Switch Theme:

Embarked Units and Bonuses  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






London

Had a discussion over this in the pub last night:

Tau Codex, Cadre Fireblade wrote:While this model is leading a unit, add 1 to the Attacks characteristics of ranged weapons equipped by models in that unit.


Now the question is; if this unit and Fireblade are embarked on a Tidewall, would they get the bonus when shooting?

I argue no, the unit is, in essence, not on the table, the Tidewall is equipped with the unit's weapons and is the one doing the shooting, not the unit.

He argues yes, the Fireblade is still attached to the unit and so the bonuses would apply to the weapons.

Thoughts?
   
Made in us
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle





In My Lab

 Valkyrie wrote:
Had a discussion over this in the pub last night:

Tau Codex, Cadre Fireblade wrote:While this model is leading a unit, add 1 to the Attacks characteristics of ranged weapons equipped by models in that unit.


Now the question is; if this unit and Fireblade are embarked on a Tidewall, would they get the bonus when shooting?

I argue no, the unit is, in essence, not on the table, the Tidewall is equipped with the unit's weapons and is the one doing the shooting, not the unit.

He argues yes, the Fireblade is still attached to the unit and so the bonuses would apply to the weapons.

Thoughts?
You are correct. I think there was an FAQ about it, but your reasoning is how it works.

Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! 
   
Made in us
Pious Palatine





Tacoma, WA, USA

CORE RULES UPDATES VERSION 1.1 (WITH RULES COMMENTARY 1.3), Page 12 wrote:Q: When a Transport is equipped with additional ranged weapons due to the Firing Deck ability, do those weapons benefit from any extra abilities or rules that might be conferred on them by the embarked models?
A: Only if those embarked models’ rules explicitly state that they still apply while embarked within a Transport.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: