Switch Theme:

[KT] some rules misunderstanding  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ru
Elite Tyranid Warrior






When we resolve fight action, there is said that attacker resolve first success. But that moment defender not yeat resolved his dice so have no to block. Or I understand it wrong?

My Plog feel free to post your criticism here 
   
Made in pl
Longtime Dakkanaut




Unlike with shooting, where the attacker first rolls and manipulates his dice, and only then the defender does so, in close combat both players roll simultaneously. So the attacker sees the defender's dice and can decide whether it is better to start combat with either Striking or Blocking.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2025/10/23 05:57:18


 
   
Made in ru
Elite Tyranid Warrior






Starting with the attacker, players alternate resolving their successful
unblocked attack dice (or all remaining if their opponent has none). To
resolve a dice, they must strike or block:
• Strike: Inflict damage on the enemy operative. A normal success inflicts
damage equal to the weapon's Normal Dmg stat (first value of Dmg
stat). A critical success inflicts damage equal to the weapon's Critical
Dmg stat (second value of Dmg stat).
• Block: Allocate this dice to block one of your opponent’s unresolved
successes. A normal success can block a normal success. A critical
success can block a normal or critical success.


We roll dices and have 2 success both. Starting alternate allocate this successes.
In which moment damage are done?
Sorry but could you give example how it's work properly?


My Plog feel free to post your criticism here 
   
Made in pl
Longtime Dakkanaut




You do exactly that. The atracker (model performing the Fight action) resolves a die first and decides whether to immediately inflict that die's worth of damage or immediately discard one of the opponent's dice. Both players alternate doing that until one operative dies or there are no more dice to resolve.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2025/10/23 09:40:07


 
   
Made in ru
Elite Tyranid Warrior






so attacker can inflict unblocked damage since he first who allocate success? so we can block only unresolved success(one which not use yeat)?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2025/10/23 09:00:09


My Plog feel free to post your criticism here 
   
Made in pl
Longtime Dakkanaut




Yes, exactly, once a die is discarded it is discarded. Initiating a Fight is very advantageous because you are first to resolve your dice and your opponent can't stop it (unless special rules ofc). Sometimes it means killing the opposing model on your first hit, regardless of what they have rolled, because by the time it's their turn to resolve a die, they are already dead.
   
Made in ru
Elite Tyranid Warrior






Thanks you! No it's clear.

Another stupido's question. Operative can retaliate every fight? I mean if 2 operatives attacks him or it's Ravener who can fight twice a turning point?

My Plog feel free to post your criticism here 
   
Made in pl
Longtime Dakkanaut




Yes, retaliating happens automatically whenever an opposing model initiates a Fight action.
   
Made in fi
Posts with Authority






You will generally find it easiest to kill an operative by first wounding them, and then charging and fighting them. CC in Kill Team is brutal, and the safest way for you to do it is by going after models which are likely to get incapacitated by the first strike. Doing it the hard way usually ends up with the better melee operative incapacitating the other, but not before the attacker has also taken damage..

KT24 also introduced a sort of "gotcha" to CC, which is YOU CAN ALWAYS BLOCK WITH ALL YOUR DICE. This means you can "tie up" a 1 wound operative in melee just by blocking all its dice and using your remaining dice to block as well, even when there are no dice left to discard. While considered a bit beardy, doing so at the right moment might save your operative from getting shot off the board in the enemy's next activation (since you cannot shoot into CC, just like in 40K)

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2025/10/23 11:14:39


"The larger point though, is that as players, we have more control over what the game looks and feels like than most of us are willing to use in order to solve our own problems" 
   
Made in pl
Longtime Dakkanaut




This solution was also present in the previous edtion and confirmed in a FAQ then - there's nothing "beardy" about it, it's a natural consequence of how the rules are written. Especially as you also have the option not to Fight after a charge, just stay Engaged and safe from shooting.
   
Made in ru
Elite Tyranid Warrior






But what stop your opponent kill you next activation with fight?

Thanks guys. feels like now i need to complete teams and start playing.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2025/10/23 11:43:28


My Plog feel free to post your criticism here 
   
Made in pl
Longtime Dakkanaut




 kabaakaba wrote:
But what stop your opponent kill you next activation with fight?


They might have already activated, or they might just be a crappy fighter and prefer to Fall Back. You may plan to kill them on your Counteract later in the turn, once most enemy threats have already activated or parry them out again if they initiate a Fight.

Note that it is mostly for operatives that are good in combat charging weaker enemy operatives that are not a threat in a fight.

Most of the time it will be with enemies that have already activated. If they activate before you the next turn, it doesn't make sense for them to Fall Back because that will cost them that activation and it will be your go next. If you activate before them, you kill them and charge somebody else to make yet another activation problematic.
   
Made in ru
Elite Tyranid Warrior






Another question, core rules said we can take up to 4 equipment pieces.
But i don't understand is Team's equipment piece is bound to operative?

My Plog feel free to post your criticism here 
   
Made in pl
Longtime Dakkanaut




Most often not, just follow the rules of the equipment piece in question. If it says "an operative" it means "one of all operatives" so any of them.
   
Made in ru
Elite Tyranid Warrior






Thanks again, so just like rules above just literally follow wording.

My Plog feel free to post your criticism here 
   
Made in pl
Longtime Dakkanaut




 kabaakaba wrote:
Thanks again, so just like rules above just literally follow wording.


Yes, absolutely. Don't overcomplicate things, don't add things to rules that aren't there. If a rule says A=B don't wonder if it means C=D. For example if a rule says it affects Piercing1, don't muse about whether and how it affects Piercing2 - it doesn't. If it did, it would say it does.

It might seem obvious, but two months of checking KT Reddit really damaged my faith in how people use logic and reading comprehension for game rules, as vast majority of questions there were along the lines of " If a sign on this door says "you can use this door on Tuesdays", does it mean I can take a free Coke from the fridge on Sundays?".
   
Made in ru
Elite Tyranid Warrior






Could operative retain both obscured and cover?
Granted operative a shooting operative b through hole in the wall of heavy terrain C and operative B in cover behind terrain Z?

My Plog feel free to post your criticism here 
   
Made in pl
Longtime Dakkanaut




Yes, but not from the same terrain feature, as per one of the balance patches that changes it. If a terrain feature could give both, the player decides which one to benefit from.
   
Made in ru
Elite Tyranid Warrior






Thanks again

My Plog feel free to post your criticism here 
   
 
Forum Index » Other 40K/30K Universe Games
Go to: