossfire, shooting from transports with units without crossfire.
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
The answer to all of your questions is yes, because the FAQs say so. Its irrelevant where the transport gets modifiers from. Does it sound right ? No, it doesnt.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2022/02/06 10:02:51
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2022/02/06 11:03:13
Subject: Re:Crossfire, shooting from transports with units without crossfire.
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
What do you mean by this?
It sounds right to me, because the rules say it is right.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2022/02/06 16:09:16
Subject: Re:Crossfire, shooting from transports with units without crossfire.
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
My knowledge of the Crossfire rule is limited, but I believe it is a time of attack modifier, not a modifier on the unit itself. The Transport doesn't have a general +1 to Wound ability in effect on it. Instead, if it fires at a unit that has a a Crossfire marker on and and if it can draw a line from itself through the target unit to another Crossfire unit, then it's attacks get a +1 to Wound.
So if Crossfire doesn't apply to all attacks the unit makes, only those after a number of checks are made, the unit isn't under the effect of an ability that applies a modifier to its attacks. Therefore, the Crossfire modifier doesn't transfer to embarked units.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2022/02/06 20:46:14
Subject: Crossfire, shooting from transports with units without crossfire.
|
 |
Brainy Zoanthrope
|
The crossfire wording is restrictive.
The but faq is
If a Transport model is under the effects of an ability which
would apply a modifier to a dice roll made when making a
ranged attack (such as a modifier to its hit rolls, wound rolls,
etc.) the same modifier applies each time an embarked model
makes a ranged attack.
The question is really
Is crossfire an ability/effect that triggers for the transport if the transport has shot?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2022/02/06 20:55:03
Subject: Crossfire, shooting from transports with units without crossfire.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
"Is under"
It isn't "under" unless it is in the act of firing at the crossfire target.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2022/02/06 23:24:49
Subject: Crossfire, shooting from transports with units without crossfire.
|
 |
Preacher of the Emperor
|
Another scenario, the truck fires at a crossfire unit and gets the modifier. Now the embarked unit on the truck fires at a completely different target unit. Does it still get the modifier?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2022/02/06 23:34:48
Subject: Crossfire, shooting from transports with units without crossfire.
|
 |
Brainy Zoanthrope
|
I think with the crossfire rule. If the truck would shoot at a crossfire token afflicted unit, it would get +1 to hit/wound. Thus it would follow that an embarked unit shooting at a unit that would give the truck +1 to hit/wound conveys this benefit onto the embarked unit.
In the case where the embarked unit would shoot at a non crossfire token afflicted unit the benefit would not be conveyed.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2022/02/07 08:39:22
Subject: Crossfire, shooting from transports with units without crossfire.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
I disagree
The truck doesn't have the modifier unless it is in the act of shooting at the correct unit. At all other times, it has no modifier.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2022/02/07 14:54:42
Subject: Crossfire, shooting from transports with units without crossfire.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Glasgow
|
The new rule means that modifiers to vehicles get passed on to that unit inside.
This would be the modification rule not the modifier. So modifiers arnt instantly passed on.
E.g. if a rule says vehicles can reroll hits of 1. It wouldn't effect the unit inside because its not a vehicle.(baring the stormblade cyclops combo)
Conversely <regiment> units can reroll 1's to hit would effect <regiments> inside because they meet the criteria
If the shooting units not crossfire it does not get +1 to hit because its not a crossfire unit.
Because the rule that is passed down is Once an enemy unit has a crossfire marker, it becomes especially vulnerable to attack. First, any further Crossfire units shooting at them add 1 to their hit rolls. And it's not crossfire.
If the unit inside is crossfire it gets the +1 as the same rule is passed down to it but it meets the criteria
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2022/02/07 14:56:19
|
|
 |
 |
|