Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
Times and dates in your local timezone.
Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.
I have a very niche rule question. There is a Custodes specific Shadowthrone Battle Trait called Inexorable Persecution, which has the following effect: "Each time a charge roll is made for this model, any distances of less than 7" count as 7"
Now if a model also gets +1 to its charge rolls, for example because they have the Solar Watch shield host, does that effectively mean they always get at least an 8" charge? Or does the "charge roll always counts as 7" include all modifiers that are added after the roll?
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2022/08/19 08:01:34
5 inches +1 =6 which counts as 7" with Inexorable Persecution
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
DeathReaper wrote: 5 inches +1 =6 which counts as 7" with Inexorable Persecution
So the effect is only applied after modifiers? I wasn't sure because it specifically mentiones the roll itself, so I thought if the sum of the two D6 for the charge is less then 7, they cound as seven, then add modifiers.
DeathReaper wrote: 5 inches +1 =6 which counts as 7" with Inexorable Persecution
Citation please. There is nothing in the rules supporting this.
The rules support it.
Check the Dice section under "modifier". It says "All modifiers (if any) to a dice roll are cumulative; you must apply all division modifiers before applying all multiplication modifiers, and before applying all addition and then all subtraction modifiers. Round any fractions up after applying all modifiers."
Nothing says to apply Inexorable Persecution before you calculate modifiers, so you can not do that.
Permissive ruleset and all.
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
DeathReaper wrote: 5 inches +1 =6 which counts as 7" with Inexorable Persecution
Citation please. There is nothing in the rules supporting this.
The rules support it.
Check the Dice section under "modifier". It says "All modifiers (if any) to a dice roll are cumulative; you must apply all division modifiers before applying all multiplication modifiers, and before applying all addition and then all subtraction modifiers. Round any fractions up after applying all modifiers."
Nothing says to apply Inexorable Persecution before you calculate modifiers, so you can not do that.
Permissive ruleset and all.
But nothing in your citation says that you have to apply inexorable persecution after adding the modifiers to the dice roll. The citation only states how to calculate if you have multiple modifiers.
DeathReaper wrote: 5 inches +1 =6 which counts as 7" with Inexorable Persecution
Citation please. There is nothing in the rules supporting this.
The rules support it.
Check the Dice section under "modifier". It says "All modifiers (if any) to a dice roll are cumulative; you must apply all division modifiers before applying all multiplication modifiers, and before applying all addition and then all subtraction modifiers. Round any fractions up after applying all modifiers."
Nothing says to apply Inexorable Persecution before you calculate modifiers, so you can not do that.
Permissive ruleset and all.
But nothing in your citation says that you have to apply inexorable persecution after adding the modifiers to the dice roll. The citation only states how to calculate if you have multiple modifiers.
That is because it does not need to.
You are instructed to roll for the charge, "You then make a charge roll for your unit by rolling 2D6" (Charge phase rules) Then you move your models if they rolled high enough. "This is the maximum number of inches each model in the charging unit can now be moved if they can make the charge move"
So you need to determine what the unit actually rolled too see if you get a distance "of less than 7[inches]" before you see if you can use Inexorable Persecution to count the roll as 7inches
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
DeathReaper wrote: 5 inches +1 =6 which counts as 7" with Inexorable Persecution
Citation please. There is nothing in the rules supporting this.
The rules support it.
Check the Dice section under "modifier". It says "All modifiers (if any) to a dice roll are cumulative; you must apply all division modifiers before applying all multiplication modifiers, and before applying all addition and then all subtraction modifiers. Round any fractions up after applying all modifiers."
Nothing says to apply Inexorable Persecution before you calculate modifiers, so you can not do that.
Permissive ruleset and all.
But nothing in your citation says that you have to apply inexorable persecution after adding the modifiers to the dice roll. The citation only states how to calculate if you have multiple modifiers.
That is because it does not need to.
You are instructed to roll for the charge, "You then make a charge roll for your unit by rolling 2D6" (Charge phase rules) Then you move your models if they rolled high enough. "This is the maximum number of inches each model in the charging unit can now be moved if they can make the charge move"
So you need to determine what the unit actually rolled too see if you get a distance "of less than 7[inches]" before you see if you can use Inexorable Persecution to count the roll as 7inches
If that's your interpretation that's totally fine and I can see it. I just honestly don't see that being supported by the rules citations you gave. You could easily interpret it as Inexorable Persecution coming into effect after you have rolled the dice for the charge roll, since it specifically refers to the roll in the rule, and then applying the modifiers. Since you already know whether the distance you rolled with the two D6 is below 7 or not.
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2022/08/19 12:42:15
DR, i havent seen any citiation which backs up your argument. Nothing in the rules says that IP is before or after modifiers. We dont know that. It needs a FAQ.
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2022/08/19 12:44:35
p5freak wrote: DR, i havent seen any citiation which backs up your argument. Nothing in the rules says that IP is before or after modifiers. We dont know that. It needs a FAQ.
Because you were not looking at my posts.
Specifically:
You are instructed to roll for the charge, "You then make a charge roll for your unit by rolling 2D6" (Charge phase rules) Then you move your models if they rolled high enough. "This is the maximum number of inches each model in the charging unit can now be moved if they can make the charge move"
So you need to determine what the unit actually rolled too see if you get a distance "of less than 7[inches]" before you see if you can use Inexorable Persecution to count the roll as 7 inches
Nothing refutes this logic.
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2022/08/19 12:56:53
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
p5freak wrote: DR, i havent seen any citiation which backs up your argument. Nothing in the rules says that IP is before or after modifiers. We dont know that. It needs a FAQ.
Because you were not looking at my posts.
Specifically:
You are instructed to roll for the charge, "You then make a charge roll for your unit by rolling 2D6" (Charge phase rules) Then you move your models if they rolled high enough. "This is the maximum number of inches each model in the charging unit can now be moved if they can make the charge move"
So you need to determine what the unit actually rolled too see if you get a distance "of less than 7[inches]" before you see if you can use Inexorable Persecution to count the roll as 7 inches
Nothing refutes this logic.
Sure, but modifiers could very well be added after determening this, nothing in the citations you posted refutes that logic so we're at square one with two conflicting interpretations.
p5freak wrote: DR, i havent seen any citiation which backs up your argument. Nothing in the rules says that IP is before or after modifiers. We dont know that. It needs a FAQ.
Because you were not looking at my posts.
I did look at your posts. Nothing supports your interpretation.
p5freak wrote: DR, i havent seen any citiation which backs up your argument. Nothing in the rules says that IP is before or after modifiers. We dont know that. It needs a FAQ.
Because you were not looking at my posts.
Specifically:
You are instructed to roll for the charge, "You then make a charge roll for your unit by rolling 2D6" (Charge phase rules) Then you move your models if they rolled high enough. "This is the maximum number of inches each model in the charging unit can now be moved if they can make the charge move"
So you need to determine what the unit actually rolled too see if you get a distance "of less than 7[inches]" before you see if you can use Inexorable Persecution to count the roll as 7 inches
Nothing refutes this logic.
Sure, but modifiers could very well be added after determening this, nothing in the citations you posted refutes that logic so we're at square one with two conflicting interpretations.
No they can not, because adding modifiers is something that is done to determine the "maximum number of inches each model in the charging unit can now be moved"
Without modifiers, you have a unmodified roll, and we know that modifiers (if any) apply to a dice roll.
p5freak wrote: DR, i havent seen any citiation which backs up your argument. Nothing in the rules says that IP is before or after modifiers. We dont know that. It needs a FAQ.
Because you were not looking at my posts.
I did look at your posts. Nothing supports your interpretation.
Then you did not read and/or understand what I wrote.
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2022/08/19 13:36:13
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
p5freak wrote: DR, i havent seen any citiation which backs up your argument. Nothing in the rules says that IP is before or after modifiers. We dont know that. It needs a FAQ.
Because you were not looking at my posts.
I did look at your posts. Nothing supports your interpretation.
"All modifiers (if any) to a dice roll are cumulative..." tells you that the modifiers affect the dice roll, which is what we use to determine the total distance in a charge. We haven't actually got a complete charge distance until we've added all the modifiers to the roll.
I can already see this is turning into another classic YMDC p5 thread though, so I guess we'll just let this one run for another 2 pages before it gets locked.
p5freak wrote: DR, i havent seen any citiation which backs up your argument. Nothing in the rules says that IP is before or after modifiers. We dont know that. It needs a FAQ.
Because you were not looking at my posts.
I did look at your posts. Nothing supports your interpretation.
"All modifiers (if any) to a dice roll are cumulative..." tells you that the modifiers affect the dice roll, which is what we use to determine the total distance in a charge. We haven't actually got a complete charge distance until we've added all the modifiers to the roll.
I can already see this is turning into another classic YMDC p5 thread though, so I guess we'll just let this one run for another 2 pages before it gets locked.
Huh? Your citation only says they are cumulative as in if you have multiple modifiers, they are added (or subtracted if you get a -x to charge). It says nothing about when Inexorable Persecution comes into effect. Since that rule specifically refers to the charge roll, it could very well mean that the "no less than 7" refers to the value of the two D6 rolled, modifiers added after that determination.
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2022/08/19 13:48:48
p5freak wrote: DR, i havent seen any citiation which backs up your argument. Nothing in the rules says that IP is before or after modifiers. We dont know that. It needs a FAQ.
Because you were not looking at my posts.
I did look at your posts. Nothing supports your interpretation.
"All modifiers (if any) to a dice roll are cumulative..." tells you that the modifiers affect the dice roll, which is what we use to determine the total distance in a charge. We haven't actually got a complete charge distance until we've added all the modifiers to the roll.
I can already see this is turning into another classic YMDC p5 thread though, so I guess we'll just let this one run for another 2 pages before it gets locked.
Huh? Your citation only says they are cumulative as in if you have multiple modifiers, they are added (or subtracted if you get a -x to charge). It says nothing about when Inexorable Persecution comes into effect. Since that rule specifically refers to the charge roll, it could very well mean that the "no less than 7" refers to the value of the two D6 rolled, modifiers added after that determination.
Without the modifiers added you do not know if the roll is less than 7 inches...
That is why you add modifiers first.
You are instructed to roll for the charge, "You then make a charge roll for your unit by rolling 2D6" (Charge phase rules) Then you move your models if they rolled high enough. "This is the maximum number of inches each model in the charging unit can now be moved if they can make the charge move"
So you need to determine what the unit actually rolled too see if you get a distance "of less than 7[inches]" before you see if you can use Inexorable Persecution to count the roll as 7 inches
Nothing refutes this logic.
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2022/08/19 13:59:13
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
My reading is that modifiers are applied, then the 7" rule.
Each time a charge roll is made for this model, any distances of less than 7" count as 7".
The fact that it say "any distances of less than 7"..." rather than "any roll of less than 7..." makes this clear. Charge distance is determined by rolling 2d6 and as with all rolls, modifiers are applied to determine the distance in inches.
In order to apply Inexorable Precision, the charge distance in inches needs to be determined, the only way to do this is to apply modifiers to the dice roll and see if a charge distance of 7 or more inches is achieved. If the charge distance is under 7", Inexorable Precision is applied.
DeathReaper wrote: Without the modifiers added you do not know if the roll is less than 7 inches...
I dont know about you, but when i roll a 6 i very well know that that is less than 7.
No, you did not roll a 6. You rolled something that needs modifiers added to it to get the final number. You really do not know what you rolled until modifiers are added.
Until modifiers are added the unmodified roll is meaningless as far as the 40K game is concerned.
But I am done dealing with your posts that ignore logic, so please try to think about the ruleset, and not automatically be contrary for no real reason.
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2022/08/20 01:11:37
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
DeathReaper wrote: Without the modifiers added you do not know if the roll is less than 7 inches...
I dont know about you, but when i roll a 6 i very well know that that is less than 7.
No, you did not roll a 6. You rolled something that needs modifiers added to it to get the final number. You really do not know what you rolled until modifiers are added.
When i roll a 6 i did not roll a 6 ? Really ? I dont know the result yet, but i very well know what i have rolled.
Until modifiers are added the unmodified roll is meaningless as far as the 40K game is concerned.
Really ? Unmodified rolls are meaningless ? Ever heard of rules that hits or wounds fail on unmodified rolls of 1-3 ? Or rules that happen when an unmodified 6 is rolled ? Read the rules dude.
DeathReaper wrote: Without the modifiers added you do not know if the roll is less than 7 inches...
I dont know about you, but when i roll a 6 i very well know that that is less than 7.
No, you did not roll a 6. You rolled something that needs modifiers added to it to get the final number. You really do not know what you rolled until modifiers are added.
When i roll a 6 i did not roll a 6 ? Really ? I dont know the result yet, but i very well know what i have rolled.
Knowing the numbers on the dice after they are rolled does not mean you know what you rolled for charge range, if there are modifiers to that roll, as far as the game is concerned. You do realize that right?
Just like If you have a 3+ Ballistic skill and you roll a 3 on the die, when you also have a -1 to hit, you know you rolled a 3, but as far as the game is concerned (and that is really what we are talking about) you did not roll a 3, because you have a -1, you rolled a 2, even though the die shows a 3...
Until modifiers are added the unmodified roll is meaningless as far as the 40K game is concerned.
Really ? Unmodified rolls are meaningless ? Ever heard of rules that hits or wounds fail on unmodified rolls of 1-3 ? Or rules that happen when an unmodified 6 is rolled ? Read the rules dude.
Way to ignore the context of what I was saying...
You realize I was not talking about "rules that hits or wounds fail on unmodified rolls of 1-3" or "rules that happen when an unmodified 6 is rolled" right?
It does not seem like you understand the discussion, so why participate in it?
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
The result of a roll includes modifiers. No FAQ required, it’s how the rules work.
A +1 modifier to a charge roll resulting in 6” total (total 5 on 2D6 +1) is the result of the dice roll. 6” is less than 7”, so counts as 7” for the purposes of the OP’s rules question. You don’t get to up it to 7” then apply a modifier, it would need to call that out to function that way.
No FAQ needed as this is simply how all dice roll results work unless otherwise specified.
The daft side discussion p5 has started is irrelevant to the OP’s question.
Stormonu wrote: For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
What is your charge distance, if the dice come up 3 and 2?
Could be 8 or 6.
8? False, the distance would be 6 (because 5+1 = 6)
p5freak wrote: We dont know if IP comes before modifiers or not. IP itself is not a modifier.
We know IP comes after you find out your charge distance, Charge distance includes modifiers. As Johnny said The result of a roll includes modifiers. No FAQ required, it’s how the rules work.
What you posted is not correct.
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2022/08/20 20:24:34
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.