Switch Theme:

Restrictions on transports shooting  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




As per the FAQ, while models inside of transports get to use their own rules and abilities while shooting, they are subject to the restrictions of their transport, and get any bonuses their transport gets for shooting. Does this mean that a unit with "may fall back and shoot" cannot shoot while inside of a transport without it which has fallen back, whereas a unit without "may fall back and shoot" may shoot from inside of a transport with that ability that has fallen back?
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Yes, thats what the rules say. Those rules are a disaster, and need a rework, or open topped should be removed completely. Another ridiculous example is a unit with heavy weapons advancing and boarding a remained stationary transport. They can shoot their heavy weapons, because they count as remained stationary.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 p5freak wrote:
Yes, thats what the rules say. Those rules are a disaster, and need a rework, or open topped should be removed completely. Another ridiculous example is a unit with heavy weapons advancing and boarding a remained stationary transport. They can shoot their heavy weapons, because they count as remained stationary.
Except they also advanced, so yea...

You have to take all rules into account.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 DeathReaper wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
Yes, thats what the rules say. Those rules are a disaster, and need a rework, or open topped should be removed completely. Another ridiculous example is a unit with heavy weapons advancing and boarding a remained stationary transport. They can shoot their heavy weapons, because they count as remained stationary.
Except they also advanced, so yea...

You have to take all rules into account.


There's another part that says any rule or effect that applied to them when they weren't in the transport doesn't count when they're inside it.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Hecaton wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
Yes, thats what the rules say. Those rules are a disaster, and need a rework, or open topped should be removed completely. Another ridiculous example is a unit with heavy weapons advancing and boarding a remained stationary transport. They can shoot their heavy weapons, because they count as remained stationary.
Except they also advanced, so yea...

You have to take all rules into account.


There's another part that says any rule or effect that applied to them when they weren't in the transport doesn't count when they're inside it.
Where is that?

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins





Tacoma, WA, USA

Bullet Point 6 of the FAQ Rare Rules addition, although I don't think it exactly lines up with his point.
Page 363, Rare Rules
Add the following:
Shooting Whilst Embarked on a Transport
Some rules, such as Open-topped, enable units to shoot and make ranged attacks even while embarked within a Transport model. Each time such an embarked unit is selected to shoot, the following rules apply to it:
1. Stratagems cannot be used on that unit in order to affect its attacks, and you cannot use the Command Re-roll Stratagem to affect any dice rolls made for its models’ ranged attacks.
2. Measure distances and draw line of sight from any point on the Transport model when models in that unit make the ranged attacks.
3. If the Transport model made a Normal Move, Advanced, Fell Back or Remained Stationary this turn, embarked units are considered to have done the same when they make ranged attacks.
4. While the Transport model is within Engagement Range of any enemy units, unless the ability that the Transport model has that allows its passengers to shoot whilst embarked states otherwise, then models in embarked units cannot make ranged attacks, except with Pistols.
5. Unless specifically stated otherwise, the embarked unit is
not affected by the abilities (including aura abilities) of any other unit, even if that unit is also embarked within the same Transport model.
6. If the unit was under the effects of a rule when it embarked on the Transport model (such as rules bestowed on it during the Command phase, by a psychic power or a Stratagem etc.) those rules do not apply to that unit whilst it is embarked.
7. Any abilities (including Detachment abilities) that models in an embarked unit have, or that their weapons have, continue to apply when they make ranged attacks.
8. If a restriction applies to the Transport model, that same restriction applies to units embarked within it. For example, if the Transport model is not eligible to shoot with because it has Advanced or Fallen Back this turn, its passengers are not eligible to shoot with.
9. If a Transport model is under the effects of an ability which would apply a modifier to a hit roll, wound roll or damage roll when making a ranged attack, the same modifier applies each time an embarked model makes a ranged attack.
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

 DeathReaper wrote:
Except they also advanced, so yea...

You have to take all rules into account.


Thats very true. You should check rule no. 3. Which says that, if the transport remained stationary, the now embarked unit also counts as remained stationary, when they make ranged attacks.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2022/07/30 17:41:13


 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 p5freak wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
Except they also advanced, so yea...

You have to take all rules into account.


Thats very true. You should check rule no. 3. Which says that, if the transport remained stationary, the now embarked unit also counts as remained stationary, when they make ranged attacks.
Yep, I see what that says, what takes away the fact that they advanced?

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

The fact that they count as remained stationary, when they embark the transport which remained stationary. They dont count as advanced anymore.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 p5freak wrote:
The fact that they count as remained stationary, when they embark the transport which remained stationary.
That does not say that they no longer advanced, just that they "count as remained stationary" They still advanced and they count as remained stationary, so you have to take all the rules into account.

They dont count as advanced anymore.
Citation needed. Because none of the rules say this.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Ok, so they advanced, but count as remained stationary. They can still fire their heavy weapons.
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins





Tacoma, WA, USA

Page 363, Rare Rules
Add the following:
Rules That Count As Remaining Stationary
Some rules allow a unit to count as having Remained Stationary, or count as if it had not moved, even if that unit has moved during its Movement phase. The following rules apply to these type of rules:
1. Such rules, if they apply in the Shooting phase, mean that a unit is eligible to shoot even if it has Advanced or Fallen Back this turn.
2. Such rules, if they apply in the Shooting phase, mean that Infantry models do not suffer the penalty to hit rolls incurred for firing Heavy weapons in the same turn that their unit
has moved.
3. Such rules, if they apply in the Shooting phase, mean that models do not suffer the penalty to hit rolls incurred for firing Assault weapons in the same turn that their unit has Advanced.
4. Such rules, if they apply in the Charge phase, mean that the unit is eligible to declare a charge even if it has Advanced or Fallen Back this turn.
5. Such rules mean that any other rules (abilities, Stratagems etc.) that are used or triggered when a unit Remains Stationary (e.g. Grinding Advance) can be used/are triggered.
6. Even if a Reinforcement unit is subject to such a rule, that rule has no effect on that unit in the turn they are set up on the battlefield. This means Reinforcement units always count as having moved (i.e. they never count as having Remained Stationary). Remember that this also includes Repositioned and Replacement units (pg 363).
7. Even if a Transport model is subject to such a rule, embarked models still cannot disembark from that Transport during the Movement phase if that Transport has already moved, unless that Transport (or the models embarked within it) have a rule that explicitly allows them to disembark after the Transport has moved (but if a unit does so, it cannot then charge during the same turn).
8. If a unit has disembarked from a Transport model, rules which allow that unit to be treated as though it has Remained Stationary have no effect.
9. Even if a unit is subject to such a rule, it cannot start an action if it has Advanced or Fallen Back this turn, and any action that it is currently performing but has yet to complete will still fail if that unit makes a Normal Move, Advances, Falls Back, performs a Heroic Intervention or declares a charge.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2022/07/31 05:13:41


 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Is that an old FAQ?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2022/07/31 06:25:21


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

 DeathReaper wrote:
Is that an old FAQ?



Yes, but it hasnt been updated.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2022/07/31 06:53:55


 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 p5freak wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
Is that an old FAQ?



Yes, but it hasnt been updated.
Weird, I am not seeing that one on the site.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

It has been added in the core rules update 1.2 in december 20 and hasnt been updated since then.
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins





Tacoma, WA, USA

 DeathReaper wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
Is that an old FAQ?



Yes, but it hasnt been updated.
Weird, I am not seeing that one on the site.
Then you might need to purge your cashe. I pulled it directly from Warhammer Community. It is on page 8

https://www.warhammer-community.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/08/3zWhh17AqvICN69m.pdf

   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: