Switch Theme:

10th - Abaddon and "Dark Destiny". Model vs. Model's Unit verbiage.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Sinister Chaos Marine



Spartanburg, South Carolina

Maybe this more cut and dry than I think it is but...

Dark Destiny: Each time this ***model*** makes a Dark Pact and does not fail the resulting Leadership test, roll on D6: on a 2+, you gain 1CP.

Awesome and fairly self explanatory right?

Except take a look at the Exalted Champion's ability "Aspire to Glory": Each time this ***model's unit**** makes a Dark Pact, until the end of the phase, add D3 to the Strength characteristics of weapons equipped by this model.

So GW is making clear distinctions between individual models and model's units with certain abilities and how they interact with Dark Pacts. With Abaddon (seemingly) handing out all 4 marks to his bodyguard, and giving rerolls of leadership & battleshock to a unit of terminators, and without look out sir and with him being much more susceptible to damage in 10th, running him solo is practically unthinkable (to me personally at least.)

Do you think it is GWs intention for Abby only to be able to regen CP if his operating by himself as a standalone model/unit, or do you think this an error...that he was intended to be able to regen CP even when he has a bodyguard / attached unit? Are there nuances here or is it RAW.

Thanks in advance for your thoughts.




   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran





A unit with one model is still a unit. If Abaddon is on his own then his unit is himself.

8930 points 6800 points 75 points 600 points
2810 points 5740 points 2650 points 3275 points
55 points 640 points 1840 points 435 points
2990 points 700 points 2235 points 1935 points
3460 points 1595 points 2480 points 2895 points
 
   
Made in us
Sinister Chaos Marine



Spartanburg, South Carolina

 Bilge Rat wrote:
A unit with one model is still a unit. If Abaddon is on his own then his unit is himself.


for sure! No disputing that.
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tzeentch's Fan Girl






Southern New Hampshire

If he's in a unit, and the unit makes a Dark Pact, he himself is still making a Dark Pact.

She/Her

"There are no problems that cannot be solved with cannons." - Chief Engineer Boris Krauss of Nuln

Kid_Kyoto wrote:"Don't be a dick" and "This is a family wargame" are good rules of thumb.


DR:80S++G++M--B+IPwhfb01#+D+++A+++/fWD258R++T(D)DM+++
 
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins





Tacoma, WA, USA

Models don't make Dark Pacts, units do. Even if a unit of one model makes a Dark Pact, it is still as a unit rather than a model.

I would therefore play it as "if Abaddon's unit makes a Dark Pact...". They will be using his superior Leadership afterall.
   
Made in us
Sinister Chaos Marine



Spartanburg, South Carolina

 alextroy wrote:
Models don't make Dark Pacts, units do. Even if a unit of one model makes a Dark Pact, it is still as a unit rather than a model.

I would therefore play it as "if Abaddon's unit makes a Dark Pact...". They will be using his superior Leadership afterall.


that ain’t a bad observation… but why wouldn't GW just write “when this unit makes a dark pact”

🤔

   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tzeentch's Fan Girl






Southern New Hampshire

Kangarupe wrote:
 alextroy wrote:
Models don't make Dark Pacts, units do. Even if a unit of one model makes a Dark Pact, it is still as a unit rather than a model.

I would therefore play it as "if Abaddon's unit makes a Dark Pact...". They will be using his superior Leadership afterall.


that ain’t a bad observation… but why wouldn't GW just write “when this unit makes a dark pact”

🤔



Or, "When this model's unit..."?

She/Her

"There are no problems that cannot be solved with cannons." - Chief Engineer Boris Krauss of Nuln

Kid_Kyoto wrote:"Don't be a dick" and "This is a family wargame" are good rules of thumb.


DR:80S++G++M--B+IPwhfb01#+D+++A+++/fWD258R++T(D)DM+++
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: