Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/07/07 06:39:42
Subject: Attached characters and spillover damage.
|
 |
Fully-charged Electropriest
|
Had a situation in my game earlier and not sure what happens.
Had a unit with a character and two body guard models. Was attacked with three attacks, all hit, wounded and failed the save so the first attack killed the first model, the second killed the second destroying the bodyguard unit. My question is what happens to the third attack? Does it go through and wounds the character? is it lost? Do I make a new save on the character?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/07/07 07:08:38
Subject: Attached characters and spillover damage.
|
 |
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard
|
Page 39:
Each time an attack targets an Attached
unit, until the attacking unit has resolved all of its
attacks, you must use the Toughness characteristic of
the Bodyguard models in that unit, even if a Leader
in that unit has a different Toughness characteristic.
Each time an attack sucessfully wounds an Attached
unit, that attack cannot be allocated to a Character
model in that unit, even if that Character model
has lost one or more wounds or has already had
attacks allocated to it this phase. As soon as the last
Bodyguard model in an Attached unit has been
destroyed, any attacks made against that unit that
have yet to be allocated can then be allocated to
Character models in that unit.
3. ALLOCATE ATTACK
If an attack successfully wounds the target unit, the player
controlling the target unit allocates that attack to one model in
the target unit, as follows.
If a model in the target unit has already lost one or more
wounds, or has already had attacks allocated to it this phase,
that attack must be allocated to that model. Otherwise, that
attack can be allocated to any model in the target unit. Note
that it does not matter if that model is visible to or within
range/Engagement Range of the attacking model.
Technically it sounds like you're trying to Fast-Roll - which is no longer in the rules. You would allocate the first attack, resolve it, first model dies, allocate the second attack, resolve it, model dies, allocate the third attack to the character, resolve.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2023/07/07 07:12:03
My WHFB armies were Bretonians and Tomb Kings. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/07/07 07:57:39
Subject: Attached characters and spillover damage.
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
Fast Rolling is on Page 24 of the Core Rules. Look again, Breton.
|
Stormonu wrote:For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/07/07 08:49:10
Subject: Attached characters and spillover damage.
|
 |
Locked in the Tower of Amareo
|
Yea it's not gone anywhere. And funny enough he quoted rule that shows how it still works with fast rolling.
As is so far i haven't had to resort to slow rolling even vs character and bodyguard.
|
2024 painted/bought: 109/109 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/07/07 09:04:18
Subject: Attached characters and spillover damage.
|
 |
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard
|
So it is, CTRL+F failure on my part. Its Fast Dice Rolling, not Fast Rolling.
|
My WHFB armies were Bretonians and Tomb Kings. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/07/08 00:14:03
Subject: Attached characters and spillover damage.
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
KingGarland wrote:Had a situation in my game earlier and not sure what happens.
Had a unit with a character and two body guard models. Was attacked with three attacks, all hit, wounded and failed the save so the first attack killed the first model, the second killed the second destroying the bodyguard unit. My question is what happens to the third attack? Does it go through and wounds the character? is it lost? Do I make a new save on the character?
If the Leader models have a different save than the Bodyguard models, you cannot fast roll more Saves than the Bodyguard models can take if they fail every Save. So in this case, assuming the Character has a different Save, needed to roll 2 dice at a time while there was 2 Bodyguard models or 1 dice at a time while there was 1 Bodyguard model.
If the character has the same saves as the Bodyguard, fast roll all the saves. Once the Bodyguard is dead, apply Damage for the the remaining failed Saves to the Character.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2023/07/08 20:16:30
Subject: Attached characters and spillover damage.
|
 |
Fully-charged Electropriest
|
alextroy wrote:If the Leader models have a different save than the Bodyguard models, you cannot fast roll more Saves than the Bodyguard models can take if they fail every Save. So in this case, assuming the Character has a different Save, needed to roll 2 dice at a time while there was 2 Bodyguard models or 1 dice at a time while there was 1 Bodyguard model.
If the character has the same saves as the Bodyguard, fast roll all the saves. Once the Bodyguard is dead, apply Damage for the the remaining failed Saves to the Character.
This was my mistake. That's how you learn.
|
|
 |
 |
|