Switch Theme:

Charging.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in je
Fresh-Faced New User



Jersey Channel islands

Ok so seems most people are saying (on internet) for a charge to succeed you need to roll high enough to get into base/base.

Within Engagement Range of every unit that you selected as a target of the charge.
■ Without moving within Engagement Range of any enemy units that were not a target of the charge.
■ In Unit Coherency.
If any of these conditions cannot be met, the charge fails and no models in the charging unit move this phase. Otherwise, the charge is successful and the models in the charging unit make
a Charge move – move each model a distance in inches up to the result of the Charge roll. When doing so, each model in the charging unit must end its Charge move closer to one of the units selected as a target of its charge. If you can also move a charging model so that it ends its Charge move in base-to-base contact with one or more enemy models while still enabling the charging unit to end its move satisfying all of the conditions above, you must do so.

That is the rules for charge to succeed and it says long as can get within engagement range, unit coherency and not within range of unit not charging.
IF can get base/base then must but long as within engagement range charge still succeeds.

Would like to know if missed something and peoples views.
Cheers.

(Bullet points in red in core rules say different to written rule but they are bullet points)
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

The rules say "If you can also move a charging model so that it ends its charge move in base-to-base contact with one or more enemy models while still enabling the charging unit to end its move satisfying all of the conditions above, you must do so."

So base contact is not needed for a successful charge, but if you can reach base to base you must do so.

P.S. I read and re-read the rules and the bullet points and they do seem to have the same rules. (What did you see that is different?)

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2023/06/24 16:41:24


 
   
Made in je
Fresh-Faced New User



Jersey Channel islands

To me to succeed just need to get into engagement range, that’s how I read it.

It was more lot of the battle reports seen and fair few videos going over rules have said needed base/base to make charge.

Yeah bullet points and written parts different.
   
Made in fr
Locked in the Tower of Amareo





Youtube's aren't infallible.

How different? Well bullet point seems to lack part about needing to get closer. Others?


2024 painted/bought: 109/109 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




Always go with the rules, not what people on Youtube, or at your local store, say. In this case you only need to get to Engagement Range. However, you also have to get into B2B if you can, which may be where some slight confusion has arisen.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




If you can, you must. It is not true that to succeed, you must.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





I agree that if you can you must, but it isn’t needed to be a successful charge.

That being said, I expect cases where you are able to get into engagement range but not b2b will be very rare. And gaming the system isn’t an option , if you can get b2b moving one particular model first but not if you begin with another model’s charge move in the same unit then you must execute the unit’s charge move in such a way that you get in b2b, because you “can”.
   
Made in fr
Locked in the Tower of Amareo





That last one is your own limit.

You can move in any order and if first move blocks later from b2b then no matter.

Otherwise there can be situation 2 models both can reach b2b but not after other move so regardless which model moves first charge fails according to you logic.

2024 painted/bought: 109/109 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





I disagree. If you can move to b2b you must, which means that deliberately moving to make b2b impossible when you otherwise can do so isn’t allowed.

In the same way that if you move a unit and on moving the final model find it can’t move into coherency, the whole move is illegal and needs to be aborted.
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins





Tacoma, WA, USA

I'm with Aash. The rule as written is very clear. It talks about the unit's charge move, not a particular models. You must move the unit in such a way that any models that can get into B2B do as long as the three conditions necessary to make a legal charge are met.
   
Made in fr
Locked in the Tower of Amareo





Aash wrote:
I disagree. If you can move to b2b you must, which means that deliberately moving to make b2b impossible when you otherwise can do so isn’t allowed.

In the same way that if you move a unit and on moving the final model find it can’t move into coherency, the whole move is illegal and needs to be aborted.


So you think it's okay to have illegal charge despite reaching the enemy?


Good thing rules disagree.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 alextroy wrote:
I'm with Aash. The rule as written is very clear. It talks about the unit's charge move, not a particular models. You must move the unit in such a way that any models that can get into B2B do as long as the three conditions necessary to make a legal charge are met.


You realize right this can results charges to say 5" away illegal despite rolling 7? Move model a, model b now cant get to b2b. Move model b, model a can't reach.

Not to mention how much extra time it takes to ensure you are legal to charge because simply checkin distance isn't enough as you need to measure multiple different order and positions.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2023/06/23 15:48:08


2024 painted/bought: 109/109 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Spoiler:
tneva82 wrote:
Aash wrote:
I disagree. If you can move to b2b you must, which means that deliberately moving to make b2b impossible when you otherwise can do so isn’t allowed.

In the same way that if you move a unit and on moving the final model find it can’t move into coherency, the whole move is illegal and needs to be aborted.


So you think it's okay to have illegal charge despite reaching the enemy?


Good thing rules disagree.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 alextroy wrote:
I'm with Aash. The rule as written is very clear. It talks about the unit's charge move, not a particular models. You must move the unit in such a way that any models that can get into B2B do as long as the three conditions necessary to make a legal charge are met.


You realize right this can results charges to say 5" away illegal despite rolling 7? Move model a, model b now cant get to b2b. Move model b, model a can't reach.

Not to mention how much extra time it takes to ensure you are legal to charge because simply checkin distance isn't enough as you need to measure multiple different order and positions.


From the Core Rules, under “Core Concepts” (emphasis mine):

A unit that contains more than one model must be set up and end any kind of move as a single group


This section is dealing with unit coherency, but it is very clear that it applies to “any kind of move” and as such means that a unit charging must be treated as the unit moving not just the individual models in the unit.
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins





Tacoma, WA, USA

tneva82 wrote:
Aash wrote:
I disagree. If you can move to b2b you must, which means that deliberately moving to make b2b impossible when you otherwise can do so isn’t allowed.

In the same way that if you move a unit and on moving the final model find it can’t move into coherency, the whole move is illegal and needs to be aborted.


So you think it's okay to have illegal charge despite reaching the enemy?


Good thing rules disagree.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 alextroy wrote:
I'm with Aash. The rule as written is very clear. It talks about the unit's charge move, not a particular models. You must move the unit in such a way that any models that can get into B2B do as long as the three conditions necessary to make a legal charge are met.


You realize right this can results charges to say 5" away illegal despite rolling 7? Move model a, model b now cant get to b2b. Move model b, model a can't reach.

Not to mention how much extra time it takes to ensure you are legal to charge because simply checkin distance isn't enough as you need to measure multiple different order and positions.
You are overreading it. If you can X models into B2B (while following the three key rules of charging), then you are not allowed to make the charge move in a way that less than X models make it into B2B. That is it. If it is impossible to get a both models of a 2-model unit into B2B, then it is legal to get just 1 there.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: