Switch Theme:

Problems that need addressing  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Longtime Dakkanaut





My point previously is that the character keyword is noted as being impossible to target in an attached unit, so if a leader grants its keywords to the unit, then every model is a character within an attached unit, therefore no one can be targeted.

   
Made in gb
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch




dorset

 Hellebore wrote:
My point previously is that the character keyword is noted as being impossible to target in an attached unit, so if a leader grants its keywords to the unit, then every model is a character within an attached unit, therefore no one can be targeted.


well, no, becuase only the leader has the [character] keyword. so you could still allocate wounds to other members of the unit....and the whole unit would be more vulnerable to [anti-character] weapons, because reasons.

the models dont share keywords, just "the unit", as an entity separate form his consentient models.

look, i aggree its cray-cray, but that seems to be the plan.

To be a man in such times is to be one amongst untold billions. It is to live in the cruelest and most bloody regime imaginable. These are the tales of those times. Forget the power of technology and science, for so much has been forgotten, never to be relearned. Forget the promise of progress and understanding, for in the grim dark future there is only war. There is no peace amongst the stars, only an eternity of carnage and slaughter, and the laughter of thirsting gods.

Coven of XVth 2000pts
The Blades of Ruin 2,000pts Watch Company Rho 1650pts
 
   
Made in au
Longtime Dakkanaut





I haven't actually seen any rules that say a leader combines their keywords with their unit though.

This is the argument being made, but there's no evidence that it's true.

   
Made in gb
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch




dorset

 Hellebore wrote:
I haven't actually seen any rules that say a leader combines their keywords with their unit though.

This is the argument being made, but there's no evidence that it's true.


nor have i, but some sources, like goonhammer, seem to have seen something that supports it. my guess is its covered in the hardcopy of the 40k rulebook form the leviathan box, and they can't talk about that until GW releases them form thier NDA on that specific part, most likely when pre-order ends and people start receiving their copies.

certainly, they seem very sure of this, when they are openly vague on other parts, so i assume they have good reason to take this stance

To be a man in such times is to be one amongst untold billions. It is to live in the cruelest and most bloody regime imaginable. These are the tales of those times. Forget the power of technology and science, for so much has been forgotten, never to be relearned. Forget the promise of progress and understanding, for in the grim dark future there is only war. There is no peace amongst the stars, only an eternity of carnage and slaughter, and the laughter of thirsting gods.

Coven of XVth 2000pts
The Blades of Ruin 2,000pts Watch Company Rho 1650pts
 
   
Made in at
Not as Good as a Minion





Austria

always keep in mind that GW has written the rules to be used on a model by model basis

so you always check keywords on a model by model bases unless the rulebook say otherwise

if a step mentions that it checks against that unit, it is during that step only and for that the keywords are combined
if the next step lets you check against a single model, only the keywords on that models count

Harry, bring this ring to Narnia or the Sith will take the Enterprise 
   
Made in gb
Gore-Drenched Khorne Chaos Lord




 kodos wrote:
always keep in mind that GW has written the rules to be used on a model by model basis

so you always check keywords on a model by model bases unless the rulebook say otherwise

if a step mentions that it checks against that unit, it is during that step only and for that the keywords are combined
if the next step lets you check against a single model, only the keywords on that models count


Add these two together:

This means it only applies to units that have the Infantry keyword on their datasheet.
- Keywords section

While a Bodyguard unit contains a Leader, it is known as an Attached unit and, with the exception of rules that are triggered when units are destroyed (pg 12), it is treated as a single unit for all rules purposes
- Leaders USR

As they are treated as 1 singular unit for ALL rules purposes, checking the individual model may not matter. The ability/USR/Keyword interactions are not clearly spelled out.
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Springfield, VA

So here is a good breakdown of the current discussion that is also relevant to my interests:

The Astra Militarum Stormlord says it can carry 40 Astra Militarum Infantry models.

Lord Solar Leonatus does not have the Infantry Keyword (instead having Mounted, but can attach to a 20-man Infantry Squad as a bodyguard.

1) can that 21-strong unit with the Infantry and Mounted keywords embark on the Stormlord conventionally in the movement phase?

2) Can the Stormlord's special rule, Mount up! be used to embark the unit? (Rule for context is below).

Stormlord Datasheet wrote:Mount Up!: At the end of your opponent’s Movement phase,
if there are no models currently embarked within this
Transport, you can select one friendly Astra Militarum
Infantry
unit (excluding Artillery units) that is wholly
within 6" of this Transport. Unless that unit is within
Engagement Range of one or more enemy units, it can embark
within this Transport.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut






Here's a problem that needs addressing: where's my Morkanaut's bloody KFF?
   
Made in us
Arch Magos w/ 4 Meg of RAM






 Unit1126PLL wrote:
So here is a good breakdown of the current discussion that is also relevant to my interests:

The Astra Militarum Stormlord says it can carry 40 Astra Militarum Infantry models.

Lord Solar Leonatus does not have the Infantry Keyword (instead having Mounted, but can attach to a 20-man Infantry Squad as a bodyguard.

1) can that 21-strong unit with the Infantry and Mounted keywords embark on the Stormlord conventionally in the movement phase?

2) Can the Stormlord's special rule, Mount up! be used to embark the unit? (Rule for context is below).

Stormlord Datasheet wrote:Mount Up!: At the end of your opponent’s Movement phase,
if there are no models currently embarked within this
Transport, you can select one friendly Astra Militarum
Infantry
unit (excluding Artillery units) that is wholly
within 6" of this Transport. Unless that unit is within
Engagement Range of one or more enemy units, it can embark
within this Transport.


i'd say you can't embark because the unit doesnt all have the infantry keyword, pretty simple
   
Made in us
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps






 Unit1126PLL wrote:
So here is a good breakdown of the current discussion that is also relevant to my interests:

The Astra Militarum Stormlord says it can carry 40 Astra Militarum Infantry models.

Lord Solar Leonatus does not have the Infantry Keyword (instead having Mounted, but can attach to a 20-man Infantry Squad as a bodyguard.

1) can that 21-strong unit with the Infantry and Mounted keywords embark on the Stormlord conventionally in the movement phase?

2) Can the Stormlord's special rule, Mount up! be used to embark the unit? (Rule for context is below).

Stormlord Datasheet wrote:Mount Up!: At the end of your opponent’s Movement phase,
if there are no models currently embarked within this
Transport, you can select one friendly Astra Militarum
Infantry
unit (excluding Artillery units) that is wholly
within 6" of this Transport. Unless that unit is within
Engagement Range of one or more enemy units, it can embark
within this Transport.


No, because Leontus as a model does not have the Infantry keyword. Note that the Stormlord specifies Infantry Models rather than Infantry Units.

For the Mount up ability, I would say yes, but likely unintended.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2023/06/15 14:44:02


I'm on a podcast about (video) game design:
https://makethatgame.com

And I also make tabletop wargaming videos!
https://www.youtube.com/@tableitgaming 
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Springfield, VA

 VladimirHerzog wrote:
 Unit1126PLL wrote:
So here is a good breakdown of the current discussion that is also relevant to my interests:

The Astra Militarum Stormlord says it can carry 40 Astra Militarum Infantry models.

Lord Solar Leonatus does not have the Infantry Keyword (instead having Mounted, but can attach to a 20-man Infantry Squad as a bodyguard.

1) can that 21-strong unit with the Infantry and Mounted keywords embark on the Stormlord conventionally in the movement phase?

2) Can the Stormlord's special rule, Mount up! be used to embark the unit? (Rule for context is below).

Stormlord Datasheet wrote:Mount Up!: At the end of your opponent’s Movement phase,
if there are no models currently embarked within this
Transport, you can select one friendly Astra Militarum
Infantry
unit (excluding Artillery units) that is wholly
within 6" of this Transport. Unless that unit is within
Engagement Range of one or more enemy units, it can embark
within this Transport.


i'd say you can't embark because the unit doesnt all have the infantry keyword, pretty simple


How would you know this?

Unless you just assume attached units don't share keywords, which answers the question in the thread!


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 Rihgu wrote:
 Unit1126PLL wrote:
So here is a good breakdown of the current discussion that is also relevant to my interests:

The Astra Militarum Stormlord says it can carry 40 Astra Militarum Infantry models.

Lord Solar Leonatus does not have the Infantry Keyword (instead having Mounted, but can attach to a 20-man Infantry Squad as a bodyguard.

1) can that 21-strong unit with the Infantry and Mounted keywords embark on the Stormlord conventionally in the movement phase?

2) Can the Stormlord's special rule, Mount up! be used to embark the unit? (Rule for context is below).

Stormlord Datasheet wrote:Mount Up!: At the end of your opponent’s Movement phase,
if there are no models currently embarked within this
Transport, you can select one friendly Astra Militarum
Infantry
unit (excluding Artillery units) that is wholly
within 6" of this Transport. Unless that unit is within
Engagement Range of one or more enemy units, it can embark
within this Transport.


No, because Leontus as a model does not have the Infantry keyword. Note that the Stormlord specifies Infantry Models rather than Infantry Units.

For the Mount up ability, I would say yes, but likely unintended.


Okey dokey. Will use Mount Up! to embark Leonatus in the future.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2023/06/15 15:26:34


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K General Discussion
Go to: