Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
Times and dates in your local timezone.
Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.
The new keeper of secrets has some strange abilities. It says "...that model suffers....." or ".....that model makes a melee attack.......". This means that if that model dies those abilties have no effect, because that model is no longer in play. I feel like it should says "...that models unit....", but it doesnt. Is this an error, or intentional ? There arent many multi wound units which have models with more than 4 wounds. It would also require to roll for that model seperately, which feels odd.
Ritual knife
At the end of the Fight phase, you can select one enemy model within 3" of the bearer that lost any wounds during that phase as a result of an attack by the bearer. Roll one D6: on a 2+, that model suffers D3 mortal wounds.
Witstealer sword Melee Melee +2 -3 3
Each time an enemy model loses any wounds as a result of an attack made with this weapon, until the end of the battle, each time that model makes a melee attack, subtract 1 from that attack's wound roll.
Silverstrike(Relic) Melee Melee +3 -3 3
Each time an enemy model loses any wounds as a result of an attack made with this weapon, until the end of the battle, each time that model makes a melee attack, subtract 1 from that attack's hit roll and wound roll.
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
The book is out, what, today? Don’t sweat it until the FAQ. For now it works fine on Characters, vehicles, monsters etc.
It falls down on applying MW to e.g. a unit of Tyranid Zoanthropes as there are no rules for a “model” suffering MW. MW inherently ‘spill over’. But this is quite explicit so works as written for now, in lieu of a clarification later to make it for the core rules better.
Stormonu wrote: For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
JohnnyHell wrote:
It falls down on applying MW to e.g. a unit of Tyranid Zoanthropes as there are no rules for a “model” suffering MW. MW inherently ‘spill over’. But this is quite explicit so works as written for now, in lieu of a clarification later to make it for the core rules better.
Do MW still spill over when the rules explicitly say that only that model suffers MW ?
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2022/09/05 04:06:51
JohnnyHell wrote:
It falls down on applying MW to e.g. a unit of Tyranid Zoanthropes as there are no rules for a “model” suffering MW. MW inherently ‘spill over’. But this is quite explicit so works as written for now, in lieu of a clarification later to make it for the core rules better.
Do MW still spill over when the rules explicitly say that only that model suffers MW ?
What rules explicitly say that only a specific model suffers MW, and not a unit?
It really doesn't matter though, because the rules for MW's say that "excess damage from mortal wounds is not lost. Instead, keep allocating damage to another model in the target unit until either all the damage has been allocated or the target unit is destroyed."
So of course MW spill over, the rules for MW's tells you that they do.
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
JohnnyHell wrote:
It falls down on applying MW to e.g. a unit of Tyranid Zoanthropes as there are no rules for a “model” suffering MW. MW inherently ‘spill over’. But this is quite explicit so works as written for now, in lieu of a clarification later to make it for the core rules better.
Do MW still spill over when the rules explicitly say that only that model suffers MW ?
What rules explicitly say that only a specific model suffers MW, and not a unit?
Ritual knife, which i have quoted here. Its specifically says that model suffers D3 mortal wounds. What about special rule overrides core rule ?
It really doesn't matter though, because the rules for MW's say that "excess damage from mortal wounds is not lost. Instead, keep allocating damage to another model in the target unit until either all the damage has been allocated or the target unit is destroyed."
So of course MW spill over, the rules for MW's tells you that they do.
Except the target was not the unit, it was a model.
MORTAL WOUNDS
Some attacks inflict mortal wounds – these are so powerful that no armour or force field can withstand their fury. Each mortal wound inflicts 1 point of damage on the target unit, and they are always applied one at a time.
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2022/09/05 05:31:52
JohnnyHell wrote: It falls down on applying MW to e.g. a unit of Tyranid Zoanthropes as there are no rules for a “model” suffering MW. MW inherently ‘spill over’. But this is quite explicit so works as written for now, in lieu of a clarification later to make it for the core rules better.
Do MW still spill over when the rules explicitly say that only that model suffers MW ?
What rules explicitly say that only a specific model suffers MW, and not a unit?
Ritual knife, which i have quoted here. Its specifically says that model suffers D3 mortal wounds. What about special rule overrides core rule ?
It really doesn't matter though, because the rules for MW's say that "excess damage from mortal wounds is not lost. Instead, keep allocating damage to another model in the target unit until either all the damage has been allocated or the target unit is destroyed."
So of course MW spill over, the rules for MW's tells you that they do.
Except the target was not the unit, it was a model.
MORTAL WOUNDS Some attacks inflict mortal wounds – these are so powerful that no armour or force field can withstand their fury. Each mortal wound inflicts 1 point of damage on the target unit, and they are always applied one at a time.
Okay, so the Ritual knife lets you select a model to do MW's to at the end of the Fight phase (This is different than selecting a target, aka targeting). If that model is in a unit, then the MW rules say "excess damage from mortal wounds is not lost. Instead, keep allocating damage to another model in the target unit until either all the damage has been allocated or the target unit is destroyed."
So if the model selected dies, then "excess damage from mortal wounds is not lost" and you follow the MW rules.
You can follow both rules without incident.
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2022/09/05 06:04:31
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
2022/09/05 06:30:51
Subject: Re:Keeper of secrets weapons and abilities
You cannot follow the MW core rules because the target was not a unit, it was a model. Specific rule overrides core rule.
MORTAL WOUNDS
Some attacks inflict mortal wounds – these are so powerful that no armour or force field can withstand their fury. Each mortal wound inflicts 1 point of damage on the target unit, and they are always applied one at a time.
Ritual knife
At the end of the Fight phase, you can select one enemy model within 3" of the bearer that lost any wounds during that phase as a result of an attack by the bearer. Roll one D6: on a 2+, that model suffers D3 mortal wounds.
2022/09/05 07:06:26
Subject: Re:Keeper of secrets weapons and abilities
p5freak wrote: You cannot follow the MW core rules because the target was not a unit, it was a model. Specific rule overrides core rule.
MORTAL WOUNDS
Some attacks inflict mortal wounds – these are so powerful that no armour or force field can withstand their fury. Each mortal wound inflicts 1 point of damage on the target unit, and they are always applied one at a time.
Ritual knife
At the end of the Fight phase, you can select one enemy model within 3" of the bearer that lost any wounds during that phase as a result of an attack by the bearer. Roll one D6: on a 2+, that model suffers D3 mortal wounds.
False, you follow what the MW rules say because the model with the Ritual knife used it to attack a unit in the fight phase.
The rules work just fine.
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
2022/09/05 07:25:00
Subject: Re:Keeper of secrets weapons and abilities
p5freak wrote: You cannot follow the MW core rules because the target was not a unit, it was a model. Specific rule overrides core rule.
MORTAL WOUNDS
Some attacks inflict mortal wounds – these are so powerful that no armour or force field can withstand their fury. Each mortal wound inflicts 1 point of damage on the target unit, and they are always applied one at a time.
Ritual knife
At the end of the Fight phase, you can select one enemy model within 3" of the bearer that lost any wounds during that phase as a result of an attack by the bearer. Roll one D6: on a 2+, that model suffers D3 mortal wounds.
False, you follow what the MW rules say because the model with the Ritual knife used it to attack a unit in the fight phase.
The rules work just fine.
Agreed. Both rules work in conjunction. So the MW have to go to the model wounded by the Ritual Knife (though they'd have to anyway in most circumstances due to general wound allocation rules). The basic MW rules tell us those wounds can spill over, so they do. The affected model's unit is still the "target unit" as mentioned in the MW rules.
2022/09/05 07:59:39
Subject: Re:Keeper of secrets weapons and abilities
The rules are working exactly as written and intended.
These knife is designed to finish off wounded models in opposing units, there are lots of units of things with 4W, -1 damage, FNP or other rules to keep them alive. Also good at taking out a lucky character that made alot of their saves.
The swords are designed to help against other big monsters, the keeper is super fast so will usually charge in but is unlikely to get the kill against opposition Bloodthirsters/Avatars/Primarchs/Anything with a phase cap - so the sword is actually a decent defensive tool that reduces the targets ability to hit back - stealing their wits if you will :-)
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2022/09/05 08:00:15