Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/03/07 23:18:22
Subject: Two units of witchseekrs in a rhino
|
 |
Liche Priest Hierophant
|
"Seeker Cadre: At the start of the first battle round, before the first turn begins, this unit, or the ANATHEMA PSYKANA TRANSPORT it is embarked within, can make a Normal Move of up to 6" as if it were your Movement phase. This unit must end that move more than 9" away from any enemy models. If both players have units that can do this, the player who is taking the first turn moves their units first."
You can't ove one rhino twice, right?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2023/03/08 07:44:23
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/03/07 23:35:12
Subject: Re:Two units if witchseekrs in a rhino
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
Correct. Even if there are 2 units in the Rhino, you are only allowed to move the Rhino once.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/03/08 06:02:08
Subject: Re:Two units if witchseekrs in a rhino
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
alextroy wrote:Correct. Even if there are 2 units in the Rhino, you are only allowed to move the Rhino once.
Why ? Is there any rule prohibiting to make a normal move twice in the movement phase ? I dont see any. Its a stratagem which isnt played during a phase, therefore its not limited by the once per phase rule. It can be played twice on the same rhino.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/03/08 06:55:20
Subject: Re:Two units if witchseekrs in a rhino
|
 |
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle
|
p5freak wrote: alextroy wrote:Correct. Even if there are 2 units in the Rhino, you are only allowed to move the Rhino once.
Why ? Is there any rule prohibiting to make a normal move twice in the movement phase ? I dont see any. Its a stratagem which isnt played during a phase, therefore its not limited by the once per phase rule. It can be played twice on the same rhino.
It's not a stratagem.
|
Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/03/08 07:01:32
Subject: Re:Two units if witchseekrs in a rhino
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
Ok, forget everything i said, i confused it for a stratagem
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/03/08 07:31:15
Subject: Re:Two units if witchseekrs in a rhino
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
This is obviously unintentional but I'm not sure if anything directly forbids it.
|
8930 points 6800 points 75 points 600 points
2810 points 5740 points 2650 points 3275 points
55 points 640 points 1840 points 435 points
2990 points 700 points 2235 points 1935 points
3460 points 1595 points 2480 points 2895 points
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/03/08 07:45:34
Subject: Two units of witchseekrs in a rhino
|
 |
Liche Priest Hierophant
|
Rhino goes double wroom. Cool.
I agree it probably is not the intension. But I think it is RAW.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/03/08 08:56:57
Subject: Two units of witchseekrs in a rhino
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Niiai wrote:Rhino goes double wroom. Cool.
I agree it probably is not the intension. But I think it is RAW.
No, if you have two units embaked on a rhino, and you make a Normal Move of up to 6" as if it were your Movement phase once, then that is it, you cant move twice.
The rule says "can make a Normal Move of up to 6" as if it were your Movement phase"
Unit A and Unit B have this rule. They are both embarked on Rhino X. If Rhino X makes a Normal Move of up to 6" as if it were your Movement phase you check unit A, condition fulfilled, Check unit B condition also fulfilled as the unit made a Normal Move of up to 6" as if it were your Movement phase which satisfies both rules.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/03/08 12:02:23
Subject: Re:Two units of witchseekrs in a rhino
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
I agree 100% that this only allows for a single move because you can only select a unit to move once during the movement phase.
Can it then move normally during the actual movement phase?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/03/08 12:11:07
Subject: Re:Two units of witchseekrs in a rhino
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
BossSkuzzbag wrote:I agree 100% that this only allows for a single move because you can only select a unit to move once during the movement phase.
Can it then move normally during the actual movement phase?
Why would it not be able to move normally during the actual movement phase? The movement "At the start of the first battle round, before the first turn begins" has nothing to do with the first movement phase.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/03/08 20:25:56
Subject: Re:Two units of witchseekrs in a rhino
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Mostly I just wanted to say that in so many words.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/03/08 23:19:41
Subject: Two units of witchseekrs in a rhino
|
 |
Liche Priest Hierophant
|
"Seeker Cadre: At the start of the first battle round, before the first turn begins, this unit, or the ANATHEMA PSYKANA TRANSPORT it is embarked within, can make a Normal Move of up to 6" as if it were your Movement phase. This unit must end that move more than 9" away from any enemy models. If both players have units that can do this, the player who is taking the first turn moves their units first."
Squad 1 triggers and move the rhino. Squad 2 triggers and move the same rhino. It is a premissive rule sett and the quated rule above permits it. No other rule prevents it. Seems quite clear RAW to me.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/03/09 05:31:48
Subject: Re:Two units of witchseekrs in a rhino
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
BossSkuzzbag wrote:I agree 100% that this only allows for a single move because you can only select a unit to move once during the movement phase.
Can it then move normally during the actual movement phase?
You can only select it once to move in the movement phase, but there is no rule prohibiting to move twice in the movement phase. Seeker cadre is a special rule overriding general rules. As both rules are happening at the same time you would use sequencing.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/03/09 14:58:04
Subject: Two units of witchseekrs in a rhino
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
By moving it 6" you satisfy both instances if the rules.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/03/09 18:13:30
Subject: Re:Two units of witchseekrs in a rhino
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
No. Because of sequencing one unit moves first, then the other moves after that.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/03/09 20:08:15
Subject: Re:Two units of witchseekrs in a rhino
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
p5freak wrote:No. Because of sequencing one unit moves first, then the other moves after that.
Except there is only one unit moving...
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/03/09 20:49:55
Subject: Two units of witchseekrs in a rhino
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
Screw it. Crack on. Move twice. You’ll be exposed and chargeable/shootable with little support.
Not sure we need a rules resolution. Just kill the units that ended up stupidly close to you, or use them for free movement in your Charge Phase. Punish dogmatic pedantry with logical counterplay. Sorted.
|
Stormonu wrote:For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/03/10 06:26:12
Subject: Re:Two units of witchseekrs in a rhino
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
Yes, only the transport moves, but both seeker cadre rules must be resolved.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/03/10 06:28:49
Subject: Two units of witchseekrs in a rhino
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
By moving it 6" you satisfy both instances of both rules.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2023/03/10 06:29:00
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/03/10 06:33:30
Subject: Two units of witchseekrs in a rhino
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
No, because they must be resolved sequentially.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/03/10 09:32:48
Subject: Two units of witchseekrs in a rhino
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
False statement here.
Both rules say "or the ANATHEMA PSYKANA TRANSPORT it is embarked within, can make a Normal Move of up to 6" as if it were your Movement phase."
If the transport moved 6 inches, the ANATHEMA PSYKANA TRANSPORT has made a Normal Move of up to 6" as if it were your Movement phase.
So it satisfies both rules.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/03/10 10:03:48
Subject: Two units of witchseekrs in a rhino
|
 |
Liche Priest Hierophant
|
And then you trigger the rule again and you move again.
If you have a rule that says that you fight twice, or shoot twice you do not do it once and then say yes, that was twice.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/03/10 10:33:22
Subject: Two units of witchseekrs in a rhino
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Niiai wrote:And then you trigger the rule again and you move again.
No, as moving 6 inches satisfies both rules.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/03/10 10:38:10
Subject: Two units of witchseekrs in a rhino
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
Except you cannot resolve both rules at the same time. If two or more rules happen at the same time, sequencing comes into play and the player whose turn it is decides the order. If its neither players turn the players rolls off and the winner decides the order, which doesnt matter in this case.
SEQUENCING
While playing Warhammer 40,000, you’ll occasionally find that two or more rules are to be resolved at the same time – e.g. ‘at the start of the battle round’ or ‘at the end of the Fight phase’. When this happens during the battle, the player whose turn it is chooses the order. If these things occur before or after the battle, or at the start or end of a battle round, the players roll off and the winner decides in what order the rules are resolved.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2023/03/10 10:38:52
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/03/10 11:42:15
Subject: Two units of witchseekrs in a rhino
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
No one said to resolve both rules at the same time.
But the transport moving 6" satisfies both rules.
The rules say to "make a Normal Move of up to 6""
If you move more than 6 inches, you have violated this rule.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/03/10 12:57:41
Subject: Two units of witchseekrs in a rhino
|
 |
Hungry Ork Hunta Lying in Wait
|
DeathReaper wrote:No one said to resolve both rules at the same time.
But the transport moving 6" satisfies both rules.
The rules say to "make a Normal Move of up to 6""
If you move more than 6 inches, you have violated this rule.
I dont think that's quite right because its two separate triggers of up to 6" move, not a single 12" one.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/03/10 13:03:46
Subject: Two units of witchseekrs in a rhino
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
The rule itself says this. Both happen "At the start of the first battle round, before the first turn begins...". And because its not possible to do both rules at the same time sequencing comes into play.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2023/03/10 13:03:56
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/03/10 20:19:44
Subject: Re:Two units of witchseekrs in a rhino
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
Normal GW ruling is you can't invoke the same ability, by name, multiple times on a unit from different sources. Of course, they only bother to put this in the rules regarding Auras, so YMMV.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/03/10 21:02:33
Subject: Re:Two units of witchseekrs in a rhino
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
alextroy wrote:Normal GW ruling is you can't invoke the same ability, by name, multiple times on a unit from different sources. Of course, they only bother to put this in the rules regarding Auras, so YMMV.
Except that the rules usually say something like a unit can only be affected once per turn/battle round. I dont see anything like that in the seeker cadre rule.
Blessing of the Omnissiah: At the end of your Movement phase, this model can repair one friendly IRON HANDS VEHICLE model within 3" of it. That VEHICLE model regains up to D3 lost wounds. Each model can only be repaired once per turn.
Awaken the Machine Spirits: In your Command phase, this model can awaken one friendly IRON HANDS VEHICLE model within 3" of it. Until the start of your next Command phase, each time that Vehicle model makes a ranged attack, add 1 to that attack’s hit roll. Each model can only be awakened once per turn.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2023/03/10 21:03:02
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/03/11 09:19:22
Subject: Two units of witchseekrs in a rhino
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
Good grief barking the same thing back and forth isn’t a discussion.
Alextroy hits the nail on the head. They baked an FAQ into the rules for 9th but only made it apply to Auras and Strats but this is an Ability.
Do whatever you feel most fun. If someone insists on it let them, then obliterate the units who are now very far from any kind of support. It’s not the killer play folks think it is. Let them roll and let their player pick the models up again T1.
|
Stormonu wrote:For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules" |
|
 |
 |
|