Switch Theme:

Multiple weapons on single model shooting simultaneously?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in pl
Pile of Necron Spare Parts





Ok, so different topic (Supercharging Plasma Inceptors) got me thinking.

If you overcharge both plasma weapons on one Inceptor model and the "first" one you roll for gets 1 to hit and gets him killed, does he get to shot with the other one?

As far as I know it should be the case since, all attacks happen simultaneously technically speaking.

(Of course you shouldn't be fast rolling for whole squad as then it is impossible to tell which model got 1s to hit - or use one colour of dice for one model, so you know which one gets killed)
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

There is nothing in the rules saying that all shooting from a model happens simultaneously. If you think otherwise please provide a rules citation. You can fast roll, but that still doesnt mean that it happens at the same time.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2022/04/05 09:53:00


 
   
Made in pl
Pile of Necron Spare Parts





From plasma overchage profile weapons rules:

If any unmodified hit rolls of 1 are made for attacks with this weapon profile, the bearer is destroyed after shooting with this weapon

So it indeed doesn't happen simultaneously? Each Inceptor has to shot first with one overcharged plasma gun and then if he survives, he gets to shot with the other?

That means they have quite high chance of getting only half shots each, unless you overcharge only one gun on each model and shot with normal profile first?

Hmmm that makes them even less viable than most people say.
Also most players I have seen in person or online play them incorrectly then...
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh




Per the BRB page 217 "If a unit shoots with multiple weapons, all attacks made with
weapons that have the same profile must be resolved before resolving attacks with the next."

Please note the "must" in that sentence. Therefore by the RAW if you are firing 2 overcharged weapons at the same target you must make both attacks (It's not optional). Then if one of the weapons kills the attacker you remove it from the board.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2022/04/05 12:10:43


 
   
Made in pl
Pile of Necron Spare Parts





But also from Core Rules (shooting):


If you have selected more than one target for your unit to shoot at, you must resolve all the attacks against one target before moving on to the next target. If your unit is shooting more than one ranged weapon at a target, and those weapons have different characteristics profiles, then after you have resolved attacks with one of those weapons you must, if any other weapons with the same characteristics profile are also being shot at that unit, resolve those attacks before resolving any attacks against the target unit with a weapon that has a different characteristics profile.

There is nowhere stated that if model is removed he can't finish his shooting attacks hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

So in RAW like VERY RAW they get to finish shooting all weapons (even if some models get removed during shooting) ???
Anyone?


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Leo_the_Rat wrote:
Per the BRB page 217 "If a unit shoots with multiple weapons, all attacks made with
weapons that have the same profile must be resolved before resolving attacks with the next."

Please note the "must" in that sentence. Therefore by the RAW if you are firing 2 overcharged weapons at the same target you must make both attacks (It's not optional). Then if one of the weapons kills the attacker you remove it from the board.


Oh, ok I found that like 5 min later, so by RAW they can all overcharge and get all shots, not so bad.
Thx

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2022/04/05 12:12:28


 
   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran





You have permission to fast roll, so just do that every time and the question is not relevant.

8930 points 6800 points 75 points 600 points
2810 points 5740 points 2650 points 3275 points
55 points 640 points 1840 points 435 points
2990 points 700 points 2235 points 1935 points
3460 points 1595 points 2480 points 2895 points
 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

 Mage Aramil wrote:
There is nowhere stated that if model is removed he can't finish his shooting attacks hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

So in RAW like VERY RAW they get to finish shooting all weapons (even if some models get removed during shooting) ???
Anyone?


Don’t… don’t do that.

“If a model’s wounds are reduced to 0 or less, it is destroyed and removed from play.” Also from the Core Rules (section on Making Attacks).

You simply don’t get to finish shooting if you’re dead. You’re dead.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh




 Mage Aramil wrote:
There is nowhere stated that if model is removed he can't finish his shooting attacks hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

So in RAW like VERY RAW they get to finish shooting all weapons (even if some models get removed during shooting) ???Anyone?


Unfortunately you are misreading the rule. You get to finish making attacks with all of the weapons with the same weapon profile not all your weapons.
   
Made in gb
Battleship Captain





Bristol (UK)

I remember we got into a right old tiffy with this when a similar question came up about Tankbuster Tankhammers and Dakka Dakka.

The rules aren't especially clear, because yes the model's immediately removed - but eligibility for attacks is checked at the beginning of the sequence. So one could argue you are eligible to make attacks even 'post mortem' as you've already been okayed to shoot and never get asked again.

I think it's best to not think too hard about this as it's just not clear, and instead go with what looks/feels right.
In this case I'd say shooting both guns regardless is clearly right, not only would it be painfully slow otherwise but narratively of course they're blazing away with both guns at the same time.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: