Switch Theme:

Can splitting Adepta Sororitas units into different transports be done more than once?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Dakka Veteran





The immolator in the Adepta Sororitas index has the following rule:

At the start of the Declare Battle Formations step, you can select one Battle Sisters Squad, Dominion Squad or Sisters Novitiate Squad from your army. If you do, that unit is split into two units, each containing as equal a number of models as possible (when splitting a unit in this way, make
a note of which models form each of the two new units). One of these units must start the battle embarked within this Transport; the other can start the battle embarked within another Transport, or it can be deployed as a separate unit.

If I have two Battle Sisters squads, can I split both of them across four immolators (or two halves in immolators and two halves on foot)? I am worried that someone will argue that the rule only gives me permission to select ONE squad to split from my whole army. However, it could also be argued that each immolator has this rule so I can do it one time for each.

Thoughts?

8930 points 6800 points 75 points 600 points
2810 points 5740 points 2650 points 3275 points
55 points 640 points 1840 points 435 points
2990 points 700 points 2235 points 1935 points
3460 points 1595 points 2480 points 2895 points
 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

Looks like each tank gives you permission to do this once each.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in ro
Servoarm Flailing Magos




Germany

I'd say that the spirit of this rules is to split each squat at most once, but there's nothing explicitly preventing you from splitting a squad multiple times and it does not seem like doing so would give you any unintended, huge benefits, so i'd allow it and don't really see an issue with it.
   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran





I am not trying to split the same squad more than once, I just want to check that I am allowed to split more than one squad.

 JohnnyHell wrote:
Looks like each tank gives you permission to do this once each.

I think that is how it is supposed to work, but someone could argue that I am only allowed one split in total.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2023/07/09 11:31:07


8930 points 6800 points 75 points 600 points
2810 points 5740 points 2650 points 3275 points
55 points 640 points 1840 points 435 points
2990 points 700 points 2235 points 1935 points
3460 points 1595 points 2480 points 2895 points
 
   
Made in ro
Servoarm Flailing Magos




Germany

 Bilge Rat wrote:
I am not trying to split the same squad more than once, I just want to check that I am allowed to split more than one squad.

 JohnnyHell wrote:
Looks like each tank gives you permission to do this once each.

I think that is how it is supposed to work, but someone could argue that I am only allowed one split in total.


The wording for 'only one in total allowed' is different usually, some sort of variant of 'One vehicle with this ability may..'. So you can infer that you're allowed to use this once per vehicle with the ability.
   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran





OK, thanks.

Another thing I just noticed - the split squads become separate units. Is there anything preventing me from adding a leader to each half? For instance, could I take a battle sister squad, split them between two immolators and then add a different cannoness to each of them?

8930 points 6800 points 75 points 600 points
2810 points 5740 points 2650 points 3275 points
55 points 640 points 1840 points 435 points
2990 points 700 points 2235 points 1935 points
3460 points 1595 points 2480 points 2895 points
 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






London

 Bilge Rat wrote:
OK, thanks.

Another thing I just noticed - the split squads become separate units. Is there anything preventing me from adding a leader to each half? For instance, could I take a battle sister squad, split them between two immolators and then add a different cannoness to each of them?


I suppose it would depend on which comes first; attaching leaders to units, or splitting units.
   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran





Assigning a leader takes place as the first part of the 'Declare Battle Formations' step, but the immolator's special rule says that it takes place at the beginning of that step, so I think it's legit.

8930 points 6800 points 75 points 600 points
2810 points 5740 points 2650 points 3275 points
55 points 640 points 1840 points 435 points
2990 points 700 points 2235 points 1935 points
3460 points 1595 points 2480 points 2895 points
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: