Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2022/06/22 16:54:08
Subject: Rules stacking question
|
 |
Stealthy Kroot Stalker
|
If you have multiple sources of exploding 6's, (for example Tau Kayoun and Cadre Fireblade) do they stack? Would one roll of 6 generate 2 additional hits, or do they cancel out and only generate 1 extra hit?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2022/06/22 17:04:34
Subject: Rules stacking question
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Assuming you meant "Kauyon" and not Kayoun, the "Kauyon" rules say if you meet the conditions you score "1 additional hit."
The Volley Fire (Aura) from the Cadre Fireblade says if you meet the conditions you score "one additional hit."
So they would seem to stack.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2022/06/23 03:03:38
Subject: Re:Rules stacking question
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
SCORING ADDITIONAL HITS
When a model makes an attack, some rules will let that attack score one or more additional hits on a particular hit roll (e.g. ‘each time an attack is made with this weapon, an unmodified hit roll of 6 scores 1 additional hit’). If the attacking model is also benefiting from any other rules that trigger on a particular hit roll (e.g. ‘each time an attack is made with this weapon, an unmodified hit roll of 6 automatically wounds the target’), then only the original attack benefits from those rules. If any additional hits are scored as the result of a particular hit roll, those additional hits are not considered to have been made with any hit roll – they simply hit the target and you must continue the attack sequence for them (i.e. make a wound roll).
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2022/06/23 05:25:15
Subject: Re:Rules stacking question
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
p5freak wrote:SCORING ADDITIONAL HITS
When a model makes an attack, some rules will let that attack score one or more additional hits on a particular hit roll (e.g. ‘each time an attack is made with this weapon, an unmodified hit roll of 6 scores 1 additional hit’). If the attacking model is also benefiting from any other rules that trigger on a particular hit roll (e.g. ‘each time an attack is made with this weapon, an unmodified hit roll of 6 automatically wounds the target’), then only the original attack benefits from those rules. If any additional hits are scored as the result of a particular hit roll, those additional hits are not considered to have been made with any hit roll – they simply hit the target and you must continue the attack sequence for them (i.e. make a wound roll).
This is additional info that pertains to the subject. However it does not address the OP's question.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2022/06/23 05:48:06
Subject: Re:Rules stacking question
|
 |
Perturbed Blood Angel Tactical Marine
|
DeathReaper wrote: p5freak wrote:SCORING ADDITIONAL HITS
When a model makes an attack, some rules will let that attack score one or more additional hits on a particular hit roll (e.g. ‘each time an attack is made with this weapon, an unmodified hit roll of 6 scores 1 additional hit’). If the attacking model is also benefiting from any other rules that trigger on a particular hit roll (e.g. ‘each time an attack is made with this weapon, an unmodified hit roll of 6 automatically wounds the target’), then only the original attack benefits from those rules. If any additional hits are scored as the result of a particular hit roll, those additional hits are not considered to have been made with any hit roll – they simply hit the target and you must continue the attack sequence for them (i.e. make a wound roll).
This is additional info that pertains to the subject. However it does not address the OP's question.
I think it helps - "If the attacking model is also benefiting from any other rules that trigger on a particular hit roll... then only the original attack benefits from those rules"
So multiple rules that trigger on a result of a particular hit roll do all apply. So in this particular case, both rules grant +1 hit, for a net +2 hits on an unmodified 6, but those additional hits wouldn't count for any further abilities such as unmodified 6's autowound, only the original roll.
AFAIK there's not a general rule preventing stacking except where specifically noted, e.g. auras with the same name don't stack for example.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2022/06/23 06:39:47
Subject: Rules stacking question
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
But the OP was not talking about what happens on those additional hits.
He was only asking of two rules that added one hit can be used at the same time. He did not mention autowound at all.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2022/06/23 09:24:31
Subject: Rules stacking question
|
 |
Perturbed Blood Angel Tactical Marine
|
I *know* but the fact that multiple rules apply to a single hit roll means that multiple rules can apply to a single roll in HIS case.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2022/06/23 15:28:31
Subject: Rules stacking question
|
 |
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle
|
DeathReaper wrote:But the OP was not talking about what happens on those additional hits.
He was only asking of two rules that added one hit can be used at the same time. He did not mention autowound at all.
Adding extra information that has a good chance of being relevant is a good thing to do.
|
Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! |
|
 |
 |
|