Switch Theme:

Trukk boyz?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut





UK

This should be a quick one.
I'll be running a specialist mob of trukkboyz this week for the first time, and I am a bit confused on the rule.
I've seen a discussion about it, and some people say you can move the trukk, disembark, move the boyz, ahile other people say the boyz cant move.

I was under the impression that the second case was the correct one, but reading the rule both on battlescribbe and wahapedia says:

Trukk Boyz: A TRUKK BOYZ unit can disembark from a TRUKK even if that TRUKK has made a Normal Move this phase.
While any TRUKK BOYZ units are embarked upon a TRUKK, each time that TRUKK model makes a ranged attack, add 1 to that attack's hit roll.

This means you could, with waaagh do a normal move with the trukk, disembark, move and advance the boyz, shoot, charge.
Is this correct? Where does it says you cant move the boyz after disembark?

Serve the Emperor today, for tomorrow you may be be dead.
Painting blog:
https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/793314.page
 
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins





Tacoma, WA, USA

Trukk Boyz can do everything a disembarked unit is eligible to do after disembarking even if they disembark after the Trukk performs a Normal Move.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 alextroy wrote:
Trukk Boyz can do everything a disembarked unit is eligible to do after disembarking even if they disembark after the Trukk performs a Normal Move.
This is correct, as I have not found any rule to the contrary.

@OP The "other people say the boyz cant move" need to provide a rule stating that, if they can not, then it is not a rule.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot




UK

The rule in question is in the latest core book FAQ here https://www.warhammer-community.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/08/9329uszc31Meu3N3.pdf on page 8 under "rules that count as remaining stationary" (move vehicle, disembark unit, charge unit is prohibited).

It's not clear one way or the other as the definition of a "rule that counts as remaining stationary" isn't particularly well defined and Trukk Boyz does not explicity call itself out as a remain stationary rule, but the same rare rules FAQ does state that anything that lets you act as if you were stationary is a remain stationary rule which potentially means that as disembarking usually requires a transport to remain stationary then Trukk Boyz should fall under this... It's a mess and the FAQ needs a FAQ.

So discuss with opponent/TO etc.
   
Made in de
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk






 Insularum wrote:
The rule in question is in the latest core book FAQ here https://www.warhammer-community.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/08/9329uszc31Meu3N3.pdf on page 8 under "rules that count as remaining stationary" (move vehicle, disembark unit, charge unit is prohibited).

It's not clear one way or the other as the definition of a "rule that counts as remaining stationary" isn't particularly well defined and Trukk Boyz does not explicity call itself out as a remain stationary rule, but the same rare rules FAQ does state that anything that lets you act as if you were stationary is a remain stationary rule which potentially means that as disembarking usually requires a transport to remain stationary then Trukk Boyz should fall under this... It's a mess and the FAQ needs a FAQ.

So discuss with opponent/TO etc.


Trukk boyz doesn't even use the word "stationary", so they don't interact with that FAQ at all.

It's also worth noting that technically transports do not need to have remained stationary to allow passengers to disembark from them - it just prevents you from disembarking when you make "a Normal Move, an Advance or ha[ve] Fallen Back that phase". Trukk boyz grant permission to disembark despite having made a normal move, but still cannot disembark from an advancing or falling back transport. If the transport would have counted as stationary for the purpose of disembarking, this would not be the case.

7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. 
   
Made in gb
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot




UK

 Jidmah wrote:
 Insularum wrote:
The rule in question is in the latest core book FAQ here https://www.warhammer-community.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/08/9329uszc31Meu3N3.pdf on page 8 under "rules that count as remaining stationary" (move vehicle, disembark unit, charge unit is prohibited).

It's not clear one way or the other as the definition of a "rule that counts as remaining stationary" isn't particularly well defined and Trukk Boyz does not explicity call itself out as a remain stationary rule, but the same rare rules FAQ does state that anything that lets you act as if you were stationary is a remain stationary rule which potentially means that as disembarking usually requires a transport to remain stationary then Trukk Boyz should fall under this... It's a mess and the FAQ needs a FAQ.

So discuss with opponent/TO etc.


Trukk boyz doesn't even use the word "stationary", so they don't interact with that FAQ at all.

It's also worth noting that technically transports do not need to have remained stationary to allow passengers to disembark from them - it just prevents you from disembarking when you make "a Normal Move, an Advance or ha[ve] Fallen Back that phase". Trukk boyz grant permission to disembark despite having made a normal move, but still cannot disembark from an advancing or falling back transport. If the transport would have counted as stationary for the purpose of disembarking, this would not be the case.

Not saying stationary isn't good enough though, as the FAQ clearly states you need a rule other than remains stationary which must explicitly allow disembark after movement in order to do so:
Even if a Transport model is subject to such a rule, embarked models still cannot disembark from that Transport during the Movement phase if that Transport has already moved, unless that Transport (or the models embarked within it) have a rule that explicitly allows them to disembark after the Transport has moved (but if a unit does so, it cannot then charge during the same turn).

I can't think of a way to define Trukk Boyz as a rule that does not meet this criteria regardless of whether it is a remains stationary rule or not.
-Is Trukk Boyz a rule that explicitly allows move+disembark: yes
-Does Trukk Boyz provide any other explicit rules that might override core rules to determine what you can do after disembarking: no

   
Made in de
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk






Trukks are not "subject to such a rule", the trukk has simply made a normal move and can never count as stationary after having moved. Therefore the rest of the FAQ does not apply.

The sole reason you see an issue is because you are applying a rule which you should not be applying.

Simple as that.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2022/04/06 06:03:40


7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: