Switch Theme:

"Site of Power" secondary objective scoring in CSM Combat Patrol  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ie
Fresh-Faced New User




Hello,

I need help with settling a rules dispute in a 10th edition Combat Patrol game. My opponent is playing Chaos Space Marines and has selected the optional secondary objective "Sites of Power" from their index.

Sites of Powers states "From the second battle round onwards, at the end of your turn, you score 2VP if you control at least as many objective markers as your opponent does".

My question is: If neither of us control any objective markers, does my opponent score points?

My opponents arguement is that as we both control zero objective markers, 0 = 0, therefore my opponent would score 2 points as they control at least as many as I do.

My arguement is that since neither of us controls an objective marker therefore all markers would be classified as contested, no points should be scored.

Which interpretation is correct?

Thanks
   
Made in ca
Fully-charged Electropriest






You are.

If neither of you have any models on an objective neither of you "control" them so his secondary does not trigger, neither of you are even contesting they are irrelevant.

Your opponent is being that guy.
   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran





I think both interpretations are valid. There is no correct answer. Decide with a roll off.

8930 points 6800 points 75 points 600 points
2810 points 5740 points 2650 points 3275 points
55 points 640 points 1840 points 435 points
2990 points 700 points 2235 points 1935 points
3460 points 1595 points 2480 points 2895 points
 
   
Made in us
Morally-Flexible Malleus Hearing Whispers






Tapping the Glass at the Herpetarium

 KingGarland wrote:
You are.

If neither of you have any models on an objective neither of you "control" them so his secondary does not trigger, neither of you are even contesting they are irrelevant.

Your opponent is being that guy.


I agree.

 BorderCountess wrote:
Just because you're doing something right doesn't necessarily mean you know what you're doing...


"Vulkan: There will be no Rad or Phosphex in my legion. We shall fight wars humanely. Some things should be left in the dark age."
"Ferrus: Oh cool, when are you going to stop burning people to death?"
"Vulkan: I do not understand the question."

– A conversation between the X and XVIII Primarchs


 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




 KingGarland wrote:
You are.

If neither of you have any models on an objective neither of you "control" them so his secondary does not trigger, neither of you are even contesting they are irrelevant.

Your opponent is being that guy.

Not sure I agree here and I certainly think it's harsh to accuse the opponent of being TFG.

The argument essentially comes down to whether you interpret 0 as a number in this case. If both players do not control any objectives it is technically the case that both control the same number (0), which would fulfil the criteria for the CSM secondary. It seems ambiguous enough to require an FAQ, I think.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Southern New Hampshire

Slipspace wrote:
 KingGarland wrote:
You are.

If neither of you have any models on an objective neither of you "control" them so his secondary does not trigger, neither of you are even contesting they are irrelevant.

Your opponent is being that guy.

Not sure I agree here and I certainly think it's harsh to accuse the opponent of being TFG.

The argument essentially comes down to whether you interpret 0 as a number in this case. If both players do not control any objectives it is technically the case that both control the same number (0), which would fulfil the criteria for the CSM secondary. It seems ambiguous enough to require an FAQ, I think.


This is actually the side I'm inclined to take. If your opponent controls zero objectives, and you control at least zero, you control at least as many as your opponent and thus score the two points.

If I had written the rule, I would probably have added the clause, "If you control one or more objective markers and..." at the beginning of the rule.

She/Her

"There are no problems that cannot be solved with cannons." - Chief Engineer Boris Krauss of Nuln

LatheBiosas wrote:I have such a difficult time hitting my opponents... setting them on fire seems so much simpler.

Kid_Kyoto wrote:"Don't be a dick" and "This is a family wargame" are good rules of thumb.


DR:80S++G++M--B+IPwhfb01#+D+++A+++/fWD258R++T(D)DM+++
 
   
Made in us
Pious Palatine





Tacoma, WA, USA

Given the low possible VP for this Secondary Objective over the course of a 5 turn game (2 for 4 turns = 8 Maximum), I'm inclined to go with the more liberal interoperation that 0 >= 0 rather than 0 is a nullity in this case. It simply isn't power-gaming when other Secondaries can award 12 VP.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




0 is indeed a number. Controlling 0 is as many as your enemy controlling 0.
   
Made in us
Morally-Flexible Malleus Hearing Whispers






Tapping the Glass at the Herpetarium

I guess I could be wrong.

 BorderCountess wrote:
Just because you're doing something right doesn't necessarily mean you know what you're doing...


"Vulkan: There will be no Rad or Phosphex in my legion. We shall fight wars humanely. Some things should be left in the dark age."
"Ferrus: Oh cool, when are you going to stop burning people to death?"
"Vulkan: I do not understand the question."

– A conversation between the X and XVIII Primarchs


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: