Switch Theme:

Power of the machine Spirit  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Can a space marine vindicator move 6 inches, use its smoke launchers, then fire its cannon using Power of the Machine spirit? Someone tried it on me the other day, and we ended up d6ing it up.


Thanks in advance

There you go using your ?common sense? again.
-Mannahnin 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




the spire of angels

no it cannot.

look in the codex: space marine vehicle upgrades section. it pointedly tells you the vehicle, not the crew, not the machine spirit but the vehicle model itself cannot fire any weapons when it fires it's smoke launchers.


"victory needs no explanation, defeat allows none" 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Utah (Oh god)

No, unless you are playing the ork rules which allow for you to throw out the first 50 pages of the BGB. The vehicle is NOT allowed to fire anything, it doesn't really matter if its crew, MS, or some other divine force, quite simply it is impossible to fire a weapon after firing smoke. (As smoke can only been fired when NOT firing a weapon)

If your opponent wanted to do this I would tell your opponent that he then has not used his smoke launchers, then allow the attack to go through, then resolve hits as if they were normal and not as glancing which smoke would demand.

Lasguns the new Assault Cannon. 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA



You must always strive to break no rules whenever possible. The smoke launcher rule specifically states that the vehicle may not fire that turn.

Although the PotMS rules would seem to indicate that it may always be used to make the vehicle fire, if you were do so you'd be breaking the Smoke Launcher rule without clear permission to do so.


So I agree, a vehicle that uses smoke launchers cannot use PotMS to fire a weapon.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Rampaging Chaos Russ Driver




Logan, didnt you beat that guy anyway .

   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Posted By the_trooper on 10/20/2006 7:21 AM
Logan, didnt you beat that guy anyway .

Yeah, but that tactic struck me as so sneaky, I want to see if it's legal so I can do it too

There you go using your ?common sense? again.
-Mannahnin 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: